E90Post
 


GetBMWParts
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > ConnectedDrive / I-Drive / Navigation Related Discussion > E Series NBT Evo Retrofit Development Thread



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-07-2019, 01:37 PM   #67
Gray335i
Private First Class
21
Rep
109
Posts

Drives: 2008 335
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Rochester Hills, Michigan

iTrader: (0)

i should be getting "no signal" from the screen regardless.
I might have to take it apart .
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      01-07-2019, 01:39 PM   #68
vilord
Major
275
Rep
1,054
Posts

Drives: Too many
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: boston

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Turns out that my nbt retrofit adapter won't work on the bench at all, only in the car where it can read out a VIN, and it will only work for the 1st VIN it sees. Good thing I tested it in the car I'm keeping it to (though Adrian will unlock it for me to move to another car if I need to)
Appreciate 0
      01-07-2019, 01:40 PM   #69
vilord
Major
275
Rep
1,054
Posts

Drives: Too many
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: boston

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
I've seen stuff online to suggest that some screens just stay black instead of saying no signal, depending what they're getting... though i have nothing to compare to, and no test cables. i have a CIC 8.8 (slightly damaged) to play with also, but i'd need to build a voltage converter for that
Appreciate 0
      01-07-2019, 03:39 PM   #70
Nickco43
Major
Nickco43's Avatar
773
Rep
1,365
Posts

Drives: 06 BMW 330i
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Philadelphia, PA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2006 BMW 330i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gray335i View Post
my 6.6 screen is here from 2014 320.
looks like is dead. good old ebay.
vilord, as you can see in picture, my nbt evo is staying awake then whole time when is send thoise messages.
You should make and sell those NBT bench testers.
Appreciate 0
      01-07-2019, 03:42 PM   #71
vilord
Major
275
Rep
1,054
Posts

Drives: Too many
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: boston

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Gray335i will the NBT and evo work with a non-next/evo screen? i thought they used a different display protocol, which is why everyone was taking apart the CID frame and installing a next display in it...
Appreciate 0
      01-07-2019, 03:59 PM   #72
Nickco43
Major
Nickco43's Avatar
773
Rep
1,365
Posts

Drives: 06 BMW 330i
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Philadelphia, PA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2006 BMW 330i  [0.00]
Gray335i

https://www.ebay.com/itm/Info-GPS-TV...WTT:rk:47:pf:0
Appreciate 0
      01-07-2019, 04:49 PM   #73
Gray335i
Private First Class
21
Rep
109
Posts

Drives: 2008 335
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Rochester Hills, Michigan

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nickco43 View Post
Thanx Nick. You guys are way far ahead since both of you have pretty much all components needed for complete this retrofit.
I dont have emulator, still dont know if i can recover HD that i pulled out of evo, dont have idrive controller or proper apix2 screen. iu do like this idea and will help as much as possible. i am also working on adding a analg video input to my current cic so i can display maybe some obd messages to my screen or maybe torque app. In next couple of days (when i get rid of this cold) i need to hook up my ecs vent boost gage , at the same time i will play with these analog inputs on my cic. already received hdmi to composite adapter.
Appreciate 0
      01-07-2019, 04:55 PM   #74
Gray335i
Private First Class
21
Rep
109
Posts

Drives: 2008 335
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Rochester Hills, Michigan

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nickco43 View Post
You should make and sell those NBT bench testers.
They can be made for less then $15 . that arduino nano, plus ta1055 board and enclosure. i recently converted my 335 cluster to m3 cluster where i had to change some led's . this tester help me verity my work on the bench without installing it i the car. KOMBi will not wake without canbus messages.

Last edited by Gray335i; 01-07-2019 at 05:20 PM..
Appreciate 0
      01-07-2019, 04:59 PM   #75
Nickco43
Major
Nickco43's Avatar
773
Rep
1,365
Posts

Drives: 06 BMW 330i
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Philadelphia, PA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2006 BMW 330i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gray335i View Post
Thanx Nick. You guys are way far ahead since both of you have pretty much all components needed for complete this retrofit.
I dont have emulator, still dont know if i can recover HD that i pulled out of evo, dont have idrive controller or proper apix2 screen. iu do like this idea and will help as much as possible. i am also working on adding a analg video input to my current cic so i can display maybe some obd messages to my screen or maybe torque app. In next couple of days (when i get rid of this cold) i need to hook up my ecs vent boost gage , at the same time i will play with these analog inputs on my cic. already received hdmi to composite adapter.
My retrofit is put on hold due to financial restraints. I still need about $200 more worth of parts. I need to sell more CIC kits. I have three of them sitting on my shelf.
Appreciate 0
      01-07-2019, 05:07 PM   #76
Gray335i
Private First Class
21
Rep
109
Posts

Drives: 2008 335
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Rochester Hills, Michigan

iTrader: (0)

what are you missing to complete?
Appreciate 0
      01-07-2019, 05:10 PM   #77
Nickco43
Major
Nickco43's Avatar
773
Rep
1,365
Posts

Drives: 06 BMW 330i
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Philadelphia, PA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2006 BMW 330i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gray335i View Post
what are you missing to complete?
$140 of wires from the dealer, voltage regulator, amp fan, antenna amplifier and a FSC pack for apple car play. If I can get everything ready for MLK day that would be great.

I got the car systems dealer down to $390 euros for the eNBT emulators.

Last edited by Nickco43; 01-07-2019 at 05:20 PM..
Appreciate 0
      01-07-2019, 07:37 PM   #78
vilord
Major
275
Rep
1,054
Posts

Drives: Too many
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: boston

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
I'm missing a bunch of wires too, and also a functional ATM (don't think I can get the VIN from this one), and I think both of my screens are dead... Need to try to return the ATM and one of the screens.
I'm also out of time and money for the project for now... Gotta catch back up at work, and need to install all the brake and suspension parts that come this week so I can get my 07 back on the road and the '10 sold.
Appreciate 0
      01-07-2019, 07:51 PM   #79
Nickco43
Major
Nickco43's Avatar
773
Rep
1,365
Posts

Drives: 06 BMW 330i
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Philadelphia, PA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2006 BMW 330i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by vilord View Post
I'm missing a bunch of wires too, and also a functional ATM (don't think I can get the VIN from this one), and I think both of my screens are dead... Need to try to return the ATM and one of the screens.
I'm also out of time and money for the project for now... Gotta catch back up at work, and need to install all the brake and suspension parts that come this week so I can get my 07 back on the road and the '10 sold.
At the end of this I see myself making real PNP NBT Evo kits. I feel like all of the other kits are a bunch of mickey mouse kits that do not include the logic 7 amp, fm amp and everything you really need for this retrofit. But the NBT evo is a lot of work.
Appreciate 0
      01-08-2019, 11:50 AM   #80
vilord
Major
275
Rep
1,054
Posts

Drives: Too many
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: boston

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Got my official BMW video cable today. It fit perfectly for running from the evo to my 8.8 screen, which did not turn on at all, same thing it did when i plugged it into the loaner car.
Definitely think this screen is toast.

It did not fit with my X5 10.25 screen because the connector on the screen is facing the wrong way and the cable ends up going forwards and hitting the screen.

I noticed that the +12v and GND are *swapped* by the cable from one end to the other, and used that info to try pumping raw +12v into both screens. The 8.8 still did nothing.
The 10.25 *turned on and says NO SIGNAL!!!* Woot! $150 10.25 screen for the win.

I reversed the video cable so the HU end is at the screen and the screen end is at the HU, so it will plug in. Nothing comes up on the screen at all when I do that. This is probably because of the wrong resolution setting on the HU. I'll load up e-sys tonight so i can recode the resolution.

Hopefully the video part of the cable is not oriented incorrectly now that i'm using the cable backwards... i can't figure out how to disassemble the fakra ends otherwise

Last edited by vilord; 01-08-2019 at 12:14 PM..
Appreciate 0
      01-08-2019, 12:55 PM   #81
vilord
Major
275
Rep
1,054
Posts

Drives: Too many
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: boston

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Gray335i Maybe my usb-can device is junk...

i connected directly to the CAN on the radio, powered up the radio, and sent
37 7C 8A DD D4 05 33 06 with ID 12F every 100ms at 500kbps.
The radio still powers itself down.
Appreciate 0
      01-08-2019, 12:59 PM   #82
Nickco43
Major
Nickco43's Avatar
773
Rep
1,365
Posts

Drives: 06 BMW 330i
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Philadelphia, PA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2006 BMW 330i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by vilord View Post
Got my official BMW video cable today. It fit perfectly for running from the evo to my 8.8 screen, which did not turn on at all, same thing it did when i plugged it into the loaner car.
Definitely think this screen is toast.

It did not fit with my X5 10.25 screen because the connector on the screen is facing the wrong way and the cable ends up going forwards and hitting the screen.

I noticed that the +12v and GND are *swapped* by the cable from one end to the other, and used that info to try pumping raw +12v into both screens. The 8.8 still did nothing.
The 10.25 *turned on and says NO SIGNAL!!!* Woot! $150 10.25 screen for the win.

I reversed the video cable so the HU end is at the screen and the screen end is at the HU, so it will plug in. Nothing comes up on the screen at all when I do that. This is probably because of the wrong resolution setting on the HU. I'll load up e-sys tonight so i can recode the resolution.

Hopefully the video part of the cable is not oriented incorrectly now that i'm using the cable backwards... i can't figure out how to disassemble the fakra ends otherwise
I hope this cable is not clocked wrong.
Appreciate 0
      01-08-2019, 01:25 PM   #83
vilord
Major
275
Rep
1,054
Posts

Drives: Too many
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: boston

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nickco43 View Post
I hope this cable is not clocked wrong.
It is probably just fine for most displays.
My display has the video input on the bottom instead of the back (2018 X3 G01), so the right-angle connector doesn't work.
Appreciate 0
      01-08-2019, 02:23 PM   #84
Gray335i
Private First Class
21
Rep
109
Posts

Drives: 2008 335
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Rochester Hills, Michigan

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by vilord View Post
Gray335i Maybe my usb-can device is junk...

i connected directly to the CAN on the radio, powered up the radio, and sent
37 7C 8A DD D4 05 33 06 with ID 12F every 100ms at 500kbps.
The radio still powers itself down.

add this message as well:
ID= 0x130 length5 = 45 40 22 8F FE
this basically tell the unit power is on, car is running , clutch depressed,
This one keep my evo powered on the whole time. If I unplug my shield from evo, evo will stop and wait for signal to awake again. Once I plug in my shield again I can see evo awake and it keeps it awake until I unplug my shield again. You are probably using one of those analyzers which is should do the same thing.
Appreciate 0
      01-08-2019, 02:27 PM   #85
Gray335i
Private First Class
21
Rep
109
Posts

Drives: 2008 335
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Rochester Hills, Michigan

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by vilord View Post
Got my official BMW video cable today. It fit perfectly for running from the evo to my 8.8 screen, which did not turn on at all, same thing it did when i plugged it into the loaner car.
Definitely think this screen is toast.

It did not fit with my X5 10.25 screen because the connector on the screen is facing the wrong way and the cable ends up going forwards and hitting the screen.

I noticed that the +12v and GND are *swapped* by the cable from one end to the other, and used that info to try pumping raw +12v into both screens. The 8.8 still did nothing.
The 10.25 *turned on and says NO SIGNAL!!!* Woot! $150 10.25 screen for the win.

I reversed the video cable so the HU end is at the screen and the screen end is at the HU, so it will plug in. Nothing comes up on the screen at all when I do that. This is probably because of the wrong resolution setting on the HU. I'll load up e-sys tonight so i can recode the resolution.

Hopefully the video part of the cable is not oriented incorrectly now that i'm using the cable backwards... i can't figure out how to disassemble the fakra ends otherwise

Main 4 pin fakra connectors are pain if you remove them from original shield. I did this before and it took me a while to solder the pin back. There is just not enough room to work around them once they are removed from original position.
Voltage pins are easier because they are on separate line and can be cut and reconnected. Its weird that you had to switch polarity.
Unit needs to know what screen is connected to it (Apix1, Apix2) in order for driver to send correct video signal.

on the side note, I did place an order to one of those android units with 2 gig of ram. lol
Appreciate 0
      01-08-2019, 02:39 PM   #86
vilord
Major
275
Rep
1,054
Posts

Drives: Too many
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: boston

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
I metered out the HSD CID cable.
The ends mirror each other, so pin 1 -> 2, 2 ->1, 3 ->4, 4->3, 5->6, 6->5.
So... if I use the cable backwards it should still work! Wish I'd thought to do that before I tried to rotate the cable in the fakra shell... they really don't like to let go, and my fakras are a little worse for wear. should still hold up though, and will be buried in the dash by February.

Took a look at the pinout for the old CID I have... it uses LVDS, not Automotive PIXel Link, so definitely no way of using the old CID for testing. oh well.
Appreciate 0
      01-08-2019, 02:45 PM   #87
vilord
Major
275
Rep
1,054
Posts

Drives: Too many
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: boston

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
I'm using a Viewtool Ginkgo USB-CAN adapter. When I was connected to the 100kbps CAN link behind the emulator, it sent data but didn't work because the emulator requires a car body module to be sending out VIN info.

Today I was trying to get it to work without the emulator, connecting direct to the 500kbps CAN bus, because trying to code the thing while sitting in the back of my car in the cold garage isn't my idea of a good time.
It didn't matter if I sent just the 0x130 message, just the 0x12F message, or both... the can adapter spit back an error message regardless, and the evo turned off.

Going to try again with a windows machine, the mac software from viewtool is probably trash.
Appreciate 0
      01-08-2019, 02:57 PM   #88
Gray335i
Private First Class
21
Rep
109
Posts

Drives: 2008 335
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Rochester Hills, Michigan

iTrader: (0)

http://www.loopybunny.co.uk/CarPC/fi...ter=flag_KCAN2
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:07 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST