E90Post
 


ECS BMW
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > Suspension | Brakes | Chassis > Brake sensor reset issue



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      Yesterday, 02:12 AM   #1
TheMidnightNarwhal
Major
Canada
257
Rep
1,412
Posts

Drives: 2011 335is 6 speed
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Gatineau, Quebec

iTrader: (0)

Brake sensor reset issue

I put in new rear brake sensor and I reset the change pad warning but the reset KM shows 9 000km? Shouldn'it be like 50 000Km?
Appreciate 0
      Yesterday, 03:42 AM   #2
BourneJack
Enlisted Member
3
Rep
46
Posts

Drives: BME E90
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: US

iTrader: (0)

Good One
Appreciate 0
      Yesterday, 12:50 PM   #3
TheMidnightNarwhal
Major
Canada
257
Rep
1,412
Posts

Drives: 2011 335is 6 speed
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Gatineau, Quebec

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BourneJack View Post
Good One
?
Appreciate 0
      Yesterday, 12:59 PM   #4
nsjames
Captain
197
Rep
631
Posts

Drives: 08 328xi Touring
Join Date: May 2017
Location: ohio

iTrader: (0)

sometimes they don't reset properly.

I had to cut the wire to the old one and short the two wires together to get mine to reset.

Then install the new sensor.
Appreciate 0
      Yesterday, 01:01 PM   #5
TheMidnightNarwhal
Major
Canada
257
Rep
1,412
Posts

Drives: 2011 335is 6 speed
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Gatineau, Quebec

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by nsjames View Post
sometimes they don't reset properly.

I had to cut the wire to the old one and short the two wires together to get mine to reset.

Then install the new sensor.
Hmm ok.

To give you a example of what happened tho maybe it's related: I had installed my first sensor and reset it when I did the brake pad but I wasn't able to fit it in properly so left it outside the brake pad. Eventually it fell and broke the sensor part so I drove on the replace brake pad warning for about 1000 KM.

Yesterday put in my new sensor properly, reset it and that's when it showed 9 000KM until replacement.
Appreciate 0
      Yesterday, 01:04 PM   #6
nsjames
Captain
197
Rep
631
Posts

Drives: 08 328xi Touring
Join Date: May 2017
Location: ohio

iTrader: (0)

my sensor wire broke as well.


use the old sensors wire, short the two wires together and reset it.
then install your new wear sensor.
Appreciate 0
      Yesterday, 10:09 PM   #7
TheMidnightNarwhal
Major
Canada
257
Rep
1,412
Posts

Drives: 2011 335is 6 speed
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Gatineau, Quebec

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by nsjames View Post
my sensor wire broke as well.


use the old sensors wire, short the two wires together and reset it.
then install your new wear sensor.
I don't have the old sensor.

But like why would it reset it to 9 000km. I don't understand?
Appreciate 0
      Yesterday, 11:00 PM   #8
Skylinemotorsports
New Member
0
Rep
21
Posts

Drives: 09 e92 335
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Atlanta

iTrader: (0)

Yea I am confused here to, maybe there is a DIY but I didn't realize I would need one. I am in the process of putting new pads/rotors/abs and brake sensors on my car. What all programming will I need to do?

I have already replaced the rear brake sensor and have driven the car since, that was the sensor that went off to prompt the pad change. The brake light is still on, what do I need to do to get rid of it?
Appreciate 0
      Yesterday, 11:08 PM   #9
TheMidnightNarwhal
Major
Canada
257
Rep
1,412
Posts

Drives: 2011 335is 6 speed
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Gatineau, Quebec

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skylinemotorsports View Post
Yea I am confused here to, maybe there is a DIY but I didn't realize I would need one. I am in the process of putting new pads/rotors/abs and brake sensors on my car. What all programming will I need to do?

I have already replaced the rear brake sensor and have driven the car since, that was the sensor that went off to prompt the pad change. The brake light is still on, what do I need to do to get rid of it?
Orginally when I put in my new sensor that then broke, I had reset the light in the dash using this video and it reset milleage to 50 000km.

You do need to reset it for sure.

In my case though don't know why second reset has put it only to 9000 even though I have a brand new sensor.
Appreciate 0
      Today, 01:21 PM   #10
nsjames
Captain
197
Rep
631
Posts

Drives: 08 328xi Touring
Join Date: May 2017
Location: ohio

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheMidnightNarwhal View Post
I don't have the old sensor.

