E90Post

Studio RSR

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > All-Wheel-Drive (Xi / xDrive) Talk > Handbrake(Turn) and xDrive logic

12-05-2022, 07:12 PM   #1
k90
Private First Class
Rep
Drives: -06 330xi 6MT

Handbrake(Turn) and xDrive logic

Hello xDrive pros!

I'm new to this particular flavour of AWD. It goes like stink on snow and ice - Legit!
Altough it's a bit mysterious as it's based on countless routines performed by microprocessor(s).

It appears that xDrive stays fully engaged through attempted manouvering using handbrake.

Tried to align the car to garage door by habit by locking rears, but instead I felt fronts digging into snow and the car just stopped right at the spot!
- Nannys off
- Clutch pressed - 1st gear

In mechanical AWD systems there is some resistance and vibrations in center diff when locking rears but not like this.

Can you confirm xDrive stays engaged when there is no drive to wheels?

Also drum brakes didn't release after that heavy braking by driving forward but I needed to reverse a bit and drum brakes popped open. Is there any fix for this issue? I just did first handbrake adjustment for this car as the thread became visible 3-4mm inside drums. Do I need new pads?

And if there is options to make xDrive to disengage momentarily in example when:
ignition on &
nannys off &
speed is below certain threshold &
no drive to the wheels &
throttle pedal 0% &
handbrake is used
or some combination of those?

Misc questions!

What happens when ignition is switched off? Does xdrive actuator release the multiplate, leave it where it was or bind it to 100%?

Can xDrive be towed 1 axle on road? Which axle? Ignition on/off? Any special buttons or tricks? Just only flatbed? If you had to?
It will burn multiplate to crisp?

Is there rotation speed requirement for front shaft or rear shaft in order to lubricate and cool all the bearings, gears and plates inside transfer case? Does it work in reverse direction too?