E90Post
 


Coby Wheel
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > 335i Engine harness modification



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-17-2021, 02:47 AM   #1
z335g
New Member
0
Rep
9
Posts

Drives: 2007 335i Manual
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Oxford>>Gloucester

iTrader: (0)

Post 335i Engine harness modification

Hi, I have a 2006 engine and engine harness which I have fitted to a 2007 shell. Unfortunately the connectors in the ECU box do not match up. The 2006 has 2x 8pin connectors and the 2007 uses 1x 12 pin. I have connected up the ecu but there is no circuit within the harness to deliver power to the dme relay. If I supply the relay with power from the water pump fuse, I can get the dme to power on and connect via OBD.

I am struggling as using ISTA, the only diagrama I find are correspondinding to my engine loom and I cant find ANY of the pinouts found in the ECU box that connect to JBE etc.

Can anyone help me identify the wires which are not conected?

Thanks,
Zack
Appreciate 0
      08-17-2021, 10:38 AM   #2
ctuna
Lieutenant General
1921
Rep
13,129
Posts

Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

iTrader: (0)

The Engine is different from 06 to 07 .
The 06 was a N52 the 07 was a N52k
They use different DME's or at least DME programming.
Appreciate 0
      08-18-2021, 07:57 AM   #3
z335g
New Member
0
Rep
9
Posts

Drives: 2007 335i Manual
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Oxford>>Gloucester

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ctuna View Post
The Engine is different from 06 to 07 .
The 06 was a N52 the 07 was a N52k
They use different DME's or at least DME programming.

I sure hope my n54 hasn't turned into an n52k
Appreciate 0
      08-18-2021, 07:59 AM   #4
z335g
New Member
0
Rep
9
Posts

Drives: 2007 335i Manual
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Oxford>>Gloucester

iTrader: (0)

I have since connected terminal 30 to the dme relay and restored comminication now through obd>>dme. (the wire was temporary, have sinced fitted an appropriate fuse. I have noticed on ista, the red wire ive tapped would be fed from the main fuse board inside the car and exist as a thicker gauge red wire in the ecu box
Attached Images
 

Last edited by z335g; 08-18-2021 at 08:07 AM.. Reason: add picture
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
335i, engine swap, n54

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:48 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST