E90Post
 


Extreme Powerhouse
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > NYC (Tristate) area coding base audio HU to flat (HiFi) output



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-04-2021, 09:24 AM   #1
sfinxvc
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
31
Posts

Drives: BMW 328i xdrive
Join Date: Apr 2021
Location: NY

iTrader: (0)

NYC (Tristate) area coding base audio HU to flat (HiFi) output

I tried to have this done through my regular guy and he said he couldn't.

Posted about it here in the electronics subforum and was told...

"In New York you should be able to find a coder with
and Icom cable that can code the Head Unit."

So that makes me think it's possible. My question's a two-parter...

1) Is it possible to code base audio-configured HU to output HiFi? Or is it just plain impossible in some vehicles? Even a professional outfitter I called recently said it can't be done.

2) Is anyone in the NYC/Tristate area willing to do it? I'd need it done in the next few weeks.

Thanks!
Appreciate 0
      07-27-2021, 07:11 PM   #2
eku1s
New Member
United Kingdom
2
Rep
27
Posts

Drives: BMW 325i M Sport 2011 LCI
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: South, UK

iTrader: (0)

I just coded my CIC from base to Hi-Fi after installing the Alpine retrokit kit, although I didn't use an ICOM, I used a standard K+DCAN cable.

I don't see why you shouldn't be able to do it on any E90 really.
Appreciate 0
      07-31-2021, 12:04 PM   #3
ctuna
Lieutenant General
1394
Rep
11,418
Posts

Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

iTrader: (0)

Cars up to 3/07 can code most bus modules with a K/D can cable .
After the popular knowledge is you need Icom .

https://www.bimmerforums.com/forum/s...-P-actually-do

Cable stuff describe in above link.
Appreciate 0
      07-31-2021, 02:33 PM   #4
Hotter
Second Lieutenant
Hotter's Avatar
26
Rep
274
Posts

Drives: BMW E92 328i
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Lithuania

iTrader: (0)

You dont need Icom. You need K+DCAN cable with updated firmware.
Either buy updated cable (like I did)
https://www.bimmerlabs.com/store
or you can update regular ebay K+DCAN cable firmware yourself (I would have chosen this option but did not know about it at that time)
http://blog.obdii365.com/2021/07/09/...nced-firmware/
Appreciate 0
      08-04-2021, 06:35 AM   #5
mike5124
Private
mike5124's Avatar
United_States
14
Rep
81
Posts

Drives: 2006 BMW 325i (E90)
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Greater New York Area

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2006 BMW 325i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by sfinxvc View Post
I tried to have this done through my regular guy and he said he couldn't.

Posted about it here in the electronics subforum and was told...

"In New York you should be able to find a coder with
and Icom cable that can code the Head Unit."

So that makes me think it's possible. My question's a two-parter...

1) Is it possible to code base audio-configured HU to output HiFi? Or is it just plain impossible in some vehicles? Even a professional outfitter I called recently said it can't be done.

2) Is anyone in the NYC/Tristate area willing to do it? I'd need it done in the next few weeks.

Thanks!
Should be just a VO change for your head unit. Can be done with a regular K+DCAN cable and NCS Expert, you don't need ICOM unless you're updating the unit itself. I assume you are retrofitting hifi?
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:48 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST