E90Post
 


Extreme Power House
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > Things I need for a Aftermarket radio replacement help



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-20-2018, 06:03 PM   #1
8thgenE92
New Member
3
Rep
11
Posts

Drives: 2009 BMW 328i coupe
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Los Angeles CA

iTrader: (0)

Things I need for a Aftermarket radio replacement help

Sup guys, I was looking all over the forum about aftermarket radios and things about losing functions like mileage, temps, service dates, etc. I don't know anything about aftermarket radios bc I never wanted to changed them on my previous cars.

so my question is what are the things I need to buy in order to not lose these functions (yes, I checked other threads and clicked on the links. The links are not working anymore, so no need for any dumb comments)

Another question is, has anybody installed a Sony XAV-AX100? Looks really good compared to the stock hu in my e92.

https://www.amazon.com/Sony-XAV-AX10...qid=1488913135

Last edited by 8thgenE92; 01-20-2018 at 06:14 PM.
Appreciate 0
      01-20-2018, 11:30 PM   #2
ctuna
Major General
633
Rep
7,715
Posts

Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

iTrader: (0)

First off what are you starting out with ?
You need to specify both your type of head unit
and the sound system that the car comes with this
a speaker amplifier combination or lack of one?

If you have idrive/nav its not really practical and if
you have the logic 7 amplifier its also more difficult.


bimmerfest stereo
http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/sho...ighlight=ctuna
http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/sho....php?t=1157793
http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/sho...ighlight=audio
http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/sho...ighlight=audio
http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/sho...ighlight=audio

head unit
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...ight=head+unit
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1036190
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...hlight=dynavin
http://www.janus-design.net/english/
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=355089
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...ight=head+unit
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...hlight=dynavin
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...hlight=dynavin
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...light=retrofit
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=993447
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1016187
https://www.bmwgm5.com/Logic7_E90_91_92_93.htm
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...hlight=dynavin

to get pictures in some of the links using chrome helps.

"functions like mileage, temps, service dates, etc." You don't loose these there still present in the Instrument cluster. You may get SOS errors and your PDC will cease to work with most aftermarket decks if you have it.

Last edited by ctuna; 01-20-2018 at 11:38 PM.
Appreciate 0
      01-22-2018, 01:03 PM   #3
8thgenE92
New Member
3
Rep
11
Posts

Drives: 2009 BMW 328i coupe
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Los Angeles CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ctuna View Post
First off what are you starting out with ?
You need to specify both your type of head unit
and the sound system that the car comes with this
a speaker amplifier combination or lack of one?

If you have idrive/nav its not really practical and if
you have the logic 7 amplifier its also more difficult.


bimmerfest stereo
http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/sho...ighlight=ctuna
http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/sho....php?t=1157793
http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/sho...ighlight=audio
http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/sho...ighlight=audio
http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/sho...ighlight=audio

head unit
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...ight=head+unit
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1036190
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...hlight=dynavin
http://www.janus-design.net/english/
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=355089
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...ight=head+unit
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...hlight=dynavin
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...hlight=dynavin
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...light=retrofit
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=993447
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1016187
https://www.bmwgm5.com/Logic7_E90_91_92_93.htm
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...hlight=dynavin

to get pictures in some of the links using chrome helps.

"functions like mileage, temps, service dates, etc." You don't loose these there still present in the Instrument cluster. You may get SOS errors and your PDC will cease to work with most aftermarket decks if you have it.
Thanks ctuna for the reply! I checked and I have a hifi system. I don't have have nav (I wish I did). So if I change my hu, BMW will still be able to service my car and fix anything that comes up??
Appreciate 0
      01-22-2018, 03:09 PM   #4
ctuna
Major General
633
Rep
7,715
Posts

Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

iTrader: (0)

If you read the Head Unit threads people parallel mount there
old head units to over come this problem . Or they have a way
of quickly putting it in parallel mount configuration if they need
to take it in. Don't sell or throw it away at a minimum so you have
it if you need it.
For recalls that require software updates or programming replaced modules they may refuse to do it to non stock cars.
Appreciate 0
      01-22-2018, 06:47 PM   #5
8thgenE92
New Member
3
Rep
11
Posts

Drives: 2009 BMW 328i coupe
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Los Angeles CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ctuna View Post
If you read the Head Unit threads people parallel mount there
old head units to over come this problem . Or they have a way
of quickly putting it in parallel mount configuration if they need
to take it in. Don't sell or throw it away at a minimum so you have
it if you need it.
For recalls that require software updates or programming replaced modules they may refuse to do it to non stock cars.
Ah I see, thank you for the information, honestly sounds like too much work for just a double din now I think for the price for parts and install at a shop I would just be better off saving the cash for other mods on the car that's simple..... thank for all the info! I really appreciate it! Time to just save up for a PE and turn off the radio
Appreciate 0
      01-22-2018, 08:00 PM   #6
ctuna
Major General
633
Rep
7,715
Posts

Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

iTrader: (0)

Were you seeking an improvement in sound or to add features.
Improvement in sound replace amp and aftermarket speakers.
expect to pay around 1500 for quality stuff.
Dynavin n7 for a double din that looks like it belongs in a BMW around 700 to 800 for that.
and has some quality.
Appreciate 0
      01-22-2018, 09:55 PM   #7
8thgenE92
New Member
3
Rep
11
Posts

Drives: 2009 BMW 328i coupe
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Los Angeles CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ctuna View Post
Were you seeking an improvement in sound or to add features.
Improvement in sound replace amp and aftermarket speakers.
expect to pay around 1500 for quality stuff.
Dynavin n7 for a double din that looks like it belongs in a BMW around 700 to 800 for that.
and has some quality.
I just wanted to add features, really wanted car play and to add a back up camera. I think the sound in the BMW already sounds really good, just wish it could play my music through Bluetooth instead of plugging in my aux
Appreciate 0
      01-23-2018, 01:38 AM   #8
ctuna
Major General
633
Rep
7,715
Posts

Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

iTrader: (0)

Avin is making some stuff that will do what you describe
you want but I don't know how good it is . It kind of piggy
backs on the existing system. Some use a Nexus 7 tablet
to do something like that.

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...ighlight=Mount
Appreciate 0
      01-23-2018, 02:47 PM   #9
Ali-323i
Lieutenant Colonel
Ali-323i's Avatar
Canada
242
Rep
1,898
Posts

Drives: 2007 323i (Cdn) 4dr E90
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Toronto, Canada

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2007 BMW 323i  [4.25]
You can get a Bluetooth aux adaptor to easily add Bluetooth for pretty cheap.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      01-23-2018, 07:59 PM   #10
8thgenE92
New Member
3
Rep
11
Posts

Drives: 2009 BMW 328i coupe
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Los Angeles CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ctuna View Post
Avin is making some stuff that will do what you describe
you want but I don't know how good it is . It kind of piggy
backs on the existing system. Some use a Nexus 7 tablet
to do something like that.

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...ighlight=Mount
Thanks for the link, I'll check it out!
Appreciate 0
      01-23-2018, 08:01 PM   #11
8thgenE92
New Member
3
Rep
11
Posts

Drives: 2009 BMW 328i coupe
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Los Angeles CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ali-323i View Post
You can get a Bluetooth aux adaptor to easily add Bluetooth for pretty cheap.
I was looking into it, but some of the reviews I saw for adaptors on Amazon was saying they heard a lot of static on certain songs they played. I'll probably just go for it so I don't have to have plug in the aux every time I get in the car
Appreciate 0
      01-24-2018, 09:59 AM   #12
Ali-323i
Lieutenant Colonel
Ali-323i's Avatar
Canada
242
Rep
1,898
Posts

Drives: 2007 323i (Cdn) 4dr E90
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Toronto, Canada

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2007 BMW 323i  [4.25]
Quote:
Originally Posted by 8thgenE92 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ali-323i View Post
You can get a Bluetooth aux adaptor to easily add Bluetooth for pretty cheap.
I was looking into it, but some of the reviews I saw for adaptors on Amazon was saying they heard a lot of static on certain songs they played. I'll probably just go for it so I don't have to have plug in the aux every time I get in the car
My guess is the static is coming from the wire or the plug, not the Bluetooth receiver itself.

A good quality Bluetooth receiver will hopefully not have this issue.

Good luck and report back.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      01-24-2018, 07:07 PM   #13
8thgenE92
New Member
3
Rep
11
Posts

Drives: 2009 BMW 328i coupe
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Los Angeles CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ali-323i View Post
My guess is the static is coming from the wire or the plug, not the Bluetooth receiver itself.

A good quality Bluetooth receiver will hopefully not have this issue.

Good luck and report back.
Just looked up some receivers, but they said I would have to turn it back on every time I start my car up I think I rather just plug in my aux if that's the case.
Appreciate 0
      01-24-2018, 07:56 PM   #14
ctuna
Major General
633
Rep
7,715
Posts

Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

iTrader: (0)

I can't see that any Head Unit would have that problem
if wired in correctly .
Appreciate 0
      01-25-2018, 09:41 AM   #15
Ali-323i
Lieutenant Colonel
Ali-323i's Avatar
Canada
242
Rep
1,898
Posts

Drives: 2007 323i (Cdn) 4dr E90
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Toronto, Canada

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2007 BMW 323i  [4.25]
Quote:
Originally Posted by 8thgenE92 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ali-323i View Post
My guess is the static is coming from the wire or the plug, not the Bluetooth receiver itself.

A good quality Bluetooth receiver will hopefully not have this issue.

Good luck and report back.
Just looked up some receivers, but they said I would have to turn it back on every time I start my car up I think I rather just plug in my aux if that's the case.
Find one that plugs into the lighter for power, it will turn on when you start the car.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      02-10-2018, 09:34 PM   #16
KishMish
Enlisted Member
2
Rep
41
Posts

Drives: 2013 BMW M3
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: New York City

iTrader: (1)

Iv been actually interested in the same head unit for my M3 Non Navigation. From what i see you would need these adapters. https://axxessinterfaces.com/product/AX-BM90122

And this looks like the best face plate to use. It appears to look flush too.
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...k_ql_qh_dp_hza

The instructions here call for trimming the HVAC controls

https://pdf.crutchfieldonline.com/Im...003BMWK320.PDF
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:15 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST