E90Post

Studio RSR

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N57 / M57 Turbo Diesel Discussions - 335d > Working through the CBU: thoughts and questions

02-21-2015, 09:18 PM   #1
command_liner
Private
Rep
Drives: 2009 335d

Garage List
Working through the CBU: thoughts and questions

Our 2009 335D is dead, parked because of CBU. The dealer wanted $3100 to do the CBU cleanout before he would see if there were other problems. So I am working on it myself. Although I am not a novice mechanic -- we have lots of other cars, trucks, and power equipment -- I do not do this work everyday.

I a somewhat disillusioned with BMW USA. Our car has 63,000 miles and is dead until expensive fixes are applied. The dealer wants almost nothing to do with any of this, certainly did not discuss the problems during the warranty period, and is not all that helpful.

You can see the mess and progress at
https://www.flickr.com/photos/comman...7648552502623/

I have a few novel insights.
1) A standard clay carving tool is very useful when cleaning the low-speed ports. Check the photos.
2) A standard 12-point socket will fit over the 4 torx bolts on the crank.
3) The stepped shop vac adapter from HomeDepot can be used to fit either intake port.
4) The Ryobi endoscope/borescope from HomeDepot works pretty well in this application.
5) Absolutely clean and re-seal the red boost hose while you are in there.

Now for the questions.
1) Which way does the crank turn? The instructions all say to not turn it the wrong way but never mention which way is the right way. Clockwise or counterclockwise when viewed from the front?

2) Has anybody bothered to gasket match the head when the intake is off? I am in there, and the die grinder is close by. Is there any reason NOT to gasket match the head? I assume the head is A356 and will be easy to cut.