E90Post
 


Studio RSR
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > DIY: Setup BMW Standard Tools 2.12 on Windows XP > 10



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-10-2016, 12:12 PM   #67
Dann
Major
Dann's Avatar
128
Rep
1,391
Posts

Drives: E90 LCi 335i
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Portsmouth, United Kingdom

iTrader: (0)

I've just finished installing following the instructions in post 1.
Everything went smoothly and hopefully it will work. I know my cable is good already so fingers crossed.
__________________
Appreciate 1
      01-11-2016, 07:59 AM   #68
FCobra94
Guest
0
Rep
n/a
Posts

Drives:


You're the man OP! Thanks so much for putting this together

Removed the defunct version of the software that was previously on my machine before installing yours. I didn't even have to curse once during install and that says a lot Injector coding was completed shortly there after with no issues!
Appreciate 0
      01-11-2016, 02:49 PM   #69
dapz325
Roller coaster operator
dapz325's Avatar
21
Rep
126
Posts

Drives: 2008 335i
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Louisiana

iTrader: (0)

I didn't want to be the guy who cant set up the easiest version but I've run into a snag. On step 17 button 4 , I send it to the file just labeled EC-APP copied in step 15 to my C Drive but receive a message saying

C\EC-APP is not a valid EC-APP\NFS folder

Not sure if i just have to rename with \NFS or something went wrong? Can anyone help me out?
__________________
08 arctic metallic : Jb4, mhd backend, FBO plus inlets and meth
Appreciate 0
      01-11-2016, 03:12 PM   #70
wildcatcrazy
Banned
wildcatcrazy's Avatar
United_States
493
Rep
1,529
Posts

Drives: E90 335i
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: USA

iTrader: (12)

Garage List
2009 335i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by dapz325 View Post
I didn't want to be the guy who cant set up the easiest version but I've run into a snag. On step 17 button 4 , I send it to the file just labeled EC-APP copied in step 15 to my C Drive but receive a message saying

C\EC-APP is not a valid EC-APP\NFS folder

Not sure if i just have to rename with \NFS or something went wrong? Can anyone help me out?
Make sure you have all the folders listed, comparing what was originally installed v/s what you downloaded from Mega.
Appreciate 0
      01-11-2016, 03:45 PM   #71
dapz325
Roller coaster operator
dapz325's Avatar
21
Rep
126
Posts

Drives: 2008 335i
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Louisiana

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by wildcatcrazy View Post
Make sure you have all the folders listed, comparing what was originally installed v/s what you downloaded from Mega.
Are you saying what was originally installed with bmw standard tools? Everything seems to be copied right. Maybe i should just delete everything and try again.
__________________
08 arctic metallic : Jb4, mhd backend, FBO plus inlets and meth
Appreciate 0
      01-11-2016, 04:16 PM   #72
wildcatcrazy
Banned
wildcatcrazy's Avatar
United_States
493
Rep
1,529
Posts

Drives: E90 335i
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: USA

iTrader: (12)

Garage List
2009 335i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by dapz325 View Post
Are you saying what was originally installed with bmw standard tools? Everything seems to be copied right. Maybe i should just delete everything and try again.
The original set of files/folders I posted contained empty folders, therefore, Mega didn't download them. I have since then corrected that problem, and all folders should have downloaded. BMW Coding Tool is looking for specific file structure, and C:\EC-APPS\NFS should contain the following folders:

BATCH
BIN
CFGDAT
DATA
DOKU
FORMAT
KMMDAT
SGDAT
TRACE
WORK

If any of the folders above are missing, just create an empty folder with that name and it should work from that point on.
Appreciate 1
      01-11-2016, 04:35 PM   #73
dapz325
Roller coaster operator
dapz325's Avatar
21
Rep
126
Posts

Drives: 2008 335i
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Louisiana

iTrader: (0)

ALL good thanks OP this has been a huge help, you da man
__________________
08 arctic metallic : Jb4, mhd backend, FBO plus inlets and meth
Appreciate 0
      01-12-2016, 01:38 PM   #74
Autobarn234
Private
21
Rep
75
Posts

Drives: 2006 BMW 330i
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Nigeria

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dapz325
I didn't want to be the guy who cant set up the easiest version but I've run into a snag. On step 17 button 4 , I send it to the file just labeled EC-APP copied in step 15 to my C Drive but receive a message saying

C\EC-APP is not a valid EC-APP\NFS folder

Not sure if i just have to rename with \NFS or something went wrong? Can anyone help me out?
I think you need to go in the EC Apss folder and select the NFS
Appreciate 0
      01-12-2016, 03:42 PM   #75
thestimp
Major
United_States
445
Rep
1,136
Posts

Drives: 22 X3MC MBB
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2016 BMW M3  [0.00]
If this ever finishes downloading, I'm going to make it a torrent. 15k/sec is crazy talk.
Appreciate 1
      01-13-2016, 02:39 AM   #76
evo97
Private First Class
evo97's Avatar
5
Rep
138
Posts

Drives: 335d
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Bucks

iTrader: (2)

Is there a way of reading error codes in English in Inpa.
Also I wanted to code a module with Tool32 but after pressing F3 and choose ecu the program just froze? Used WinKfp in the end which worked perfectly thanks again
Appreciate 1
      01-13-2016, 02:17 PM   #77
intel1
New Member
6
Rep
27
Posts

Drives: 330xi
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: illinois

iTrader: (0)

Wildcatcrazy
you are a great help for all of us, Thank you for your help and hard work.
Appreciate 0
      01-15-2016, 02:45 AM   #78
Dann
Major
Dann's Avatar
128
Rep
1,391
Posts

Drives: E90 LCi 335i
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Portsmouth, United Kingdom

iTrader: (0)

So I plugged mine in today.

INPA works perfectly but NCS doesn't. I get chassis is faulty constantly.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      01-15-2016, 03:27 AM   #79
wildcatcrazy
Banned
wildcatcrazy's Avatar
United_States
493
Rep
1,529
Posts

Drives: E90 335i
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: USA

iTrader: (12)

Garage List
2009 335i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dann
So I plugged mine in today.

INPA works perfectly but NCS doesn't. I get chassis is faulty constantly.
1. Make sure latency is set to 1.
2. Make sure your NCS\DATEN folder has the proper chassis folder (E89).
3. If you have a JB4, put it in map 0.
4. Try selecting all 3 options (CAS, FRM or NFRM) when attempting to connect.
Appreciate 0
      01-15-2016, 05:13 AM   #80
Dann
Major
Dann's Avatar
128
Rep
1,391
Posts

Drives: E90 LCi 335i
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Portsmouth, United Kingdom

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by wildcatcrazy View Post
1. Make sure latency is set to 1.
2. Make sure your NCS\DATEN folder has the proper chassis folder (E89).
3. If you have a JB4, put it in map 0.
4. Try selecting all 3 options (CAS, FRM or NFRM) when attempting to connect.
Latency is 1
I will double check the folder
Don't have JB4
I'll give it a go and report back.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      01-15-2016, 05:40 AM   #81
Esixty1
Enlisted Member
New Zealand
22
Rep
47
Posts

Drives: 2008 E91 335i M-Sport
Join Date: May 2014
Location: New Zealand

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by wildcatcrazy View Post
It will download 100% on the browser, then it will start the final download to your Downloads folder.
What caught me out was I had changed my downloads folder in Chrome to something other than the default, which I don't think it liked as my (long winded) downloads disappeared. Changed back to default and it downloaded from mega just fine.
Appreciate 0
      01-15-2016, 05:51 AM   #82
Esixty1
Enlisted Member
New Zealand
22
Rep
47
Posts

Drives: 2008 E91 335i M-Sport
Join Date: May 2014
Location: New Zealand

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Banana Clipper View Post
Just wanted to come back and thank everyone for their help and input; mostly and especially wildcatcrazy for putting together a COMPLETE software pack. I've been trying this shit for over a week now and wildcat's pack is the ONLY pack that worked and provided clear instructions.

I also want to re-confirm that the cable I bought from bimmer software . com was the ONLY one of 3 cables that worked and for $40 they provide priority shipping which got to me in 2 days.

Again, BIG props to wildcatcrazy for putting this all together and providing his/her input. REALLY do appreciate it because I was about to give up and just pay someone else to do it.
Did you manage get the Alpina TCU flash in there? Any tips? Just wondering how the old 53 Daten works with this 57 based setup...? Thanks.
Appreciate 0
      01-15-2016, 04:18 PM   #83
Banana Clipper
Jewel Runner
Banana Clipper's Avatar
United_States
316
Rep
938
Posts

Drives: G01 & G20
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Bay Area

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Esixty1 View Post
Did you manage get the Alpina TCU flash in there? Any tips? Just wondering how the old 53 Daten works with this 57 based setup...? Thanks.
Yes, I did get it setup and flashed the TCU 4 times now. I havent had to use the v53 since the provided TCU flashes in v57, using the links provided by wildcatcrazy, contains each version of the TCU flash I've been interested in

So far I've flashed:
7615835
7601494
7603537

My 4th flash being the 'paddle shifter fix' after flashing 7615835. All three TCU flashes have 'disabled' the paddle shifters on my car but I havent bothered 'fixing' them on 1494 or 3537. I will eventually but just doesnt bother me yet.

IMO, 7615835 was great except for D mode which literally put the car in granny mode. I LOVED 7601494 but apparently, and this was a comment made in another thread, 1494 is for the Z series cars and not the transmission found in my car so there 'could' be unknown side effects from what I was told. 7603537 has been a decent compromise but still feels 'granny-ish' in D.

Just my $0.02
Appreciate 0
      01-15-2016, 04:20 PM   #84
Banana Clipper
Jewel Runner
Banana Clipper's Avatar
United_States
316
Rep
938
Posts

Drives: G01 & G20
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Bay Area

iTrader: (2)

I know I'm new here, but, how is this not a sticky? This is the most comprehensive thread regarding the needed software set to code your car I've found to date
Appreciate 0
      01-15-2016, 06:26 PM   #85
wildcatcrazy
Banned
wildcatcrazy's Avatar
United_States
493
Rep
1,529
Posts

Drives: E90 335i
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: USA

iTrader: (12)

Garage List
2009 335i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Banana Clipper
I know I'm new here, but, how is this not a sticky? This is the most comprehensive thread regarding the needed software set to code your car I've found to date
There should be a link somewhere to recommend it being a sticky. I'm on the app, and I don't see it.
Appreciate 0
      01-15-2016, 06:29 PM   #86
wildcatcrazy
Banned
wildcatcrazy's Avatar
United_States
493
Rep
1,529
Posts

Drives: E90 335i
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: USA

iTrader: (12)

Garage List
2009 335i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Esixty1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Banana Clipper View Post
Just wanted to come back and thank everyone for their help and input; mostly and especially wildcatcrazy for putting together a COMPLETE software pack. I've been trying this shit for over a week now and wildcat's pack is the ONLY pack that worked and provided clear instructions.

I also want to re-confirm that the cable I bought from bimmer software . com was the ONLY one of 3 cables that worked and for $40 they provide priority shipping which got to me in 2 days.

Again, BIG props to wildcatcrazy for putting this all together and providing his/her input. REALLY do appreciate it because I was about to give up and just pay someone else to do it.
Did you manage get the Alpina TCU flash in there? Any tips? Just wondering how the old 53 Daten works with this 57 based setup...? Thanks.
This set up can use any version of DATENs as long as you have the complete version (i.e., not just the E89 folder under NCS). I just provide the most up to date in this package so no one ever has to worry about being outdated.
Appreciate 0
      01-17-2016, 06:38 AM   #87
GOWRIN
Lieutenant
GOWRIN's Avatar
United Kingdom
88
Rep
549
Posts

Drives: BMW F36 435D XD
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: London

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by wildcatcrazy View Post
Many have asked for the easy way to install BMW Std Tools, and I have developed a proven method that can be done in less than 15 min depending on the processing power of your machine.

The only requirement for this install is Windows XP through Windows 10, 32 or 64 bit version and a working KDCAN cable. Instead of writing a lengthy detail in this post, I generated the instructions that's included in the link below.

If this install has assisted you in achieving a working set up, please click the appreciate link, thanks!

https://mega.nz/#F!a5MyBRyY!QDG6zo1iXjV_mBZh6WtcRQ
Awesome tutorial mate, thank god I found this
Works perfectly, installed on windows 10.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      01-18-2016, 10:45 PM   #88
Banana Clipper
Jewel Runner
Banana Clipper's Avatar
United_States
316
Rep
938
Posts

Drives: G01 & G20
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Bay Area

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by wildcatcrazy View Post
There should be a link somewhere to recommend it being a sticky. I'm on the app, and I don't see it.
Maybe I havent been around long enough, I dont see it
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
coding, inpa, ncs, tool32, winkfp

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:53 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST