E90Post
 


 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > Audison Bit dmi



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      09-21-2020, 06:36 PM   #1
Christian_H
Private
2
Rep
61
Posts

Drives: E92 335 -07 E31 850 -91
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sweden

iTrader: (0)

Audison Bit dmi

Hi.

Im upgrading my soundsystem im my E92, im going to use a Audison bit dmi.
My question is, can i just take the MOST from my Logic7 amp and plugg it in the Bit dmi and it will work, or do i need to code it to the car ?

best regards
Christian
Appreciate 0
      09-21-2020, 10:31 PM   #2
ctuna
Lieutenant General
1228
Rep
10,763
Posts

Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

iTrader: (0)

apparently the audison bit dmi is some kind of most adapter to what is not
clear and the site uses flash and even though I have flash it want some other
kind of flash so norton labels the site as malicious.

https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=...TCCWv_sx0BEtAO

Most bus to toslink translator somewhat like the original mobridge.
Do your amps or DSP's have a toslink input.
Nobody here uses those much some use to use the mobridges but they
were and expensive way to make your car compatible with aftermarket
equipment. The mobridges were around 500 bucks this is even more expensive.
Really the audison stuff is all to expensive for what you get.

Last edited by ctuna; 09-21-2020 at 11:30 PM..
Appreciate 0
      09-22-2020, 02:24 AM   #3
Christian_H
Private
2
Rep
61
Posts

Drives: E92 335 -07 E31 850 -91
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sweden

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ctuna View Post
apparently the audison bit dmi is some kind of most adapter to what is not
clear and the site uses flash and even though I have flash it want some other
kind of flash so norton labels the site as malicious.

https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=...TCCWv_sx0BEtAO

Most bus to toslink translator somewhat like the original mobridge.
Do your amps or DSP's have a toslink input.
Nobody here uses those much some use to use the mobridges but they
were and expensive way to make your car compatible with aftermarket
equipment. The mobridges were around 500 bucks this is even more expensive.
Really the audison stuff is all to expensive for what you get.
Hi.
Yes my DSP have toslink in.
Iīve checked both Audison and morbridges sites, but to me itīs not clear if you need to code when you have logic7 or if thatīs only needed if you dont have the logic7
Appreciate 0
      09-22-2020, 02:41 AM   #4
ctuna
Lieutenant General
1228
Rep
10,763
Posts

Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

iTrader: (0)

The purpose of theses devices is to translate Most signals to toslink format..
There are also some device like the mobridge da -2 and 3 that give analog
RCA outputs.

The basic purpose of these devices is so you don't have to reprogram.
There is also some cheap units from Avin that go from Most to RCA.

More Cost effective to Program to Hi Fi then run RCA's from the Head Unit.
If you can.
Redoing a logic 7 system is not and easy task. You have to replace 9 channels
and the speakers they run to .
Appreciate 0
      09-22-2020, 03:34 AM   #5
Christian_H
Private
2
Rep
61
Posts

Drives: E92 335 -07 E31 850 -91
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sweden

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ctuna View Post
The purpose of theses devices is to translate Most signals to toslink format..
There are also some device like the mobridge da -2 and 3 that give analog
RCA outputs.

The basic purpose of these devices is so you don't have to reprogram.
There is also some cheap units from Avin that go from Most to RCA.

More Cost effective to Program to Hi Fi then run RCA's from the Head Unit.
If you can.
Redoing a logic 7 system is not and easy task. You have to replace 9 channels
and the speakers they run to .
So the Bit dmi should be plug and play with logic7?
I figured that it would be plug and play, but on mobridges site it sad it needed to be coded, but i guess they ment that you needed to do that if you hade analog connections.

Regarding the cost itīs not that important, the simpleness is more important.

I alredy have a Audison Bit one DSP and 2 Audison AP4 D amplifiers.
im going to use the bit one and turn the system in to a 3 way front only system (maybe some rear speakers if needed).

Thank you for your inputs, itīs very much appreciated
Appreciate 0
      09-22-2020, 04:41 AM   #6
sfarisbradistan
Private First Class
United Kingdom
2
Rep
126
Posts

Drives: E90 Saloon 2011
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Nottingham, UK

iTrader: (0)

I'm glad I stumbled on this. I have the underseat APBMW woofers and the Audison APBMW front components. I've got the front components running passive. The difference is that I have a Pioneer 80prs instead of a DSP. I am contemplating getting the bit ten though. My question is, how are you taking measurements from the underseats to your head and do you have rough measurements for them? I have the measurements from the seating position to the front components. Which were taken when I did the auto alignment. For the underseats it always says that they are 0cm away, which they are not. Any advice?
Attached Images
   
Appreciate 0
      09-22-2020, 04:43 AM   #7
sfarisbradistan
Private First Class
United Kingdom
2
Rep
126
Posts

Drives: E90 Saloon 2011
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Nottingham, UK

iTrader: (0)

I'm in the UK so it's right hand drive.
Appreciate 0
      09-22-2020, 06:35 PM   #8
Christian_H
Private
2
Rep
61
Posts

Drives: E92 335 -07 E31 850 -91
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sweden

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by sfarisbradistan View Post
I'm glad I stumbled on this. I have the underseat APBMW woofers and the Audison APBMW front components. I've got the front components running passive. The difference is that I have a Pioneer 80prs instead of a DSP. I am contemplating getting the bit ten though. My question is, how are you taking measurements from the underseats to your head and do you have rough measurements for them? I have the measurements from the seating position to the front components. Which were taken when I did the auto alignment. For the underseats it always says that they are 0cm away, which they are not. Any advice?
Did you get the 400.00 cm from the auto aligment or did you manualy entert it ?
Appreciate 0
      09-22-2020, 07:03 PM   #9
starfox5194
New Member
0
Rep
15
Posts

Drives: 2007 E90 335i
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Connecticut

iTrader: (0)

Hold a phone folks! I have your solution!

I've been working with Julian from m0bridge on the diyma forums.

https://www.diymobileaudio.com/threa...mw-e90.430712/

"We do now have a complete DSP MOST25 1KW amplifier now available. It is a BMW version of our OEM manufactured unit developed for an OEM. It comes in an 8.1.1 (there's an extra preout for adding an additional sub amp) configuration. The unit comes with a 300W RMS sub channel, 2x120w RMS high powered channels and 6x75W RMS. We'll be listing the complete details on the amp in the coming days on our website."

They have about 100 of these things to get rid of. I am going to get one from him. To facilitate, mention my username and message m0bridge on diyma forums.

PM me if any questions. I think they are pricing these at 1k. Considering the cost of a DSP, dmi, and 1kw amp, that is a killer price!
Appreciate 0
      09-22-2020, 07:14 PM   #10
ctuna
Lieutenant General
1228
Rep
10,763
Posts

Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

iTrader: (0)

Plug and Play L7 replacement would be a 1st

Very interesting if you can do a complete plug and play L7 replacement.
Looks like you would have to get some better speakers to support the power
though.

Is there going to be one with DSP and amp integrated.
Question for the last poster talking about a mobridge solution.

Last edited by ctuna; 09-22-2020 at 07:30 PM..
Appreciate 0
      09-22-2020, 07:20 PM   #11
Christian_H
Private
2
Rep
61
Posts

Drives: E92 335 -07 E31 850 -91
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sweden

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ctuna View Post
Very interesting if you can do a complete plug and play L7 replacement.
Looks like you would have to get some better speakers to support the power
though.
Ofcourse, for the door im using amega q-comp 50, and for under the seats im using Audioson APBMW S8-4
Appreciate 0
      09-23-2020, 01:17 AM   #12
sfarisbradistan
Private First Class
United Kingdom
2
Rep
126
Posts

Drives: E90 Saloon 2011
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Nottingham, UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Christian_H View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by sfarisbradistan View Post
I'm glad I stumbled on this. I have the underseat APBMW woofers and the Audison APBMW front components. I've got the front components running passive. The difference is that I have a Pioneer 80prs instead of a DSP. I am contemplating getting the bit ten though. My question is, how are you taking measurements from the underseats to your head and do you have rough measurements for them? I have the measurements from the seating position to the front components. Which were taken when I did the auto alignment. For the underseats it always says that they are 0cm away, which they are not. Any advice?
Did you get the 400.00 cm from the auto aligment or did you manualy entert it ?
The 400cm is from the auto alignment. It's the measurement from the alpine type R that is in the trunk/boot of the car. Auto tuning gives a measurement of 0cm for the underseats at all times. Not sure why it does that. The time alignment for the rest of the speakers seems correct. The only thing I can think of is that I'm using a DD1 to set the gains on the channel that those woofers are connected to and using a dd1 and a 1000 test tone to set them, when I should be using a tone that they will be playing. I'll be bandpassing them at 80-200hz.
Appreciate 0
      09-23-2020, 06:07 AM   #13
Christian_H
Private
2
Rep
61
Posts

Drives: E92 335 -07 E31 850 -91
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sweden

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by sfarisbradistan View Post
The 400cm is from the auto alignment. It's the measurement from the alpine type R that is in the trunk/boot of the car. Auto tuning gives a measurement of 0cm for the underseats at all times. Not sure why it does that. The time alignment for the rest of the speakers seems correct. The only thing I can think of is that I'm using a DD1 to set the gains on the channel that those woofers are connected to and using a dd1 and a 1000 test tone to set them, when I should be using a tone that they will be playing. I'll be bandpassing them at 80-200hz.
Yeah that could be it, since the APBMWs response is up to 500hz
Appreciate 0
      09-23-2020, 06:52 AM   #14
sfarisbradistan
Private First Class
United Kingdom
2
Rep
126
Posts

Drives: E90 Saloon 2011
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Nottingham, UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Christian_H View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by sfarisbradistan View Post
The 400cm is from the auto alignment. It's the measurement from the alpine type R that is in the trunk/boot of the car. Auto tuning gives a measurement of 0cm for the underseats at all times. Not sure why it does that. The time alignment for the rest of the speakers seems correct. The only thing I can think of is that I'm using a DD1 to set the gains on the channel that those woofers are connected to and using a dd1 and a 1000 test tone to set them, when I should be using a tone that they will be playing. I'll be bandpassing them at 80-200hz.
Yeah that could be it, since the APBMWs response is up to 500hz
Ok, so what measurements do you have for the underseats to your listening position if you have them? Thanks.
Appreciate 0
      09-23-2020, 07:51 AM   #15
Christian_H
Private
2
Rep
61
Posts

Drives: E92 335 -07 E31 850 -91
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sweden

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by sfarisbradistan View Post
Ok, so what measurements do you have for the underseats to your listening position if you have them? Thanks.
Haven't begun to install it yet, waiting for parts
Appreciate 0
      09-23-2020, 09:55 AM   #16
sfarisbradistan
Private First Class
United Kingdom
2
Rep
126
Posts

Drives: E90 Saloon 2011
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Nottingham, UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Christian_H View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by sfarisbradistan View Post
Ok, so what measurements do you have for the underseats to your listening position if you have them? Thanks.
Haven't begun to install it yet, waiting for parts
I have taken manual measurements and it has moved the midbass up further up onto the dashboard in the centre. I'll get the measurements for you. The only thing I need to do is low pass them at the amp at 200hz. They are highpassed at the headunit 80hz.
Appreciate 0
      09-23-2020, 10:47 PM   #17
starfox5194
New Member
0
Rep
15
Posts

Drives: 2007 E90 335i
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Connecticut

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ctuna View Post
Very interesting if you can do a complete plug and play L7 replacement.
Looks like you would have to get some better speakers to support the power
though.

Is there going to be one with DSP and amp integrated.
Question for the last poster talking about a mobridge solution.
DSP and amp are integrated.
Appreciate 0
      09-24-2020, 03:14 PM   #18
Christian_H
Private
2
Rep
61
Posts

Drives: E92 335 -07 E31 850 -91
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sweden

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by sfarisbradistan View Post
I have taken manual measurements and it has moved the midbass up further up onto the dashboard in the centre. I'll get the measurements for you. The only thing I need to do is low pass them at the amp at 200hz. They are highpassed at the headunit 80hz.
Nice, will be posting pics of the install
Appreciate 0
      09-24-2020, 03:20 PM   #19
sfarisbradistan
Private First Class
United Kingdom
2
Rep
126
Posts

Drives: E90 Saloon 2011
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Nottingham, UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Christian_H View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by sfarisbradistan View Post
I have taken manual measurements and it has moved the midbass up further up onto the dashboard in the centre. I'll get the measurements for you. The only thing I need to do is low pass them at the amp at 200hz. They are highpassed at the headunit 80hz.
Nice, will be posting pics of the install
I'm thinking of getting a DSP myself. Debating between the Bit Nove or the Helix mini.
Appreciate 0
      09-28-2020, 08:58 AM   #20
maxs84
Registered
0
Rep
1
Posts

Drives: 120d E87
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: Italy

iTrader: (0)

187/5000
I have installed a bit dmi on my e87 with standard business navigator (mask) and it is self-coded.
Now on the audio settings of the car I see "logic7".
Works well.
Appreciate 0
      10-12-2020, 05:09 AM   #21
sfarisbradistan
Private First Class
United Kingdom
2
Rep
126
Posts

Drives: E90 Saloon 2011
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Nottingham, UK

iTrader: (0)

I ended up getting the TWK88. Have yet to fit it.
Appreciate 0
      10-12-2020, 04:41 PM   #22
E92x7z
Private
14
Rep
72
Posts

Drives: BMW e92 330
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Bulgaria

iTrader: (0)

HELIX >all in this time ...
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:03 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST