E90Post

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > Help n54 engine

12-23-2022, 02:32 PM   #1
Kobe335i
Rep
Drives: bmw 335i e93

Help n54 engine

This is my first time using this forum thing so bare with me

I have a 2009 BMW 335i e93 auto used with around 105k miles, Only thing i have seen wrong so far is an oil pan gasket leak. I haven't done anything to the car performance wise, I do plan on in the future but i learned quickly that maintenance is key with these engines That's made me put new oil in the car but i haven't been able to do a full oil change because ive been in college. i was driving around one day and i noticed the car started jerking between 2-3 gears. I chalked it up to the engine being cold and didn't think much of it, then later that day i pressed the gas to pass a car and i went from 2-3 and the car upshifted then it like immediately downshifted then revved to ~6k RPMs then i got a trans malfunction light. After that, the car didn't let me shift to 2nd and i had to pull over. I turned the car off waited a couple of minutes then started it again and everything was fine.

Side note

I saw that this might be a low trans fluid problem and im currently looking into that.
Im not sure if the car has had a change in sparkplugs coil packs etc.

I have a video of the car doing the same thing but im not sure how i upload that here if i can at all

Any help would be appreciated thank you
Appreciate 0
      12-24-2022, 02:27 AM   #2
Saif2018
Brigadier General
Rep
Drives: E90 335i

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kobe335i View Post
This is my first time using this forum thing so bare with me