E90Post

Studio RSR

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N57 / M57 Turbo Diesel Discussions - 335d > new to the forum with a 335d that knocks

02-09-2020, 12:03 PM   #1
tshandonay
Enlisted Member
Rep
Drives: 2011 335D

new to the forum with a 335d that knocks

Hello, I'd like to introduce myself as a new forum member with a recent purchase of a 2011 335d. You will all think I'm crazy...but I bought this car from auction without any inspection.....the price was right. (Copart out of Detroit)

I'm also the owner of a 2001 330xi and have owned a couple of e30's in the past. I'm not a great mechanic but comfortable with wrenching on my own stuff. I've really enjoyed reading the forum and learning. But difference from my e46...its so much simpler than this machine.

I had the car shipped to me and immediately saw it needed tires...the ones on it are done, the battery was done and the windshield is cracked. No biggie...only $ to fix. The more concerning thing was the presence of an engine knock. From idle right up to higher rpm. Pulled all the covers off to get access and ultimately found with a rubber hose in my ear that the noise was most obvious directly underneath the harmonic balancer at the front of the motor.

1. I pulled the belts off - knock still there
2. pulled the harmonic balancer off and the knock is gone (its not the original)
3. put it back on and it seems there is some wobble...but visually its in really good condition.
4. The passenger motor mount looks to be collapsed when comparing to the drivers side. I can move the motor by hand with not a lot of effort.
5. I am going to get an oil analysis done before I do much else to maybe get an idea what I'm working with

Any thoughts on this scenario or any further troubleshooting steps anyone might suggest? Will probably wait to get the oil analysis back before investing in any replacement parts. (and upgrades/deletes)

Here are two videos