E90Post

Studio RSR

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > Can wire tap for electric seats

10-03-2021, 09:15 AM   #1
totalguy
Private
Rep
Drives: BMW E90

Can wire tap for electric seats

i put electric seats in my E90 2006 I need to wire up the can connections for the driver's seat to function with power.

so im trying to find the nearest location and colour of wires where I can tap into the canbus

im fine with the power side of things that is much easier to do.

I'm very new to BMW so dont know where things are and im absolutely shit at wiring diagrams. But given i only need to find 2 wires and their colours pretty sure I can do this. done wiring on loads of cars before but being new to BMW its a whole new process.

i have seen the DIY guides on here the only thing I found useful is the pinout of the connector at the seat. My plan is to take the pins out of the connector i chopped from the car the seats came from lengthen the wires with the correct gauge and just get it all working.

i managed to move the driver's seat to fit it but i need to be able to move it. i had to bypass the seat module just to move it back and forth just enough to get me home really the passenger side was easier i used the chopped off connector and put a 12v supply on the 2 thick wires but the drivers one wont move without the canbus so im told.
Appreciate 0
      10-03-2021, 12:42 PM   #2
ctuna
Lieutenant General
Rep
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT

There is a big thread on seat retrofits at the general forum.

https://www.e90post.com/forums/showt...highlight=seat

This subforum is for Entertainment system stuff.

Last edited by ctuna; 10-03-2021 at 12:56 PM..
Appreciate 0
      10-03-2021, 01:09 PM   #3
totalguy
Private
Rep

Quote:
Originally Posted by ctuna View Post
There is a big thread on seat retrofits at the general forum.

https://www.e90post.com/forums/showt...highlight=seat