E90Post
 


Euromotive Performance
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > Changing the cruise control speed display from mph to km/h



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-18-2017, 09:29 PM   #23
KevinWaterloo
Enlisted Member
Canada
8
Rep
34
Posts

Drives: 2009 White 335i x-drive
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Waterloo

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sensible_ View Post
Are you sure BDSC isn't related?
Actually I'm not sure about a lot of things with BWM Coding yet. The ability to read German would help

These are the configuration variables from my BSDC module. After looking at the BSDC file again I noticed the variables C10_V_EINHEIT and C10_SETZ_V_MAX_CC. The numbers infront of the variables are different (C10 vs C0C) but I assume they are the same.

I'll try them out later this week and update when I have confirmed that it works. Thanks!

My variables from the BDSC module are below (most of the settings removed for clarity)
Code:
ASL
AUSSTATTUNG_RPA
BSW
EVB
HBA_DXC_8
HHC
HILLDESC_DXC_8
HPS
HVV
RPA_WARNSCHWELLWERTE_1
RPA_WARNSCHWELLWERTE_2
RPA_WARNSCHWELLWERTE_3
RPA_WARNSCHWELLWERTE_4
US_VARIANTE
DXC_CBS
C8_BDSC
SZL_BDSC
DSC8_SST
FDB
AX_REF
FLR_C0F
VCH_C0F
C10_A_MAX
C10_A_MIN
C10_BERGAB_GERASTET
C10_BERGAB_KENNEN
C10_BERGABANSATZ
C10_DTC_DCC
C10_ECBA_DCC
C10_FZG_MASSE
C10_IPM_MAX_P_RES
C10_MOTOR_LEISTUNG_MAX
C10_P_AUSROLL_ANTRIEB
C10_R_RAD_DYN_DSC
C10_SCHUBABSCHALTUNG
C10_SETZ_V_MAX_CC
	wert_02
C10_SETZ_V_MIN
	wert_02
C10_V_ABSCHALT
C10_V_EINHEIT
	wert_01
C10_VERZOEG_NEG_FEIN
C10_VERZOEG_NEG_GROB
C10_VERZOEG_POS_FEIN
C10_VERZOEG_POS_GROB
C10C_AAT_SCHUB_AUS_OFFSET
C10C_AAT_SCHUB_EIN_KORR
C10C_AAT_SCHUB_EIN_OFFSET
E90_FZG_VARIANTEN
Appreciate 0
      01-20-2017, 12:02 PM   #24
KevinWaterloo
Enlisted Member
Canada
8
Rep
34
Posts

Drives: 2009 White 335i x-drive
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Waterloo

iTrader: (0)

FYI. That didn't work. I modified the BSDC parameters above and set both C10_V_EINHEIT and C10_SETZ_V_MAX_CC appropriately.

However when I try to enable cruise control I get the "cruise control not working" icon on the dash. It shows a small speedometer with an arrow and large exclamation mark.
Although when I try to enable cruise control with the car stopped the display shows "--- km/h" which hopefully means that the cruise control change to km/h worked.

My guess is that the either C10_SETZ_V_MAX_C setting is incorrect or that something bad happened when programming. I will restore the original settings this weekend and try to debug.
Appreciate 0
      03-08-2017, 10:12 PM   #25
KevinWaterloo
Enlisted Member
Canada
8
Rep
34
Posts

Drives: 2009 White 335i x-drive
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Waterloo

iTrader: (0)

Just an update in case anyone has any ideas. I have tried every combination of the BSDC parameters below and I haven't been able to get this to work. Every setting results in the "cruise control not working" icon on the dash. The strange thing is that the error does not occur when the car is stopped.

The cruise control works properly if I put it back to the original values.

I've tried all of the following combinations with no luck. The default settings were C10_V_EINHEIT (wert_01), C10_SETZ_V_MAX_CC (wert_02), C10_SETZ_V_MIN (wert_02)
  • C10_V_EINHEIT (wert_00), C10_SETZ_V_MAX_CC (wert_01), C10_SETZ_V_MIN (wert_01)
  • C10_V_EINHEIT (wert_00), C10_SETZ_V_MAX_CC (wert_02), C10_SETZ_V_MIN (wert_01)
  • C10_V_EINHEIT (wert_00), C10_SETZ_V_MAX_CC (wert_01), C10_SETZ_V_MIN (wert_02)
  • C10_V_EINHEIT (wert_00), C10_SETZ_V_MAX_CC (wert_02), C10_SETZ_V_MIN (wert_02)
Has anyone gotten this to work on a 2009 e90? Or does anyone know what the other parameters in the BSDC module are for?

Thanks in advance
Appreciate 0
      03-08-2017, 10:16 PM   #26
Levanime
Levanime's Avatar
United_States
148
Rep
744
Posts

Drives: E92 335
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Atlanta

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 BMW 335  [0.00]
I can code it if you still need it
Appreciate 0
      12-20-2017, 09:37 PM   #27
KevinWaterloo
Enlisted Member
Canada
8
Rep
34
Posts

Drives: 2009 White 335i x-drive
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Waterloo

iTrader: (0)

Just an update on this thread. I tried again tonight to resolve this problem but I was still unsuccessful.

The strange thing is that my fsw_psw.trc file contains the proper variables (C0C_V_EINHEIT and C0C_SETZ_V_MAX) and they are both set to the options for mls instead of km/s.
But I can't find those settings in any module using NCS Expert. I don't have a DSC module but rather a BSDC, but that module has the variables C10_V_EINHEIT and C10_SETZ_VMAX) and changing them doesn't work.

I checked every other module manually by selecting and reading each module, but *V_EINHEIT and *SETZ_V_MAX were nowhere to be found. I also upgraded to the latest daten files that I could find (v57 for E9) but that didn't help.

I did notice that the full fsw_psw.trc file contains multiple versions of the variable including V_EINHEIT, C08_V_EINHEIT, C0A_V_EINHEIT, COB_V_EINHEIT, and C0F_V_EINHEIT.

My guess is that the C** indicates the firmware version of the module and somehow the fsw_psw.trc file contains all available options even if they aren't present on the car. That would explain why there are multiple different version of these variables.

That probably means that the BDSC module in my car is different from the original poster and changing those two (or three) variables is not enough. My car is a LCI 2009 335i x-drive which is probably a factor. There is an earlier post in this thread where the change didn't work on a x-drive vehicle.

My next step is to start trying out other variables in the BSDC module to see if any are related. And maybe check for specific error codes in the module when I try to enable cruise control.
Although I am also considering changing the full fsw_psw.trc file with the proper variable changes and then reprogramming the entire car. That seems a bit dangerous though and probably won't help.

If anyone has any other ideas I would love to hear them. This isn't a major problem, but I don't like giving up

Last edited by KevinWaterloo; 12-20-2017 at 09:44 PM..
Appreciate 0
      02-01-2018, 07:57 AM   #28
Jogi8850
New Member
2
Rep
6
Posts

Drives: 328ix
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Bremen

iTrader: (0)

mph to kmh

dear kevin
do you have news about xdrive coding to km/h?
I have the same problem with 328ix

Regards jürgen
Appreciate 0
      02-01-2018, 03:13 PM   #29
KevinWaterloo
Enlisted Member
Canada
8
Rep
34
Posts

Drives: 2009 White 335i x-drive
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Waterloo

iTrader: (0)

Hi jürgen,

Sadly I have not found a solution to this yet. I can see the correct variables in the full fsw_psw.trc file but I can't find them in any of the modules on the car. My attempts at modifying similar variables hasn't worked.

I think I have appropriate daten files (v57) so I have no idea why I can't find the variables in any of my modules. I assume there must be a fix since clearly some countries must have the cruise control settings in km/h. I wonder if the $VO must be changed but I haven't tried that.

Regards,
Kevin
Appreciate 0
      02-01-2018, 04:07 PM   #30
ptpending
Colonel
244
Rep
2,061
Posts

Drives: e91
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: vilnius

iTrader: (1)

this is instrument cluster issue and it is done using methods described in topics about instrument cluster adaptation and customization of the user Sensible
__________________
E91 2006. Retrofits:High beam assistant, Individual Audio, Autodim mirrors, CIC, Combox(USB and Bluetooth), Electric Sport Seats, Light package, Front PDC, Heated Steering Wheel, Happy Robot, Climate Comfort Windscreen, Blackline rear lights.
Appreciate 0
      02-01-2018, 07:36 PM   #31
Levanime
Levanime's Avatar
United_States
148
Rep
744
Posts

Drives: E92 335
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Atlanta

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 BMW 335  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by KevinWaterloo View Post
Hi jürgen,

Sadly I have not found a solution to this yet. I can see the correct variables in the full fsw_psw.trc file but I can't find them in any of the modules on the car. My attempts at modifying similar variables hasn't worked.

I think I have appropriate daten files (v57) so I have no idea why I can't find the variables in any of my modules. I assume there must be a fix since clearly some countries must have the cruise control settings in km/h. I wonder if the $VO must be changed but I haven't tried that.

Regards,
Kevin
its done thru shadow coding
Appreciate 0
      02-02-2018, 01:17 AM   #32
Jogi8850
New Member
2
Rep
6
Posts

Drives: 328ix
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Bremen

iTrader: (0)

mph to kmh x drive E91 LCI US

hi@all,
this was a solution from a another side
i don't know if it helped? i can not do this job.

If it's LCI E9x then you need to do the following VO to the car :
ADD
$838 ( KANADA KM_TACHO )
$548 ( KM_TACHO )

remove

$653 ( is it's exist )

at last , run ISTA-P and flash at least KOMBI and DSC if you have expert option in ISTA-P , or you can note down the new ZB of KOMBI and DSC then flash it manually with WINKFP then default coding with NCS .

@Levanime
Can you do this job with team viewer? or can you write how to do with ncs?

Regards from Germany Jürgen
Appreciate 0
      02-02-2018, 05:18 AM   #33
Sensible_
Colonel
457
Rep
2,512
Posts

Drives: 2008 E90
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jogi8850 View Post
hi@all,
this was a solution from a another side
i don't know if it helped? i can not do this job.

If it's LCI E9x then you need to do the following VO to the car :
ADD
$838 ( KANADA KM_TACHO )
$548 ( KM_TACHO )

remove

$653 ( is it's exist )

at last , run ISTA-P and flash at least KOMBI and DSC if you have expert option in ISTA-P , or you can note down the new ZB of KOMBI and DSC then flash it manually with WINKFP then default coding with NCS .

@Levanime
Can you do this job with team viewer? or can you write how to do with ncs?

Regards from Germany Jürgen
Just google FA or VO coding. There are many step by step guides.
Appreciate 0
      02-02-2018, 05:45 AM   #34
Jogi8850
New Member
2
Rep
6
Posts

Drives: 328ix
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Bremen

iTrader: (0)

i can code this steps, this is not a problem
My question is does anybody know are the steps right?

regards jürgen
Appreciate 0
      02-19-2018, 06:16 AM   #35
Medorish
Registered
0
Rep
1
Posts

Drives: 2008 335i
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Canada

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Treize View Post
Just did this and it worked. Thanks again!
Hello,
I have 2008 335i, I need to change the cruise display to km instead of mls. What tools do I need to modify the code.
Appreciate 0
      02-28-2018, 08:08 PM   #36
KevinWaterloo
Enlisted Member
Canada
8
Rep
34
Posts

Drives: 2009 White 335i x-drive
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Waterloo

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jogi8850 View Post
hi@all,
this was a solution from a another side
i don't know if it helped? i can not do this job.

If it's LCI E9x then you need to do the following VO to the car :
ADD
$838 ( KANADA KM_TACHO )
$548 ( KM_TACHO )

remove

$653 ( is it's exist )

at last , run ISTA-P and flash at least KOMBI and DSC if you have expert option in ISTA-P , or you can note down the new ZB of KOMBI and DSC then flash it manually with WINKFP then default coding with NCS .

@Levanime
Can you do this job with team viewer? or can you write how to do with ncs?

Regards from Germany Jürgen
Thanks Jürgen. That worked! My cruise control setting is finally in km/h.

I added the $838 and $548 and removed $653, and then default coded CAS, KOMBI,and BDSC. After that I immediately restarted the car and triggered the cruise control before driving away. It showed km/h!

I then checked my BDSC module and it now contained the variables and they were already set correctly for km/h.
C0C_V_EINHEIT=Wert_00 and C0C_SETZ_V_MAX=Wert_01

I then tested on the road and it worked as expected. Finally!

Instructions on modifying the VO can be found here: http://codinge90.com/ncs-expert-how-...vehicle-order/

Cheers,
Kevin
Appreciate 0
      02-28-2018, 08:59 PM   #37
KevinWaterloo
Enlisted Member
Canada
8
Rep
34
Posts

Drives: 2009 White 335i x-drive
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Waterloo

iTrader: (0)

I've done a bit more digging on the VO codes above. Adding 838 and 548 make sense, but I'm not sure why 653 would be required. I may try to add $653 back into the VO and see if it is related. If anyone else has tried this please let me know.

L838A NATIONAL VERSION CANADA
S548A Kilometer-calibrated speedometer

S653A BMW digital radio
S653A High Definition Radio
S653A Radio Bavaria C Reverse II
Appreciate 0
      03-01-2018, 08:25 AM   #38
Jogi8850
New Member
2
Rep
6
Posts

Drives: 328ix
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Bremen

iTrader: (0)

Dear Kevin,
Perfect!!! Then i will code this Job!

Thanks for testing
Best Regards from Germany
Jürgen
Appreciate 0
      04-05-2018, 07:41 AM   #39
firari
Registered
0
Rep
1
Posts

Drives: BMW
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: GER

iTrader: (0)

hi Jürgen,

you may help me out of my mph cruise controll issue?

regards from the ruhrpott
Appreciate 0
      04-06-2018, 02:39 AM   #40
Jogi8850
New Member
2
Rep
6
Posts

Drives: 328ix
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Bremen

iTrader: (0)

no problem!

Regards Jürgen
Appreciate 0
      06-20-2018, 03:51 AM   #41
AlexV
Registered
0
Rep
2
Posts

Drives: BMW E90 328i 2007
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: EU

iTrader: (0)

Hi ppl!

Can You help me pls.
I have E90 328i 2007. We try to change cruise control from mph to kmh. We change
C0A_V_EINHEIT from wert_01 to wert_00 and
C0A_SETZ_V_MAX from wert_03 to wert_01

But when turn on cruise on display -> --- kmh (particaly ok), when add speed --- , when down speed 245 kmh and car start fly to the moon .
Meybe we forget to change some parametr..

Can You help me? Sorry for my english.
Appreciate 0
      06-21-2018, 12:17 AM   #42
AlexV
Registered
0
Rep
2
Posts

Drives: BMW E90 328i 2007
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: EU

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlexV View Post
Hi ppl!

Can You help me pls.
I have E90 328i 2007. We try to change cruise control from mph to kmh. We change
C0A_V_EINHEIT from wert_01 to wert_00 and
C0A_SETZ_V_MAX from wert_03 to wert_01

But when turn on cruise on display -> --- kmh (particaly ok), when add speed --- , when down speed 245 kmh and car start fly to the moon .
Meybe we forget to change some parametr..

Can You help me? Sorry for my english.
It's ok.
need...
C0A_V_EINHEIT from wert_01 to wert_00 and
C0A_SETZ_V_MAX from wert_03 to wert_02 (!!!! )

and cruise work perfectly i kmh/ Tnks all.
Appreciate 0
      07-22-2019, 01:37 PM   #43
Alexand3r
Enlisted Member
38
Rep
36
Posts

Drives: E92 M3 '12
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Bulgaria, Pazardzhik

iTrader: (0)

Summoning the theme from the dead, but I have a question. I'm trying to do the mph to kph conversion on the cruise control. I did the VO coding and that is ok, but when I try to change the two values in the DSC module, I can't find such module in the NSC! It's an LCI '92 M3 2011 and the only module that is like that is the M3DSC, which has like 5 functions in it and neither of them is the two I'm looking for... Any help would be appreciated! I can post a list of the modules I have, but I think I went trough ANY one of them and they did not contain what I'm looking for.
Appreciate 0
      03-29-2020, 12:19 PM   #44
jm26
Registered
jm26's Avatar
Guatemala
0
Rep
2
Posts

Drives: 325i
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Guatemala

iTrader: (0)

Hi! Did you know if a BMW 325i 2006 USA is compatible with this coding?
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:43 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST