E90Post

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > Tracking, Autocrossing, Dragstrip, Driving Techniques > Traction Control for HPDE

01-16-2018, 07:23 PM   #1
Venger
Enlisted Member
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2011 335xi Msport

Garage List
2011 335xi  [0.00]
Traction Control for HPDE

Hi All,

I am new to the HPDE scene and did 2 runs in the last 6 months with Speed Ventures. First time out was tons of fun and got hooked. The group instructor told us to run with traction control on for safety.

My second run with Speed Ventures had a different group instructor which told the group to run without traction control as it will teach us more about how to 'really drive the car'.

I have been running at the Fontana AAA track and there are parts of the track where you hit 130+ mph. Was wondering if most of the guys in the forum run with traction control on and why or run with traction control off and why. I know traction control can slow you down but is it really making that much of a difference?
2011 N55 E92 335xi |Pure Stage 2 |GFB Diverter |Pure Inlet|MHD|Fuel-It S2 LPFP|VRSF DP|VRSF CP| VRSF 7.5 Race IC|Cobb Exhaust|BMS CAI|BMS OCC |ER Oil Cooler|XHP S3 |Xdelete |KW V3 Coilovers |UUC Front Sway Bar|UUC Front Endlinks|M3 Rear Sway Bar|Hotchkis Rear Endlinks|Vorschlag Camber Plates |18" Apex Arc 8 RE71R 255/35R18 square |Wavetrac LSD
Appreciate 0
      01-17-2018, 08:02 AM   #2
feuer
Major General
United_States
Rep
Drives: wife crazy!

I drive with traction control off due to the interference from the system.
Appreciate 1
justpete1233.00
      01-17-2018, 02:16 PM   #3
bbnks2
Colonel
Rep
Drives: 135i N55

Quote:
Originally Posted by Venger View Post
Hi All,

I am new to the HPDE scene and did 2 runs in the last 6 months with Speed Ventures. First time out was tons of fun and got hooked. The group instructor told us to run with traction control on for safety.