E90Post
 


 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > DIY Guides > DIY: Change your gauge cluster light colors!



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      11-14-2014, 01:05 AM   #45
uyedfg6
Enlisted Member
3
Rep
33
Posts

Drives: 3-Series
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: TN

iTrader: (0)

Looks nice, but I would prefer a white that's a bit less bright.
Appreciate 0
      11-14-2014, 06:40 PM   #46
e90TiAg335i
Major
e90TiAg335i's Avatar
United_States
124
Rep
1,151
Posts

Drives: 10 e90 335i
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: jacksonville, FL

iTrader: (10)

Garage List
2010 e90 335i  [7.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by gryx9 View Post
Looks nice, but I would prefer a white that's a bit less bright.
Then just install lower candle power LEDs.
__________________

JB4, DP, VMR V710, Sonic Tuning S1 coilovers, Hybrid Ovations, Soundsplinter 10" and Zapco DC Ref amps
Appreciate 0
      12-07-2014, 05:41 AM   #47
JamesT335I
Second Lieutenant
United_States
26
Rep
277
Posts

Drives: M3 2009 E92
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: San Antonio / Killeen

iTrader: (1)

Looks great
Appreciate 0
      12-16-2014, 08:09 PM   #48
revolution337
Private
3
Rep
58
Posts

Drives: E90 335i
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: PA

iTrader: (0)

Sweet, good write up !
Appreciate 0
      12-18-2014, 03:51 PM   #49
grzes
Captain
Canada
33
Rep
655
Posts

Drives: 2009 bmw 335d LCI
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Alberta

iTrader: (2)

Nice work man, I would be scared to make a mistake and all the comments about red/orange being best for the night driving, hmm maybe but that is why we have dimmer installed so we can dim the light if it is to bright, my MDX had white cluster lights and I never did have any problems driving at night and checking my odometer. Good DIY and thank you for sharing
Appreciate 0
      10-14-2015, 10:44 PM   #50
datbimmer
Wastegate Rattle
Canada
113
Rep
897
Posts

Drives: 335i m6t nav sport
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Canada

iTrader: (0)

Finally did this. I have an issue. After putting in the gauges, I unplug the cluster to finish the assembly and as soon as I plug the cable back in, the lower gauges move out of alignment.



Any ideas how to fix this ?
__________________

2007 335i E92 Sport, CIC, 6MT, DOCRACE6266 Spacegray/Black
2009 335i xDrive Black/Black Nav AT Individual
Gf: 2011 335i Xdrive Mpack,Nav AT Alpine/SaddleBrown
Appreciate 0
      05-30-2016, 03:16 AM   #51
Larrye90
Second Lieutenant
Larrye90's Avatar
50
Rep
276
Posts

Drives: 2010bmwe90
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Hollywood

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by datbimmer
Finally did this. I have an issue. After putting in the gauges, I unplug the cluster to finish the assembly and as soon as I plug the cable back in, the lower gauges move out of alignment.



Any ideas how to fix this ?
I want to do the same. But in scared of that happening. Does anyone have an answer to this
Appreciate 0
      06-02-2016, 12:23 PM   #52
Black widow
Banned
Black widow's Avatar
30
Rep
234
Posts

Drives: E90 | F30
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Canada

iTrader: (1)

How do you add the yellow redline to my OEM?


Appreciate 0
      06-02-2016, 10:29 PM   #53
wshgrntd
First Lieutenant
wshgrntd's Avatar
9
Rep
332
Posts

Drives: E90 335i
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Baltimore

iTrader: (0)

I have a stock pristine 335i speedometer if anyone if anyone is interested.
Appreciate 0
      07-13-2016, 08:36 PM   #54
J. Dub
Bob Saget
J. Dub's Avatar
United_States
354
Rep
2,230
Posts

Drives: 2010 335i e92 N54 A/T
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: AR - 501

iTrader: (15)

Anyone know how to recalibrate the needles on the gauges? No matter what, mine are out of sync
Appreciate 0
      01-19-2017, 02:02 PM   #55
RocketSurgeon
Lieutenant
264
Rep
459
Posts

Drives: 2008 135i Manual, CBR650F
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: NC

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by J. Dub View Post
Anyone know how to recalibrate the needles on the gauges? No matter what, mine are out of sync
Hey, I know I'm reviving an old thread, but I wanted to post a solution to this. Using Rheingold, you can command the instrument cluster to set the speedometer to 62mph, set the tach to 1500rpm, etc. Basically plug in the instrument cluster without needles on it, and use Rheingold/ISTA-D to command the needle to a specific position, and install the needle at that position. I believe INPA can do this too. There are reference positions for all four needles in the software.
Appreciate 0
      03-27-2017, 01:38 AM   #56
6ixSpd
Save the manuals!
6ixSpd's Avatar
5983
Rep
6,689
Posts

Drives: '23 718 Spyder
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: 416

iTrader: (4)

Thanks to this tutorial I tried my hand at soldering for the first time in my life today, on my 328's cluster! I;m glad to say I didn't ruin it and successful installed white LEDs for the speedometer, tachometer, fuel level and fuel economy gauges. I'm waiting for the Bimmian red needles to arrive as I'm not happy with how the sharpie'd ones look at night.

I also switched my DTC light to white considering it's the most important notification in the cluster

Cheers!



__________________
''16 M3 | '23 718 Spyder


Appreciate 1
feuer4272.50
      03-27-2017, 07:35 PM   #57
ProAktion
Private First Class
7
Rep
130
Posts

Drives: 2016 750i
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: WI

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2008 BMW / 335i  [0.00]
These look great! Gonna have to try this as well.

Last edited by ProAktion; 03-27-2017 at 11:26 PM..
Appreciate 0
      03-28-2017, 01:24 AM   #58
Blueeyesredpanda
Major
Blueeyesredpanda's Avatar
Canada
400
Rep
1,425
Posts

Drives: E90 / F30
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Canada

iTrader: (-2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 6ixSpd View Post
Thanks to this tutorial I tried my hand at soldering for the first time in my life today, on my 328's cluster! I;m glad to say I didn't ruin it and successful installed white LEDs for the speedometer, tachometer, fuel level and fuel economy gauges. I'm waiting for the Bimmian red needles to arrive as I'm not happy with how the sharpie'd ones look at night.

I also switched my DTC light to white considering it's the most important notification in the cluster

Cheers!



More pics!
__________________
3IM . Okada Plasma Direct . Euro Ram Intake . AA header (Pending) . PE . 2nd Cat Delete . F30 340mm 6 pot . EBC Yellow Stuff . StopTech SS Brake Line . BMW Performance CF Strut Bar. 219M . PSS
Appreciate 0
      03-28-2017, 06:26 AM   #59
mfractal
VAG Survivor
mfractal's Avatar
40
Rep
150
Posts

Drives: E90 335i
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: BR

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by RocketSurgeon View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by J. Dub View Post
Anyone know how to recalibrate the needles on the gauges? No matter what, mine are out of sync
Hey, I know I'm reviving an old thread, but I wanted to post a solution to this. Using Rheingold, you can command the instrument cluster to set the speedometer to 62mph, set the tach to 1500rpm, etc. Basically plug in the instrument cluster without needles on it, and use Rheingold/ISTA-D to command the needle to a specific position, and install the needle at that position. I believe INPA can do this too. There are reference positions for all four needles in the software.
Any info on how exactly it's done? I got everything ready to go but the story with the needles alignment is worrying me.
__________________
F10 535i LCI, Hybrid Turbo, Custom Inlet, Spool FX-150 Pump HPFP, TI Automotive LPFP, DV+, Phoenix IC, FTP CP, High Flow Cat, M5 Mufflers, Custom Tuned By David Shoup.
Appreciate 0
      03-28-2017, 11:40 AM   #60
6ixSpd
Save the manuals!
6ixSpd's Avatar
5983
Rep
6,689
Posts

Drives: '23 718 Spyder
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: 416

iTrader: (4)

It's under INPA jobs for the Instrument Cluster>Activate>Activate 1 or Activate 2
From there you can select which needle to activate the test procedure and input the value. The needle's motor will then swing to that position, and you put the needle on pointing to the value you inputted for the test. Very easy.

Worst case, just take a photo of your needle positions when off before you take everything apart. Don't touch the motors for the needles and install them back as per the photo.
__________________
''16 M3 | '23 718 Spyder


Appreciate 1
      03-28-2017, 11:55 AM   #61
jellish
Lieutenant
United_States
102
Rep
420
Posts

Drives: 2013 X6M
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Austin, TX

iTrader: (3)

Sorry I haven't been around to answer questions, but excellent work guys!
__________________
Lots.
Appreciate 0
      05-10-2017, 11:30 PM   #62
ProAktion
Private First Class
7
Rep
130
Posts

Drives: 2016 750i
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: WI

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2008 BMW / 335i  [0.00]
Gonna try this also. Can someone please provide the latest link for the LEDs?
Appreciate 0
      05-23-2017, 11:19 AM   #63
NoGuru
Major
NoGuru's Avatar
771
Rep
1,417
Posts

Drives: 335is
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: MI

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2021 Chevy Silverad ...  [0.00]
2002 Jeep Cherokee  [0.00]
2014 CTS  [0.00]
2011 335is  [0.00]
Very cool mod, I might do this as I am very good with a solder Iron.
__________________
2011 335is DCT BQ Tuning / BMS CAI / VRSF kittyless DP's / Synapse BOV and charge pipe / 7" VRSF Race FMIC / Walbro 535 and 450 on BMP4 / E90 tune / Diff Brace / PR Coils / Relocation Inlets / DAW Stage3+ Turbos / MMP port injection / xHP Stage 3 / FPR and -6 fuel lines
Appreciate 0
      06-07-2017, 10:56 PM   #64
RoarinForeign
Private First Class
United_States
34
Rep
119
Posts

Drives: 2011 e92 335i xdrive
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Western MA

iTrader: (0)

This looks so sick, I wish I didn't see it. Now I'm dying to try it myself
Appreciate 0
      06-22-2017, 04:29 AM   #65
VolC4n
New Member
0
Rep
7
Posts

Drives: 135i
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: South Africa

iTrader: (0)

Hey guys, did anyone find a stock number or size for the LED's in the radio? I just wanna make sure I can get them before attempting this project. Also does anyone feel like posting a diy for changing the radio lighting?
Appreciate 0
      07-30-2017, 01:18 PM   #66
DJMOJO
Private
DJMOJO's Avatar
United_States
6
Rep
55
Posts

Drives: 2011 N55 E90
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Tucson, Arizona

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2016 BMW X5 40e  [0.00]
2010 BMW 335i  [0.00]
Are the LEDs the same for the above LCD? Do i need to buy 36 instead of 30? Thanks guys!
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:25 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST