E90Post
 


Extreme Powerhouse
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > Please Help with CIC Retrofit Coding in 2020



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-12-2020, 10:23 AM   #1
HennessyLV
New Member
HennessyLV's Avatar
0
Rep
21
Posts

Drives: E92 320i
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Unhappy Please Help with CIC Retrofit Coding in 2020

Hi y'all, I'm having a nightmare with trying to code in the CIC i just retrofitted into my non-idrive e92.
Got a CIC unit from 2011 E91 which is installed and working.

I'm having real trouble with coding the damn thing-
I did exactly as described in numerous other threads by members on this forum.
So what I done is changed the build date from #0607 to #0909 and also added the option $6VA and then proceeded with FA write to both CAS and NFRM.
but even though the option list shows the changes there is no CIC ecu under the ecu list which means I can't code the cic itself.

P.S. I've used the Standard Tools with SP Daten v60: DO I need to get an older Daten file in order for CIC to show up under ECU List ?
I've coded number of other things including Logic 7 Retrofit.

Would be greatful for any help. Thanks!!
Appreciate 0
      07-12-2020, 11:24 AM   #2
ctuna
Lieutenant General
1300
Rep
11,054
Posts

Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

iTrader: (0)

They say with cars made after 3/07 you need and Icom cable to code
most Bus Modules.

If you are mixing new parts on an old car it's unclear what this effect is.

description of cables further down in the following link.
https://www.bimmerforums.com/forum/s...-P-actually-do
Appreciate 0
      07-12-2020, 03:30 PM   #3
HennessyLV
New Member
HennessyLV's Avatar
0
Rep
21
Posts

Drives: E92 320i
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ctuna View Post
They say with cars made after 3/07 you need and Icom cable to code
most Bus Modules.

If you are mixing new parts on an old car it's unclear what this effect is.

description of cables further down in the following link.
https://www.bimmerforums.com/forum/s...-P-actually-do
Thanks for that, had a look at it but can't get my head around the fact that in the past I was able to code the Pro Radio and logic 7 didn't give me any trouble.

But this time around it did the VO and FA Write just fine but cic just isn't listed under ECUs.
Haven't come across a guide that would specify Icom cable being used.

But regardless thanks for your input !

Hopefully someone can shed some light on this...
Appreciate 0
      07-12-2020, 03:33 PM   #4
HennessyLV
New Member
HennessyLV's Avatar
0
Rep
21
Posts

Drives: E92 320i
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

2rad/ pro radio option wouldn't make any difference would it ?
Appreciate 0
      07-12-2020, 07:17 PM   #5
ctuna
Lieutenant General
1300
Rep
11,054
Posts

Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

iTrader: (0)

2rad file is only for a pro radio.
Nothing to do with Nav.
Appreciate 0
      07-15-2020, 07:10 PM   #6
roadkillrob
Major General
United_States
755
Rep
5,398
Posts

Drives: 08 335i,19 X5 35i,14 C63 AMG
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston

iTrader: (15)

It sounds like you did everything right with changing the date you don't need ICOM in any way unless you need to flash the firmware on the CIC which is a whole other can of worms, but it will need to be on the C1A firmware to use any of the tools to load all the FSC codes with any of the patchers or run an emulator. v60 datens should be fine also.
But anyway back to your issue, try also adding $609 to your VO, I added both $609 and $6VA when I did mine and set the build data to #0909

S609A NAVIGATION SYSTEM, PROFESSIONAL
__________________
2019 X540i Phytonic Blue M-Sport
2008 E93 335i FBO
2014 Mercedes C63 507 Edition
Appreciate 0
      07-16-2020, 03:15 AM   #7
ccfj1
Tinkerer
ccfj1's Avatar
United Kingdom
55
Rep
414
Posts

Drives: e92 335i M-Sport
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Brighton

iTrader: (0)

Like above, you need to add the nav pro option to so that car knows to look for it.

Once thats done yo should be able to "see" it with ncsexpert
__________________
2010 e92 335i M-Sport: Retrofits, OEM Dab, OEM TV, Split Armrest, Rear Blind, EPS Individual Audio, Heated M3 Interior, Brembo Performance calipers, illuminated M5 Gearknob.
Appreciate 0
      07-16-2020, 05:17 AM   #8
HennessyLV
New Member
HennessyLV's Avatar
0
Rep
21
Posts

Drives: E92 320i
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

It's all sorted now. That's exactly what I figured out and added $609 and the cic option came up.
Thank you both!
Now onto trying to get the nav to work with the scripts. The cic shows c16a firmware does that need to be updated or will I be able to leave it as it is ?
Appreciate 0
      07-16-2020, 05:27 AM   #9
ccfj1
Tinkerer
ccfj1's Avatar
United Kingdom
55
Rep
414
Posts

Drives: e92 335i M-Sport
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Brighton

iTrader: (0)

Cool, c16 is the one from last, c1a is that latest.

Personally i'd not recommend the script option, while it works, updating the maps is a bit of a job.

I'd look at virgin the cic and loading your own fcs and then its like factory, and updates are no problem.
__________________
2010 e92 335i M-Sport: Retrofits, OEM Dab, OEM TV, Split Armrest, Rear Blind, EPS Individual Audio, Heated M3 Interior, Brembo Performance calipers, illuminated M5 Gearknob.
Appreciate 0
      07-16-2020, 05:54 AM   #10
HennessyLV
New Member
HennessyLV's Avatar
0
Rep
21
Posts

Drives: E92 320i
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ccfj1 View Post
Cool, c16 is the one from last, c1a is that latest.

Personally i'd not recommend the script option, while it works, updating the maps is a bit of a job.

I'd look at virgin the cic and loading your own fcs and then its like factory, and updates are no problem.
What would that require in terms of hardware and software?
I've read few guides on scripting and seems fairly straight forward plus I don't mind tinkering around to get stuff working
At the minute the Nav is greyed out... I assume that's because the VIN doesn't match am I correct ?
Also I need to source Glovebox usb somewhere as I can't find any locally
Appreciate 0
      07-16-2020, 06:38 AM   #11
roadkillrob
Major General
United_States
755
Rep
5,398
Posts

Drives: 08 335i,19 X5 35i,14 C63 AMG
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston

iTrader: (15)

Quote:
Originally Posted by HennessyLV View Post
What would that require in terms of hardware and software?
I've read few guides on scripting and seems fairly straight forward plus I don't mind tinkering around to get stuff working
At the minute the Nav is greyed out... I assume that's because the VIN doesn't match am I correct ?
Also I need to source Glovebox usb somewhere as I can't find any locally
I am not your best resource on this, I have seen it done but haven't done it myself. My first understanding is that all the script activations need the latest firmware which means you need it updated to C1A which is beyond my capabilities and will take some special hardware, like Icom. Once you are on C1A firmware it is relatively straight forward to run one of the patcher utilities to install all the FSC codes - there are a bunch of FSC's to activate everything, 5 or 6 of them and it isn't like just a map update FSC, more involved. Your other option is to get an emulator and plug it in to just spoof it and activate everything.

As for the glovebox USB, I have seen them with the cable on amazon and ebay, non OEM ones that apparently work fine.
__________________
2019 X540i Phytonic Blue M-Sport
2008 E93 335i FBO
2014 Mercedes C63 507 Edition
Appreciate 0
      07-16-2020, 07:02 AM   #12
HennessyLV
New Member
HennessyLV's Avatar
0
Rep
21
Posts

Drives: E92 320i
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by roadkillrob View Post
I am not your best resource on this, I have seen it done but haven't done it myself. My first understanding is that all the script activations need the latest firmware which means you need it updated to C1A which is beyond my capabilities and will take some special hardware, like Icom. Once you are on C1A firmware it is relatively straight forward to run one of the patcher utilities to install all the FSC codes - there are a bunch of FSC's to activate everything, 5 or 6 of them and it isn't like just a map update FSC, more involved. Your other option is to get an emulator and plug it in to just spoof it and activate everything.

As for the glovebox USB, I have seen them with the cable on amazon and ebay, non OEM ones that apparently work fine.
I'll give the script activation a shot and will report back the results for sure.
I'm pretty sure I read that c16a is the minimum requirement for scripting it but don't quote me on it.
Appreciate 0
      07-16-2020, 07:08 AM   #13
ccfj1
Tinkerer
ccfj1's Avatar
United Kingdom
55
Rep
414
Posts

Drives: e92 335i M-Sport
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Brighton

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by HennessyLV View Post
What would that require in terms of hardware and software?
Icom a and icom b and winkfp to do the flash update. (this will change the vin too)

To do the FSC coding FStool


Quote:
I've read few guides on scripting and seems fairly straight forward plus I don't mind tinkering around to get stuff working
Ok.

Quote:
At the minute the Nav is greyed out... I assume that's because the VIN doesn't match am I correct ?
Correct.

Quote:
Also I need to source Glovebox usb somewhere as I can't find any locally
https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/USB-Switc...oAAOSwHwldzp6w
__________________
2010 e92 335i M-Sport: Retrofits, OEM Dab, OEM TV, Split Armrest, Rear Blind, EPS Individual Audio, Heated M3 Interior, Brembo Performance calipers, illuminated M5 Gearknob.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
cic and idrive, cic retrofit, coding 3 series

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:36 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST