E90Post
 


The Tire Rack
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > Ncs expert works with newer but not older



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-09-2019, 09:15 PM   #1
neilvan
Second Lieutenant
neilvan's Avatar
Canada
101
Rep
262
Posts

Drives: 09 E90 335i M-Sport 6MT RWD
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Ontario, Canada

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Ncs expert works with newer but not older

I just finished coding my 2009 E90 335 with the downloaded software and bimmergeeks cable; Worked like a charm (f**k you e-diff)

But my fathers 2007 E90 335 (06/2007 build) just cannot connect. We get a ecu not connecting code: 'COAPI 2020'.

Any ideas? We have done some trouble shooting but no progress.
Appreciate 0
      08-09-2019, 09:25 PM   #2
ctuna
Major General
988
Rep
9,580
Posts

Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

iTrader: (0)

what's the build date of the car.
cars made before and until 3/07 used k can but
really a K plus D can cable should work on either car.
Also I though the Bimmergeeks cable has a switch
for something to do with the OBD type.

-Built in switch for double K-Line support (E46, E38, E39 etc)
the above from there site but I didn't think it effected the e90.
Might give it a try anyway.

I always try functional jobs with Inpa to make sure I have
a connection to do a sanity check on the connection.

Last edited by ctuna; 08-10-2019 at 02:30 AM..
Appreciate 0
      08-10-2019, 05:25 AM   #3
sdbmwcoding
Second Lieutenant
50
Rep
262
Posts

Drives: BMW M3
Join Date: May 2019
Location: San Diego

iTrader: (0)

Have you updated datens?
Appreciate 0
      08-10-2019, 11:25 AM   #4
neilvan
Second Lieutenant
neilvan's Avatar
Canada
101
Rep
262
Posts

Drives: 09 E90 335i M-Sport 6MT RWD
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Ontario, Canada

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Car is 6/07 build so its after that split. Also datens are the latest versions.

Confirmed inpa to have connection and ignition each time before opening up ncs expert.

We have the adapter from bimmer geeks but it made no difference either way
Appreciate 0
      08-10-2019, 03:41 PM   #5
sdbmwcoding
Second Lieutenant
50
Rep
262
Posts

Drives: BMW M3
Join Date: May 2019
Location: San Diego

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by neilvan View Post
Car is 6/07 build so its after that split. Also datens are the latest versions.

Confirmed inpa to have connection and ignition each time before opening up ncs expert.

We have the adapter from bimmer geeks but it made no difference either way
It will work as long as the switch is all the way to the right on the cable. Make sure com port is set to 1 and latency 1 ms. Which modules are you getting that error on?
Appreciate 0
      08-10-2019, 04:54 PM   #6
Red_Bean_Bun
Captain
United_States
53
Rep
950
Posts

Drives: E92
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Wilmington

iTrader: (4)

JB4 on that ride ?
Appreciate 0
      08-11-2019, 05:30 PM   #7
neilvan
Second Lieutenant
neilvan's Avatar
Canada
101
Rep
262
Posts

Drives: 09 E90 335i M-Sport 6MT RWD
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Ontario, Canada

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Com port is 1 and we have no switch on the cable. Ill check the latency but it did work on the 09.

Im getting an ecu not connecting error(even though INPA shows connected and ignition).

Jb4 is always turned off before trying
Appreciate 0
      08-12-2019, 03:27 PM   #8
gabylonfive
First Lieutenant
gabylonfive's Avatar
United_States
43
Rep
326
Posts

Drives: 03 M3 / 08 335i / 14 i3
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Bay Area, CA

iTrader: (3)

if there isn't a switch on the cable you can accomplish the same result by bridging pins 7&8 on the pcb inside the adapter.
Appreciate 0
      08-12-2019, 03:42 PM   #9
neilvan
Second Lieutenant
neilvan's Avatar
Canada
101
Rep
262
Posts

Drives: 09 E90 335i M-Sport 6MT RWD
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Ontario, Canada

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Another look back and we ended up getting the "one stop electronics" cable that has been recommended a bunch of times. It has an adapter for K can to D can instead of the switch.

That being said with it being an 06/2007 build car (after the 03/2007 split) it should be D-can which works on my 2009.
Appreciate 0
      08-12-2019, 06:08 PM   #10
ctuna
Major General
988
Rep
9,580
Posts

Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

iTrader: (0)

Your logic is defective.
k can up to 3/07 06/07 is and earlier date than 3/07
therefore its kcan. I thought the switch on the bimmergeeks cable
allowed it to work either way.
Appreciate 0
      08-12-2019, 08:30 PM   #11
sdbmwcoding
Second Lieutenant
50
Rep
262
Posts

Drives: BMW M3
Join Date: May 2019
Location: San Diego

iTrader: (0)

I agree, it's not your cable. The bimmergeeks cable will work fine with both e90's. If the car has jb4 I guarantee that's the issue. Load up inpa, functional jobs and error memory. Post up picture of all modules responding.
Appreciate 0
      08-13-2019, 08:09 AM   #12
neilvan
Second Lieutenant
neilvan's Avatar
Canada
101
Rep
262
Posts

Drives: 09 E90 335i M-Sport 6MT RWD
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Ontario, Canada

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by ctuna View Post
Your logic is defective.
k can up to 3/07 06/07 is and earlier date than 3/07
therefore its kcan. I thought the switch on the bimmergeeks cable
allowed it to work either way.
Sorry for the confusion; I'm doing months/year. 3/07 would be March 2007 correct? This car is June 2007 so 6/2007 or 06/2007 I'm using interchangeably
Appreciate 0
      08-13-2019, 12:10 PM   #13
neilvan
Second Lieutenant
neilvan's Avatar
Canada
101
Rep
262
Posts

Drives: 09 E90 335i M-Sport 6MT RWD
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Ontario, Canada

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by socalcoding View Post
Load up inpa, functional jobs and error memory. Post up picture of all modules responding.
Assuming this is what you mean?

image1 (2)

image2 (1)

image3 (1)


Funny we just tried it on our 04 E83 X3 (with the adapter of course) and got the same error.
Appreciate 0
      08-13-2019, 12:38 PM   #14
sdbmwcoding
Second Lieutenant
50
Rep
262
Posts

Drives: BMW M3
Join Date: May 2019
Location: San Diego

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by neilvan View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by socalcoding View Post
Load up inpa, functional jobs and error memory. Post up picture of all modules responding.
Assuming this is what you mean?

[img]https://live.staticflickr.com/65535/...c6ba5c2b_h.jpg[/img]image1 (2)

[img]https://live.staticflickr.com/65535/...c7e58346_h.jpg[/img]image2 (1)

[img]https://live.staticflickr.com/65535/...eff4d650_h.jpg[/img]image3 (1)


Funny we just tried it on our 04 E83 X3 (with the adapter of course) and got the same error.
What adapter? The bimmergeeks cable has a switch on it to re-pin it for certain models. For the e90 put it to the right, for the e83 put it to the left. No adapter needed unless it's a very early model that requires a 20 pin connection under the hood
Appreciate 0
      08-13-2019, 12:41 PM   #15
neilvan
Second Lieutenant
neilvan's Avatar
Canada
101
Rep
262
Posts

Drives: 09 E90 335i M-Sport 6MT RWD
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Ontario, Canada

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by socalcoding View Post
What adapter?
I was wrong on the brand; We don't have the bimmergeeks cable, rather the "one stop electronics" cable. Both were recommended on the forums and that's the one we got.

Instead of the switch it has the adapter for K Can.
Appreciate 0
      08-13-2019, 12:57 PM   #16
dpaul
Captain
United_States
250
Rep
988
Posts

Drives: 2009 E90 335xi, 2011 E93 M3
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Boston

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by socalcoding View Post
Have you updated datens?
If the datens work with a 2009 E90, they shouldn't need updating to work with a 2007 E90. Probably KCAN-DCAN issue as discussed
Appreciate 0
      08-13-2019, 01:13 PM   #17
neilvan
Second Lieutenant
neilvan's Avatar
Canada
101
Rep
262
Posts

Drives: 09 E90 335i M-Sport 6MT RWD
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Ontario, Canada

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by dpaul View Post
If the datens work with a 2009 E90, they shouldn't need updating to work with a 2007 E90. Probably KCAN-DCAN issue as discussed
I mean tt could be but I thought this was a D-Can car being after 3/07?

20190813_131032
Appreciate 0
      08-13-2019, 02:35 PM   #18
ctuna
Major General
988
Rep
9,580
Posts

Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

iTrader: (0)

You are right I must be dyslexic.
Appreciate 0
      08-13-2019, 04:27 PM   #19
dpaul
Captain
United_States
250
Rep
988
Posts

Drives: 2009 E90 335xi, 2011 E93 M3
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Boston

iTrader: (3)

It seems that most people say that 03//07 is the changeover. However, I remember at least one poster saying his 06/07 E90 was K-line. So there might be some variability in changeover dates.

One way to assess would be to look at the pinout in the OBDII port. That requires removing the hood latch lever and a panel or two. A bit of a pain. DCAN (I THINK - didn't look this up) will have wires on pins 6 and 14. K-Line won't, just a wire on pin 7.

But have you tried connecting using the K-line adapter that should have come with the one-stop-electronics cable?
Appreciate 0
      08-13-2019, 06:59 PM   #20
neilvan
Second Lieutenant
neilvan's Avatar
Canada
101
Rep
262
Posts

Drives: 09 E90 335i M-Sport 6MT RWD
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Ontario, Canada

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by dpaul View Post
But have you tried connecting using the K-line adapter that should have come with the one-stop-electronics cable?
Yep. Adapter or no adapter is the same result as you see above
Appreciate 0
      08-13-2019, 07:26 PM   #21
dpaul
Captain
United_States
250
Rep
988
Posts

Drives: 2009 E90 335xi, 2011 E93 M3
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Boston

iTrader: (3)

Have you tried to use a commercial scanner on the OBDII port on that car?

EDIT: sorry, I'm confused. The pictures you posted show the COAPI-20 error then show INPA apparently reading module error memory correctly. So it works after pressing OK on the error message?
Appreciate 0
      08-13-2019, 08:07 PM   #22
neilvan
Second Lieutenant
neilvan's Avatar
Canada
101
Rep
262
Posts

Drives: 09 E90 335i M-Sport 6MT RWD
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Ontario, Canada

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Yep we have the Schwaben tool and it works/reads as it should.

Im honestly just as confused. Once we clear the message, it doesnt go through and has the same options/stays on the same page.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:27 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST