E90Post

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > Fuel Pump Wires Getting Hot

02-06-2016, 07:40 PM   #1
UsedF10M5
They say I'm Invincible
United_States
Rep
Drives: 08 E90 335xi 6AT

Fuel Pump Wires Getting Hot

I've searched the web high and low, no one seems to have had this issue before.

So I've been running a single Walbro 450 for a few years now, I forget what "option" it was, and was before Fuel-It was around. I've ran mostly E85 and occasionally as low as E60 with a backend flash, never had issues up until a few thousand miles ago.

Picked up my car from getting the front diff replaced and the car died while driving, fuel pump warning came up, no blown fuse and I figured it had been about 30,000 miles since a hose came off in the tank so it must be that. I spun off the retaining ring and pulled the bucket to find the fuel pump wires melted together...inside of the tank. They were soldered and heat shrunk when I did the install. Called up my brother and he brought me a spare 450 I had in my tool box, threw it in with butt connectors and was on my way.

When I got home I put some power straight to the pump that I had pulled with the melted wires and it still worked.

About a month later my new pump also stopped working, the connector had began to melt at the top of the bucket assembly. I was able to unplug and plug it back in and the car started up again. I replaced the top of the assembly from a spare pump and was on the road once again. This time I switched back to 91, to see if maybe E85 was too much for the pump.

Now it happened again, this time nothing had melted, but I unplugged the connector and plugged it back in, the car started right up. While driving the car, I reached back to the pump wires and they were hot to the touch, I was afraid they would melt again.

Can anyone shed some light on what is going on?