E90Post
 


The Tire Rack
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90/E92/E93 Marketplace (For Sale / Trade / Wanted) > SPONSORS Classifieds/Groupbuys/Specials Area > Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Parts > xHP Flashtool - Flash your automatic trans! Official thread



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-11-2020, 01:25 PM   #2949
fmonteiro444
Captain
fmonteiro444's Avatar
53
Rep
673
Posts

Drives: 09 335i X-Drive
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: NJ

iTrader: (5)

Garage List
I have a Stage 4 xHP flash on my fully built 14 F30 N55. We are getting torque limiter 1048576 constantly now at high boost/high horsepower. Has anyone else ran into this issue?

Here are two log. The first log shows it happening in 3rd gear and the second log shows it shortly after shifting into 5th gear.

https://datazap.me/u/fmonteiro444/v7...0&data=4-18-46

https://datazap.me/u/fmonteiro444/v7...data=2-4-18-46

Any help or advice would be appreciated.
__________________
09 e92 335xi AT - RB's w/VTT inlets, MHD Flash w/ e50, AFE Stage 2 Intake, VRSF CP w/HKS BOV, VRSF 7" FMIC. downpipes, Alpina Flash
Appreciate 0
      05-11-2020, 04:37 PM   #2950
Street of Rage
Second Lieutenant
Street of Rage's Avatar
United_States
44
Rep
258
Posts

Drives: 2011 BMW 335i e92
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: 818 Northridge

iTrader: (0)

Also... with the new version, PREPARING TO FLASH takes a bit long to get to actual flashing process. I patiently waited for a good few minutes (~2ish mins?) before the process to start. Is anyone also experiencing this?
__________________
Appreciate 0
      05-12-2020, 02:29 AM   #2951
Saif2018
Private First Class
24
Rep
176
Posts

Drives: E90 335i
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Street of Rage View Post
Also... with the new version, PREPARING TO FLASH takes a bit long to get to actual flashing process. I patiently waited for a good few minutes (~2ish mins?) before the process to start. Is anyone also experiencing this?
Yes, same here, its slower than the old version. Dunno why it takes minutes before doing anything.
Appreciate 0
      05-12-2020, 03:45 AM   #2952
tip_m
New Member
2
Rep
12
Posts

Drives: 335i
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Bay Area, CA

iTrader: (0)

With the iOS release finally decided to bite the bullet and install this. Even before the 50 mile break in initial impressions are positive. Stage 2 D mode is smooth and feels smarter in how gears are selected. Too bad with the shelter in place don’t get to drive the car around much.
Appreciate 0
      05-12-2020, 03:56 AM   #2953
RBT-Tuning
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
RBT-Tuning's Avatar
Austria
694
Rep
741
Posts


Drives: 335i F31 xDrive
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Austria

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by fmonteiro444 View Post
I have a Stage 4 xHP flash on my fully built 14 F30 N55. We are getting torque limiter 1048576 constantly now at high boost/high horsepower. Has anyone else ran into this issue?

Here are two log. The first log shows it happening in 3rd gear and the second log shows it shortly after shifting into 5th gear.

https://datazap.me/u/fmonteiro444/v7...0&data=4-18-46

https://datazap.me/u/fmonteiro444/v7...data=2-4-18-46

Any help or advice would be appreciated.
Your engine tune is reporting 390 Nm at 29 psi. Load-2-Torque calculation is completely upside/down. No idea who calculates falling torque, when boost is rising. That can't work.

It's not a limiter, it's just a slipping transmission saving you some dollars for new clutches. Fixing Load-2-Torque could be a start, but it could very well be that the clutch-packs are already fried anyway and even with correct pressure it won't hold that power. 2 Bar is a lot of pressure and the 8HP45 is not the strongest trans on earth. Even if all is in correct, it will be worn out sooner or later.

Please read this article, to understand further: https://www.xhpflashtool.com/blog/li...engine_torque/

Quote:
Originally Posted by Saif2018 View Post
Yes, same here, its slower than the old version. Dunno why it takes minutes before doing anything.
Please click on Send Logs in the App and contact our support at support@rbttuning.com
Appreciate 1
      05-12-2020, 01:10 PM   #2954
Street of Rage
Second Lieutenant
Street of Rage's Avatar
United_States
44
Rep
258
Posts

Drives: 2011 BMW 335i e92
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: 818 Northridge

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by RBT-Tuning View Post
Please click on Send Logs in the App and contact our support at support@rbttuning.com
I've just done that. I don't mind waiting as long as the process goes through, just wonder if the bug still persists.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      05-12-2020, 04:52 PM   #2955
fmonteiro444
Captain
fmonteiro444's Avatar
53
Rep
673
Posts

Drives: 09 335i X-Drive
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: NJ

iTrader: (5)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by RBT-Tuning View Post
Your engine tune is reporting 390 Nm at 29 psi. Load-2-Torque calculation is completely upside/down. No idea who calculates falling torque, when boost is rising. That can't work.

It's not a limiter, it's just a slipping transmission saving you some dollars for new clutches. Fixing Load-2-Torque could be a start, but it could very well be that the clutch-packs are already fried anyway and even with correct pressure it won't hold that power. 2 Bar is a lot of pressure and the 8HP45 is not the strongest trans on earth. Even if all is in correct, it will be worn out sooner or later.

Please read this article, to understand further: https://www.xhpflashtool.com/blog/li...engine_torque/
We definitely have been pushing the stock trans to the limit, and it was slipping on the dyno in 6th gear RWD mode on the initial tune. It was able to handle a little more on the streat and we have been trying to dial it in more. Are there upgraded clutches available for this trans? Or would a simple stock refresh do? The transmission has 69k miles on it.
__________________
09 e92 335xi AT - RB's w/VTT inlets, MHD Flash w/ e50, AFE Stage 2 Intake, VRSF CP w/HKS BOV, VRSF 7" FMIC. downpipes, Alpina Flash
Appreciate 0
      05-12-2020, 08:56 PM   #2956
crazyazz
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
32
Posts

Drives: E46 M3
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Australia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpunkyXL View Post
+1 on that..I'm experiencing the same issue. That jolt on stop is super annoying.
Did you guys find a good setting to eliminate the issue ?
Appreciate 0
      05-14-2020, 08:56 PM   #2957
iqraceworks
Major
iqraceworks's Avatar
363
Rep
1,326
Posts

Drives: 2007 335i
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Missouri

iTrader: (0)

I know there are setting in xHP for "throttle blips in m-mode"....but what about the throttle blips in Sport mode? My 07' 335i is annoying in sport mode with the throttle blips when driving in traffic....any way to adjust that, or turn them off so they it only blips the throttle in manual mode?
Appreciate 0
      05-14-2020, 10:11 PM   #2958
Red_Bean_Bun
Major
United_States
57
Rep
1,001
Posts

Drives: E92
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Wilmington

iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Street of Rage View Post
Also... with the new version, PREPARING TO FLASH takes a bit long to get to actual flashing process. I patiently waited for a good few minutes (~2ish mins?) before the process to start. Is anyone also experiencing this?
I am getting that too. Your ride uses Kline bus ?
Appreciate 0
      05-14-2020, 10:13 PM   #2959
Red_Bean_Bun
Major
United_States
57
Rep
1,001
Posts

Drives: E92
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Wilmington

iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by RBT-Tuning View Post
Not specifically. What the MHD option does, is to leave the Load-2-Torque calculation stock, because it's no longer necessary to "bend" those maps for avoiding the stock trans limiter.

But you would not get any boost drops if a certain tune still does that and runs with xHP.
Does the DME torque limit offset table affect the xHP OTS maps ?
Appreciate 0
      05-15-2020, 02:41 AM   #2960
Street of Rage
Second Lieutenant
Street of Rage's Avatar
United_States
44
Rep
258
Posts

Drives: 2011 BMW 335i e92
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: 818 Northridge

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Red_Bean_Bun View Post
I am getting that too. Your ride uses Kline bus ?
I sent an email 2 days ago. I received a reply from RBT, saying that I'm using 'off brand' KDCAN cable, resulting longer time before actual flashing process.

I mean, I am not using BimmerGeek cable. I assume that makes sense. Also they're trying to maximize with other branding of KDCAN cable to improve the speed. I'm not complaining as long as it works.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      05-15-2020, 02:49 AM   #2961
Red_Bean_Bun
Major
United_States
57
Rep
1,001
Posts

Drives: E92
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Wilmington

iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Street of Rage View Post
I sent an email 2 days ago. I received a reply from RBT, saying that I'm using 'off brand' KDCAN cable, resulting longer time before actual flashing process.

I mean, I am not using BimmerGeek cable. I assume that makes sense. Also they're trying to maximize with other branding of KDCAN cable to improve the speed. I'm not complaining as long as it works.
Iím using the Bimmergeek cable ...

But my ride uses Kline and not CAN though ...
Appreciate 0
      05-15-2020, 03:10 AM   #2962
Street of Rage
Second Lieutenant
Street of Rage's Avatar
United_States
44
Rep
258
Posts

Drives: 2011 BMW 335i e92
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: 818 Northridge

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Red_Bean_Bun View Post
Iím using the Bimmergeek cable ...

But my ride uses Kline and not CAN though ...
Then I think almost all of us are experiencing similar wait time.

Also prior to the new app redesign, the flash process required some patience too lol. Maybe the total time is about the same
__________________
Appreciate 0
      05-17-2020, 11:11 PM   #2963
kriswithak
Registered
0
Rep
2
Posts

Drives: 335i
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Winchester, CA

iTrader: (0)

Hey yall, 2011 e92 6AT here.

Friday I updated my xHP app and saw there was a new version, and a new map for my Stage 3 v2.1 flash. I hooked up my car to my battery tender, turned everything off in the car, rolled the windows down and buckled my seatbelt, the whole nine. ignition on, flash goes off successfully. Flashed a Stage 2 E30 MHD map that I had previously. Ignition off, ignition on, everything seems fine. Disconnected tender, car sat overnight. Started it next morning (Saturday) and engaged reverse, backed out of my garage fine. Put it into D and the accelerator does not work, strong shaking from trans, rough idle, stalls and dies, so i put it in N to see if it continued, it does. idrive shows Trans Malfunction error message, but MHD shows no codes. Shut the car off and reflashed my MHD map to Stage 2 91oct, and xHP v3.0 again. Same problem. Full uninstall of MHD and xHP, reflash xHP Stage 3 v3.0, same problem. Uninstall again, car is now bone stock, runs fine. Drove it to get a new battery and back home with no issues or codes. Reflash MHD Stage 2 e30, no problems. Reflash xHP Stage 2 v3.0, same problem as with Stage 3, Reflash Stage 2 v1.5 same problem as with v3.0.
Went and got a brand new car battery to replace my aging one, did all of this again, same exact problem and issues, no codes, car just runs like crap and dies.
I e-mailed in my log files and will wait, but is anyone else having issues with the ZF flashes?
Appreciate 0
      05-20-2020, 04:12 AM   #2964
crazyazz
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
32
Posts

Drives: E46 M3
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Australia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by iqraceworks View Post
I know there are setting in xHP for "throttle blips in m-mode"....but what about the throttle blips in Sport mode? My 07' 335i is annoying in sport mode with the throttle blips when driving in traffic....any way to adjust that, or turn them off so they it only blips the throttle in manual mode?
Downshifting into 2nd is the worst. They should adjust it on the stock maps.
Appreciate 0
      Yesterday, 03:06 AM   #2965
sjbmw
Enlisted Member
2
Rep
33
Posts

Drives: BMW 335i
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Melbourne

iTrader: (0)

Havenít connected to car for a bit
Downloaded the new app, had some trouble connecting never had any issues before
after repeated goes managed to connect by first connecting to MHD then trying XHP and it worked

Tried to flash new Stage 3 v3.0 but XHP keeps crashing?

07 Kline with JB4

anyone else?
Appreciate 0
      Yesterday, 03:43 AM   #2966
Red_Bean_Bun
Major
United_States
57
Rep
1,001
Posts

Drives: E92
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Wilmington

iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by sjbmw View Post
Havenít connected to car for a bit
Downloaded the new app, had some trouble connecting never had any issues before
after repeated goes managed to connect by first connecting to MHD then trying XHP and it worked

Tried to flash new Stage 3 v3.0 but XHP keeps crashing?

07 Kline with JB4

anyone else?
JB4 - set it to map 0 ?
Appreciate 0
      Today, 10:08 AM   #2967
sjbmw
Enlisted Member
2
Rep
33
Posts

Drives: BMW 335i
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Melbourne

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Red_Bean_Bun View Post
JB4 - set it to map 0 ?
Face palm


Thanks completely forgot about that
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:11 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST