E90Post

Coby Wheel

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > Regional Forums > UK > Caught this garage out red handed?

05-13-2021, 01:38 PM   #1
redtill
Registered
Rep
Drives: E92 320d MSPORT

Caught this garage out red handed?

I was just wondering what your thoughts are about this

I've been using an independent BMW garage for aprrox 3-4 years & up until this year was not the type who got under the car or lifted the bonnet to do any wk myself. Well with lockdown that changed & I started doing some things myself.Got a lo pro trolley jack,axle stds,tools etc.Started with the oils,disks,pads & then took on Struts,shocks,springs,control arms,basically the whole suspension front & rear.So now I'm quite happy to get my hands dirty & have a try myself
When carrying out the above wk i ran outta time & wasn't able to do the tie rods & tie rod ends(bolts had seized).With me going back to wk & wanting the car ready for a long trip I asked the other half if she wouldn't mind & take the car to the garage.Got a quote for1.5 hrs labour which I thought was reasonable
So the night b4 I put the track rods/ends along with the gaiters & the sml & lge mounting clips into a box & stuck em in the boot.I even put 1 of the gaiters onto the tie rod.
Now the following day I decide to replace the fog lights so whip of the wheel & low & behold what do i see.....Old gaiters with the old clips & 1 of the gaiters is lose & just hanging.(how much damage this would have done I'm not sure)
Now i'm assuming the owner knows nothing about this & its the mechanics in the wk shop who are the culprits.I think they thought I wasn't going to have a look & so the mechanic just kept the new gaiters & clips for himself(he has the same car)
I've had a word with the owner & I'm gonna 1st make them rectify this particular situation & then...... any thoughts would be appreciated
Appreciate 0
      05-13-2021, 02:18 PM   #2
jwilalex
Private First Class
Rep