E90Post
 


 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > Module errors, only after coding... I think!



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-06-2013, 04:07 AM   #1
Aaroona
Enlisted Member
New Zealand
1
Rep
42
Posts

Drives: F30 2012, 335i
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Auckland

iTrader: (0)

Module errors, only after coding... I think!

So... Started coding my car. I've started looking at the error messages on my modules and have come across a few things....


FRM2 - VIN error


alarm - VIN error

So the VIN numbers aren't showing up. Is this because I'm say using too newer files? too older files? I never checked this stuff before starting to code my vehicle, so can't confirm if it used to show the vin number.

Does it matter if it doesnt show?


The other issues are...

ECU Subfunction not supported

Random unknown engine error (though this I will probably have to post elsewhere.. not really coding related)



D35A D35A - PT-CAN Gateway_1


Any ideas whats going on?

I can provide any details from INPA you may need....

Last edited by Aaroona; 03-07-2013 at 03:24 PM.
Appreciate 0
      03-06-2013, 09:08 AM   #2
GenePoole
Lieutenant
33
Rep
541
Posts

Drives: 2012 F30 328i
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Brighton, IL

iTrader: (0)

You say in the title you've been coding your cay, yet in the first line of your post you say you've been programming.

As far as I know, the only way to mess up the VIN in a module is: to program a new firmware version with winkfp and forget the VIN (I did this once); replace it with a brand new (unprogrammed) module; or deliberately clear it with Tool32. The Alarm I can see since there were no factory alarms and even dealer installed alarms are sometimes not programmed correctly, but the FRM? Is it original or has it been replaced sometime in the car's past?

There are two ways I know of to correct this: reprogram with Winkfp but only if you are changing the firmware version (trying to reflash the same version results in it going through all the motions, but not actually flashing anything); or manually edit the VIN field with Toool32. The latter is not as straightforward as you would think. I can't remember the syntax, but I did do it once upon a time to correct a mis-flashed ABS module, but in that case, the module failed to work and lit off all sorts of bells and warnings so I had no choice but to change the VIN manually.

If it's not causing any problems, I'd not worry about it. I still have a CDC and sat radio with VINs that show up like that in INPA, but they apparently don't warrant a malfunction warning so I haven't bothered trying to fix them.
Appreciate 0
      03-07-2013, 03:33 PM   #3
Aaroona
Enlisted Member
New Zealand
1
Rep
42
Posts

Drives: F30 2012, 335i
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Auckland

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by GenePoole View Post
You say in the title you've been coding your cay, yet in the first line of your post you say you've been programming.

As far as I know, the only way to mess up the VIN in a module is: to program a new firmware version with winkfp and forget the VIN (I did this once); replace it with a brand new (unprogrammed) module; or deliberately clear it with Tool32. The Alarm I can see since there were no factory alarms and even dealer installed alarms are sometimes not programmed correctly, but the FRM? Is it original or has it been replaced sometime in the car's past?

There are two ways I know of to correct this: reprogram with Winkfp but only if you are changing the firmware version (trying to reflash the same version results in it going through all the motions, but not actually flashing anything); or manually edit the VIN field with Toool32. The latter is not as straightforward as you would think. I can't remember the syntax, but I did do it once upon a time to correct a mis-flashed ABS module, but in that case, the module failed to work and lit off all sorts of bells and warnings so I had no choice but to change the VIN manually.

If it's not causing any problems, I'd not worry about it. I still have a CDC and sat radio with VINs that show up like that in INPA, but they apparently don't warrant a malfunction warning so I haven't bothered trying to fix them.


Okay thats reassuring. THanks for the info!
Sorry I did mean coding (i've changed it now).

the only thing I have replaced on the vehicle myself was the NOX sensor (well, an indy installed it).
Since the car is secondhand, I don't have all the history. Though when I spoke to BMW about its repair history there, they had only replaced non-related parts in its lifetime through BMW.
So unless the previous owners took it to an Indy dealer like me, I believe they're all original.

I thought the alarm was factory (when I look my car up online under www.bmwvin.com) it shows my alarm as being one of the options?

Theres actually another module that shows up as yyyyyyy - I'll grab the name of it soon.

Do you know of any easy to follow guides for either of the options you mentioned? I'm inclined to go with your idea of "don't fix it, if it ain't broke!", but I guess I can take a look at the process needed to fix it, then decide whether the efforts worth it
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:17 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST