E90Post
 


ECS BMW
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > NCS Expert: Coding using full vehicle FSW_PSW.TRC



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-04-2019, 09:30 AM   #1
GtiGyver
First Lieutenant
GtiGyver's Avatar
Canada
16
Rep
312
Posts

Drives: 2008 Jerez Black E90 M3 MT
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Montreal

iTrader: (3)

NCS Expert: Coding using full vehicle FSW_PSW.TRC

So I accidentally used the full FSW_PSW.TRC to do some coding of the KOMBI module.
It seems to have worked and never threw an error, but is there any problem with this? Should I restore the KOMBI module to factory defaults and redo the KOMBI coding?

Thanks
Appreciate 0
      07-04-2019, 03:03 PM   #2
Sensible_
Colonel
423
Rep
2,444
Posts

Drives: 2008 E90
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by GtiGyver View Post
So I accidentally used the full FSW_PSW.TRC to do some coding of the KOMBI module.
It seems to have worked and never threw an error, but is there any problem with this? Should I restore the KOMBI module to factory defaults and redo the KOMBI coding?

Thanks
I don't think you did...NCS would through a fault as there there are entries from many modules.

Maybe you used a factory coding profile without manipulation and it ignored the file altogether.
Appreciate 0
      07-04-2019, 03:17 PM   #3
dpaul
Captain
United_States
152
Rep
694
Posts

Drives: 2009 E90 335xi, 2011 E93 M3
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Boston

iTrader: (3)

Which profile had you loaded? Exactly what steps did you take?

Edit: oops, sensible_ beat me to it.
Appreciate 0
      07-04-2019, 08:38 PM   #4
GtiGyver
First Lieutenant
GtiGyver's Avatar
Canada
16
Rep
312
Posts

Drives: 2008 Jerez Black E90 M3 MT
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Montreal

iTrader: (3)

I can't be absolutely sure, but I definitely had a MAN file present, and it was > 230kb.
When I selected the KOMBI module, I could see the LEDs blinking on my interface for, IIRC, approx 10 seconds.
I believe I was in sc_codden.
Appreciate 0
      07-04-2019, 08:46 PM   #5
GtiGyver
First Lieutenant
GtiGyver's Avatar
Canada
16
Rep
312
Posts

Drives: 2008 Jerez Black E90 M3 MT
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Montreal

iTrader: (3)

I can't be absolutely sure, but I definitely had MAN and TRC files present, and each were > 230kb.
When I selected the KOMBI module for process module, I could see the LEDs blinking on my interface for, IIRC, 10-20 seconds.
I believe I was in sc_codden.
Appreciate 0
      07-05-2019, 12:08 AM   #6
Sensible_
Colonel
423
Rep
2,444
Posts

Drives: 2008 E90
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by GtiGyver View Post
I can't be absolutely sure, but I definitely had MAN and TRC files present, and each were > 230kb.
When I selected the KOMBI module for process module, I could see the LEDs blinking on my interface for, IIRC, 10-20 seconds.
I believe I was in sc_codden.
Yes but just because you had a MAN file present doesn't mean it will be coded. If you used a profile without manipulation like an expert or factory coding profile it would ignore any MAN file and code the module to its default VO settings...
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:04 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST