E90Post
 


 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > General E90 Sedan / E91 Wagon / E92 Coupe / E93 Cabrio > Idrive Failing - options



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-27-2020, 05:10 PM   #23
snoopyfix2000
New Member
0
Rep
6
Posts

Drives: 2007 BMW 328xi
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Utah

iTrader: (0)

Hey all,

I have a few questions if someone can shed some light. I have a CCC unit that completely died, just a blank black screen no audio, spinning knob, etc. In fact, the unit itself would stay on even when the car was powered off, which forced me to pull the fuse.

I'm now wanting to replace it with an Android 10 unit but I'm worried that it won't work without the CCC working. Is this the case? Would I simply be able to install the Android unit as is (with the CCC not working)?

I suspect that I'll have to do some coding which is fine. I ordered the iCar Pro to do that. Also, with the Android unit will everything work, i.e. TPMS, steering wheel controls, the knob, aux and usb plug in armrest, etc...?

I know this has probably been addressed before but I can't seem to find a direct answer anywhere.

Thanks in advance you guys.
Appreciate 0
      03-27-2020, 05:55 PM   #24
ctuna
Lieutenant General
1151
Rep
10,310
Posts

Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

iTrader: (0)

If you have a idrive/Nav already, the idrive has to work for the ones
that piggyback of the idrive. (Avin and most of the others)
This is not an easy retrofit and the only thing that will program idrive
modules on cars made after 3/07 is and Icom cable unless there is something
new.
Appreciate 0
      03-27-2020, 06:03 PM   #25
213e90n51
Lieutenant
213e90n51's Avatar
South Georgia and South Sandwich Islands
114
Rep
407
Posts

Drives: 2009 BMW 328i, Honda Civic Hat
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Los Angeles

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2009 328i  [0.00]
2019 M4  [0.00]
2019 Honda Civic Ha ...  [0.00]
So this only works on LCI? The ssd replacement? And how often does ur idrive shut off? Mines does it on a really hot day LOL
Appreciate 0
      03-29-2020, 08:06 AM   #26
nsjames
Colonel
1303
Rep
2,979
Posts

Drives: 08 328xi Touring
Join Date: May 2017
Location: ohio

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by snoopyfix2000 View Post
Hey all,

I have a few questions if someone can shed some light. I have a CCC unit that completely died, just a blank black screen no audio, spinning knob, etc. In fact, the unit itself would stay on even when the car was powered off, which forced me to pull the fuse.

I'm now wanting to replace it with an Android 10 unit but I'm worried that it won't work without the CCC working. Is this the case? Would I simply be able to install the Android unit as is (with the CCC not working)?

I suspect that I'll have to do some coding which is fine. I ordered the iCar Pro to do that. Also, with the Android unit will everything work, i.e. TPMS, steering wheel controls, the knob, aux and usb plug in armrest, etc...?

I know this has probably been addressed before but I can't seem to find a direct answer anywhere.

Thanks in advance you guys.
you need a functioning idrive radio in order to use the android screen.

it runs the amp, it runs a shit ton of other things.


Quote:
Originally Posted by 213e90n51 View Post
So this only works on LCI? The ssd replacement? And how often does ur idrive shut off? Mines does it on a really hot day LOL
CCC uses DVDs
CIC uses a HDD.
my idrive never shuts off, yours shouldn't either.
Appreciate 0
      03-29-2020, 06:35 PM   #27
snoopyfix2000
New Member
0
Rep
6
Posts

Drives: 2007 BMW 328xi
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Utah

iTrader: (0)

Thanks for the response. I ended up ordering a newer CCC unit for my wife's 2007 for about $120. It's actually a different unit than the one in my car but I hear they will work with some coding...? I also had to order the trim piece. This radio going out has been a pain. I reached out to Nickco43 to replace it but we never completed the transaction. Oh well. He was super helpful though, so if anyone needs help with theirs than I suggest contacting him.
Appreciate 0
      03-29-2020, 06:44 PM   #28
nsjames
Colonel
1303
Rep
2,979
Posts

Drives: 08 328xi Touring
Join Date: May 2017
Location: ohio

iTrader: (0)

it will need to be coded to the car.
basically inserting the vin and then default coding it to the vehicle order.

search in the coding forum for help.
I've not done it personally so I can't tell you specifics.

another option is remote coding.
you can pay someone to do it on the internet.
Appreciate 0
      03-29-2020, 06:47 PM   #29
Nickco43
Major
Nickco43's Avatar
808
Rep
1,398
Posts

Drives: 11 BMW 535i xDrive
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Philadelphia, PA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by snoopyfix2000 View Post
Thanks for the response. I ended up ordering a newer CCC unit for my wife's 2007 for about $120. It's actually a different unit than the one in my car but I hear they will work with some coding...? I also had to order the trim piece. This radio going out has been a pain. I reached out to Nickco43 to replace it but we never completed the transaction. Oh well. He was super helpful though, so if anyone needs help with theirs than I suggest contacting him.
My dealer shut down so I can't order any parts for kits. If you are going to replace the CCC grab a 03/2007 unit and a new trim piece.
Appreciate 0
      03-29-2020, 07:28 PM   #30
snoopyfix2000
New Member
0
Rep
6
Posts

Drives: 2007 BMW 328xi
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Utah

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nickco43 View Post
My dealer shut down so I can't order any parts for kits. If you are going to replace the CCC grab a 03/2007 unit and a new trim piece.
That's a bummer man. You were a big help! Yeah, I believe the one I got is from 07/2007. Here are some pics.

What I have, obviously.
Name:  user428747_pic69704_1556740438.jpg
Views: 31
Size:  106.4 KB

What I ordered.
Name:  s-l1600 (1).jpg
Views: 31
Size:  334.4 KB

Name:  s-l1600.jpg
Views: 31
Size:  231.4 KB
Appreciate 0
      03-30-2020, 11:56 AM   #31
snoopyfix2000
New Member
0
Rep
6
Posts

Drives: 2007 BMW 328xi
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Utah

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 213e90n51 View Post
So this only works on LCI? The ssd replacement? And how often does ur idrive shut off? Mines does it on a really hot day LOL
Mine is completely dead. It nevers turns on anymore. The CCC unit itself continuously runs and drained my battery before I knew what it was draining it. So I had to pull the fuse. No sound, no picture, free spinning iDrive knob, never shuts off from the unit. Everything I've researched says it a dead unit.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:52 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST