E90Post
 


TNT Racewerks
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > DIY Guides > DIY: Replacing DSC Hydro Unit E90, E92



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-29-2015, 04:57 PM   #45
Ph0zenstone
Major General
Ph0zenstone's Avatar
322
Rep
5,370
Posts

Drives: 2018 530e X-Drive
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NY

iTrader: (74)

if anyone needs a good working unit i have one for sale: http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1082308
Appreciate 0
      01-30-2015, 02:30 PM   #46
JStang
Brigadier General
JStang's Avatar
559
Rep
3,625
Posts

Drives: FDB M3 CS
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: St. Petersburg, FL

iTrader: (9)

I received my ABS / DSC unit from Module Masters yesterday. After install and brake bleeding, I got in the car and took it for a test drive and the electrical system was going crazy. My windshield wipers were on, speedometer wasn't working, tons of lights on the dash etc.

I thought that one of the benefits of sending to Module Master was that it wouldn't need coded? I ended up taking it to my indy this morning and just got a call that they reprogrammed the unit and everything seems fine now.

Has anyone else had to reprogram after getting it back from Module Master?
Appreciate 0
      01-30-2015, 03:58 PM   #47
allotherareused
Private
13
Rep
87
Posts

Drives: 320d, f30
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Santiago

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JStang View Post
Has anyone else had to reprogram after getting it back from Module Master?
I don't know anything about Module Master but you need to do some coding after replacement. That for I've recommended to keep original electronic part, in this case you don't need to do it.
Appreciate 0
      02-04-2015, 12:57 AM   #48
oyawaleolutayo
Registered
0
Rep
2
Posts

Drives: BMW 325i 2007
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Nigeria

iTrader: (0)

DIY: Replacing DSC Hydro Unit E90

I'm having the same problem as you had in Your DIY for the dsc hydro pump for my 2006 325i e90... You said you ordered it from "tischer"... Everywhere i have checked for this part is quite costly. Do you have a link to where I could get it from since you got a good deal?
Appreciate 0
      02-15-2015, 01:16 AM   #49
Likwid
Private
3
Rep
73
Posts

Drives: 2007 M5
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Nashville, TN

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JStang View Post
I went the Module Master route for my wife's 2007 328i. FedEx will be delivering the part today and I am going to work on it tonight.

As far as the bleeding process is concerned can anyone walk me through exactly what I need to do? I know how to bleed brakes but is cycling the pump necessary since I am just getting a repair and no coding is needed?
Did you have any problems with your Module Master repaired ABS pump? I should get mine back in a few days.
Appreciate 0
      02-16-2015, 01:40 PM   #50
JStang
Brigadier General
JStang's Avatar
559
Rep
3,625
Posts

Drives: FDB M3 CS
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: St. Petersburg, FL

iTrader: (9)

No problems other than it needed to be recoded.
Appreciate 0
      02-26-2015, 12:04 AM   #51
BoostAddict
Banned
United_States
48
Rep
932
Posts

Drives: SGM 335i
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Boynton Beach, FL

iTrader: (4)

I've just contacted module master to get a quote. Just curious what you guys paid, and what components had to be fixed.
Appreciate 0
      05-07-2015, 07:21 AM   #52
ali_longden
Registered
0
Rep
2
Posts

Drives: E90 20d
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Lincolnshire

iTrader: (0)

Just thought I'd jump on here and share my experience.

I got the handbrake (amber) and dsc (amber) lights on the dash of my e90 320d 177bhp. The dash showed CC-ID 24 & CC-ID 35. Had a mate check the fault code on a Bluetooth obd reader and it showed as;

Pressure Sensor 1 Faulty - 005E20

So after searching the net I finally bit the bullet and bought the hydro pump repair kit part number B.34.51.6.797.896 for 194.56 from soper in Lincoln. I also bought a couple of litres of DOT 4 and a pressure bleeder - the type you hook to a spare wheel for pressure.

Long story short - Did the job with my old man easily enough. No coding, no machine abs priming, no fault code reset, no computers, no hassle. Removing the entire unit with all of the brake hoses in the way was very tricky, especially when you're trying to protect the pins where the loom clips in. Other than that it was easy, ran about a litre of fluid through, reconnected the battery and hey presto - all ok. Warning lights all gone!

Brakes feel perfect - exactly as they did before and now my cruis, abs, traction etc etc works fine!

So my advice is do it yourself - its easy enough!

Cheers!
Appreciate 0
      05-11-2015, 01:30 AM   #53
clubs07
New Member
0
Rep
14
Posts

Drives: 2008 BMW 328i
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Miami

iTrader: (0)

mind sharing or messaging the quote you got? did you have it fixed? thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by *********** View Post
I've just contacted module master to get a quote. Just curious what you guys paid, and what components had to be fixed
Appreciate 0
      05-13-2015, 11:19 AM   #54
tksvo0308
Registered
0
Rep
1
Posts

Drives: 2008 BMW 328i Coupe
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Fort Worth, TX

iTrader: (0)

This is so unrelated to the DYI thread but I am dying to know the answer so I had to ask. Does anyone have any idea what this wire that i'm finding unconnected near the DSC Hydro Unit? This is from a 2008 328i Coupe.

Thanks a bunch!
Attached Images
  
Appreciate 0
      05-13-2015, 11:26 AM   #55
3Coupe4Me
Private First Class
3Coupe4Me's Avatar
81
Rep
177
Posts

Drives: 2007 328i Coupe
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: S.FL

iTrader: (1)

Just by a quick glance it looks like one of the sensors that's attached to the panel in front of the Hydro unit.
Appreciate 0
      06-04-2015, 05:02 PM   #56
Kotoma
New Member
0
Rep
7
Posts

Drives: BMW 320i series touring E91
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Sweden

iTrader: (0)

34516797896

Thanks for this great DIY!!

Does the 34516797896 repare kit fit it in my...
320I TOURING E91 2007?

HYDRO UNIT PUMP ABS DSC MODULE REPAIR KIT
Appreciate 0
      06-05-2015, 07:24 AM   #57
Emeye
Private First Class
5
Rep
190
Posts

Drives: E92 325i SE
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Manchester, UK

iTrader: (0)

My car is currently at my friend's garage waiting for the unit to come back from ecutesting here in the UK. They quote 5 -7 days turnaround so I had to wait until I went on holiday to get it done!

It's along time to have your car off the road! It is a shame they don't do an exchange service, but then there would be the issue of coding the exchange unit to the car.
Appreciate 0
      07-07-2015, 01:34 PM   #58
justpassinthru
Registered
0
Rep
1
Posts

Drives: 2008 Z4 3.0si Coupe
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: 3rd Rock from the Sun

iTrader: (0)

Thanks so much for your DIY post. Saved me time and $$. My 2008 Z4 3.0si coupe (e86), with 32K mi, recently posted 5DF0/5DF1 codes. I pulled the unit, sent to Module Masters for the rebuild, and all is well.
Appreciate 0
      08-05-2015, 03:56 PM   #59
skyliner
Private First Class
12
Rep
165
Posts

Drives: E93
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Philadelphia

iTrader: (4)

DSC pump rebuild

Thanks to the information in this thread and elsewhere on the Board, I was able to pull my DSC pump, send it to Module Master for rebuild ($250 plus shipping) and replace it. I added some BMW brake fluid to replace what was lost during the removal (not much) so that I could safely drive it to my (new) indy mechanic for a brake fluid flush. Net was that I saved more than $2800 over the cost of having my long-time indy replace it with a new unit (which is what he wanted to do; wanted no part of the re-build).

If you have patience, a reasonable level of skill and can be without your car for the time it takes to ship the pump to and from Idaho and get it repaired, this is absolutely worth doing yourself.

BTW, I disconnected my battery before staring the repair and I also get a little extra help form a Bentley Manual (not essential).
Appreciate 0
      08-19-2015, 05:40 PM   #60
Starscream
Colonel
Starscream's Avatar
United Kingdom
135
Rep
2,120
Posts

Drives: ///M Roadster + E92 335i 6MT
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Park Ridge NJ + Windermere FL

iTrader: (23)

Ugh mine has started to fail too,

From the BT cable I pulled codes D356, D355 D354 5DF0 5DF1,

From reading this thread it seems most likley the DSC pump?
I also can't send my module out to be fixed as I need my car everyday, Buying a working used pump and keeping my module would be a workable somlution?


I do have a coding cable and have coded things before like corner amber delete etc,
Is the ability for home coding for these available or is dealer only?
__________________

Imola Red Roadster
Appreciate 0
      08-19-2015, 05:41 PM   #61
Starscream
Colonel
Starscream's Avatar
United Kingdom
135
Rep
2,120
Posts

Drives: ///M Roadster + E92 335i 6MT
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Park Ridge NJ + Windermere FL

iTrader: (23)

Also with a BT cable you can (when everything is working) cycle the DSC/ABS pump for proper brake bleeding right?
__________________

Imola Red Roadster
Appreciate 0
      09-10-2015, 07:36 PM   #62
freak1
Private First Class
8
Rep
104
Posts

Drives: 2012 528i Sports Package
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: United States

iTrader: (0)

I have been getting this error on my '06 330i E90 since a while now. I have Carley app and wifi obd scanner. Everytime I scan the car the following two error pops up. Even after I delete it comes right back. Btw, I have no lights on dashbord. Cruise works on and off. The codes are:

005DCC- Pressure sensor is defective right
005DBC- Pressure sensor is defective left rear

I also followed $0.02 steering angle fix and resoldered the board and cleaned the disk, still looks like no luck.

Any help is greatly appreciated.
Thank you all in advance
Appreciate 0
      11-17-2015, 07:00 PM   #63
corredor
Registered
corredor's Avatar
Mexico
0
Rep
1
Posts

Drives: 325i E90
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Queretaro

iTrader: (0)

Excellent guide !!!
Appreciate 0
      11-23-2015, 07:29 PM   #64
greg328
Private First Class
United_States
8
Rep
109
Posts

Drives: 2011 X5 MSport
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Austin, TX, USA

iTrader: (0)

wow...

The part now costs $2200. Wowza....


Quote:
Originally Posted by 3Coupe4Me View Post
Here is the direct link for the part. http://parts.bmwofsouthatlanta.com/p...506777164.html

I have the electrical unit alone for sale if you need.
Appreciate 0
      11-24-2015, 02:47 PM   #65
allotherareused
Private
13
Rep
87
Posts

Drives: 320d, f30
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Santiago

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by greg328 View Post
The part now costs $2200. Wowza....
You can find on ebay (mostly from Germany sellers) serviced DSC for 5-10x lower price.

Many different DSC match same car, you can take any compatible and put in your car (of course, need to do bleeding procedure, recode, save vin to it in order to clear all errors ...). Question is : why you are changing this ? Electronic part have problem or hydraulic ?
Appreciate 0
      11-24-2015, 03:43 PM   #66
greg328
Private First Class
United_States
8
Rep
109
Posts

Drives: 2011 X5 MSport
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Austin, TX, USA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by allotherareused View Post
You can find on ebay (mostly from Germany sellers) serviced DSC for 5-10x lower price.

Many different DSC match same car, you can take any compatible and put in your car (of course, need to do bleeding procedure, recode, save vin to it in order to clear all errors ...). Question is : why you are changing this ? Electronic part have problem or hydraulic ?
My issue is this: no dash warning lights upon starting up. But, if I lock the brakes with great pedal force, the front brakes stay locked, car dives to a stop and cannot be moved. A "DSC malfunction" warning appears onscreen warning on the NAV display. The only solution is to shut down the car and wait about 10 minutes for the brakes to release and then all is back to normal.

Of course, this can be very dangerous as this can put me in harms way with no way to move the car. Thankfully, the 3-4 times this has happened to me, I've been able to dive for the shoulder or side of street to be out of way of traffic.

Because I have no dash warning lights, only the NAV DSC malfunction screen when the problem is present, this problem is difficult to trace. Also, I have a code reader that is having a hard time pulling any error codes. (shows no connection) Maybe I'll run down to the auto parts store and have them try.

Could my problem be the aforementioned mentioned issue of ABS pump motor malfunction? Seems like this may cause my issue--it only appears when I lock the brakes. Maybe the pump can't cycle normally so it leaves my front brakes locked. With time, pressure releases, allowing the car to be driven as normal.

I hesitate to remove my DSC/ABS pump/module assembly to send to Module Masters, because this is my only car and I need my wheels every day! Plus, I can't be sure that's the problem! What if the issue is with the front ABS sensors on each wheel? Or one wheel?

Greg
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:26 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST