E90Post

TNT Racewerks

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > VRSF Intercooler and Lower Chargepipe Install

01-03-2016, 04:33 PM   #1
drocksmooth
Enlisted Member
Rep
Drives: 2010 BMW 335i Convertible

VRSF Intercooler and Lower Chargepipe Install

So, I finally installed my new VRSF 5" stepped intercooler and lower chargepipe! It was not as easy as I thought it would be and it took me a long time to figure out how to solve some of the issues I ran into. The website and posts make it appear that it's so easy, but it's not. I am a novice who likes to work on cars, I do not have a full complement of tools or fabrication materials/equipment and I do not have decades of experience working on cars. Since many of the people on this forum are like me (I think), I thought I'd give a little synopsis of how I installed it and what trouble I ran into. I researched how to install these parts extensively and, to my detriment, there was very little information on installing the VRSF intercooler. Yes, there were Youtube videos and instructions on other types of intercoolers, but none for the VRSF. There were some posts on this forum as well, but many of the posts were of the finished installation, and did not provide step-by-step instructions on how they actually installed it. So, for other novice mechanics who are deciding on whether to install their own VRSF intercooler, I thought I'd provide some insight and tips so that they wouldn't have to go through the same crap that I went through to get it installed.

First thing, the VRSF intercooler did not come with step-by-step instructions, pictures, parts inventory, or anything to help a novice in figuring out how to install the intercooler. I would have at least appreciated some pictures or some tips on how to install it. Not everyone is an expert mechanic. . . .