E90Post

The Tire Rack

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > Tracking, Autocrossing, Dragstrip, Driving Techniques > How to start tracking.. Need Help :)

12-17-2015, 11:33 AM   #1
bmwmsport
Captain
United_States
Rep
Drives: E90 335i

How to start tracking.. Need Help :)

Hey guys!! Wanted to poke my head in this part of the forum since I'm looking at starting to race.

I'm a full-fledged beginner starting from level zero. I'm joining the SCCA next week.

-What steps do I need to take before I can obtain a license to do track days or can anyone do them? I see on SCCA's website you have to take a course at a racing school. Can you do it at BMW's Driving School or do you have to go elsewhere? If so, any recommendations?

-What gear do I need? Any good brands? Helment/Suit/Shoes etc.

-Right now, my E90 is bone stock. I'm unsure whether or not I want to track it. May do it a few times but I don't want to push my DD hard. I understand I'll have to address brake fluid, brakes, and suspension primarily and deal with power mods later.

I also understand that experience is key here. Being in Jackson, MS makes it hard to have easy access to any tracks. Nearest ones are Birmingham, NOLA, and Road Atlanta.

If anyone has any tips, I'm all ears.

Thank you.

-Lee
      12-17-2015, 01:09 PM   #2
warmmilk
Enlisted Member
Rep
Drives: 2007 BMW 328i

you need a license to actually race, to do track days all you need is a regular drivers license

as far as your car, get fresh DOT 4 brake fluid in there and make sure you have at least half of your brake pads and tire tread left. that'll be fine for your first day.

there's also a thread just below yours that covers a bit more once you've done more than a couple days.
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1205378

edit:
you'll need a helmet if your club doesn't rent them. SA2010 min, I'd recommend getting SA2015 since price difference isn't that much and it'll be good for 5 more years