But like why would it reset it to 9 000km. I don't understand?
because the car still thinks you've got the resistance for the worn or broken wear sensor.


why is it you start threads and ask for advice and then question every solution that's given?

use the search function like I did, find the same solution I gave you used by multiple people to solve the same issue we both had and then go do it.
Appreciate 0
      Today, 02:23 PM   #11
TheMidnightNarwhal
Major
Canada
257
Rep
1,412
Posts

Drives: 2011 335is 6 speed
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Gatineau, Quebec

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by nsjames View Post
why is it you start threads and ask for advice and then question every solution that's given?

use the search function like I did, find the same solution I gave you used by multiple people to solve the same issue we both had and then go do it.
Because I don't have the old sensor anymore? And I don't understand your solution.

And I'm question because I want to know why. What's the point in having a solution without knowing the reason or logic behind it, you're not learning anything that way.

And I still don't understand why me resetting the service with a brand new sensor doesn't reset it

And F searching, honestly this is a forum. I really don't get this searching logic, how can someone get so sick of just answering a issue. Don't want to answer it don't participial. If they are no sticky I really don't see why I should force in searching. And hell, I did search on google and I haven't find again, why it resets to 9K Km with a brand new sensor. Why do I need to short my old sensor? First time I put in a new sensor it worked perfect.

Hopefully this answers your question?
Appreciate 0
      Today, 02:45 PM   #12
techwhiz
Colonel
techwhiz's Avatar
United_States
395
Rep
2,890
Posts

Drives: e90 335i Sedan - Arctic
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Bay Area, Ca

iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheMidnightNarwhal View Post
I don't have the old sensor.

But like why would it reset it to 9 000km. I don't understand?
Did you just install the sensor or did you "code" the sensor.
Jut changing the sensor will not reset the distance.
You need tell the car the brakes and sensor changed by coding.
__________________
Arctic Metallic\CF Splitters, Spoiler, Mirror Covers\LED Tails\LSD\Tinted\Coded\Apex EC7-19"\LED Angel Eyes\Gloss Black Grill\Integrated V1 & Galaxy Tab\M-Performance Brakes\Cobb Tuned\xHP Flash\Resonator Removed and -> is your friend.
Appreciate 0
      Today, 03:02 PM   #13
TheMidnightNarwhal
Major
Canada
257
Rep
1,412
Posts

Drives: 2011 335is 6 speed
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Gatineau, Quebec

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by techwhiz View Post
Did you just install the sensor or did you "code" the sensor.
Jut changing the sensor will not reset the distance.
You need tell the car the brakes and sensor changed by coding.
I reset the sensor through the dash. If you hold the trip button you can choose which service indicator to reset. Like I did the first time it worked and same for my oil change.
Appreciate 0
      Today, 03:46 PM   #14
nsjames
Captain
197
Rep
631
Posts

Drives: 08 328xi Touring
Join Date: May 2017
Location: ohio

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheMidnightNarwhal View Post
And F searching, honestly this is a forum. I really don't get this searching logic, how can someone get so sick of just answering a issue.
because if you had searched for the answer you'd already have the answer, and neither of us would be wasting our time here.

I gave you the solution. Short the two pins and reset it. install your new sensor afterwords.


If you bothered to search you would find all of the relevant technical information on why this works.
but good luck getting someone to spoon feed you the information that you're too lazy to go and find on your own.
Appreciate 0
      Today, 04:50 PM   #15
TheMidnightNarwhal
Major
Canada
257
Rep
1,412
Posts

Drives: 2011 335is 6 speed
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Gatineau, Quebec

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by nsjames View Post
because if you had searched for the answer you'd already have the answer, and neither of us would be wasting our time here.

I gave you the solution. Short the two pins and reset it. install your new sensor afterwords.


If you bothered to search you would find all of the relevant technical information on why this works.
but good luck getting someone to spoon feed you the information that you're too lazy to go and find on your own.
How am I wasting anyone's time? Don't answer if you think it's a waste of time. Holy shit dude how old are you?

And no, I think you are actually wrong. The system thinks because of how fast my new sensor got triggered, it thinks that I'm using rear brake pads every 9k. My 9K has not moved from where it was yet.

You have still yet to explain me why it would reset to 9K instead of 50k so I think that's why.
Appreciate 0
      Today, 04:53 PM   #16
TheMidnightNarwhal
Major
Canada
257
Rep
1,412
Posts

Drives: 2011 335is 6 speed
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Gatineau, Quebec

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by techwhiz View Post
Did you just install the sensor or did you "code" the sensor.
Jut changing the sensor will not reset the distance.
You need tell the car the brakes and sensor changed by coding.
I'll try it with ISTA and see if it makes a difference.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:27 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST