E90Post

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > Regional Forums > Asia > Hong Kong > Goverment Inspection Center

01-03-2014, 12:56 PM   #1
scflaw
Captain
Rep
Drives: M135I, Macan S, G26 i4M50

Goverment Inspection Center

Hey guys

I have never done an inspection before for the annual license renewal?

Should i goto a shop and have them drive it to the examination center? or should i do it myself?

Which inspection center would be easier to pass?

Should i take off the intake and strut braces? or are those allowed?

Thanks guys, i'm quite worried haha
Appreciate 0
      01-07-2014, 11:25 AM   #2
Trashken
Private
Hong Kong
Rep
Drives: 2015 320i GT

Garage List
2015 320i GT  [0.00]
I tookl mine to BMW HK for inspection for my first time and was a big waste of time as they failed my car and I had to spend another day to retest after fixing those minor "issues". The next year I just paid my mechanic $1k and had him do it for me.
Appreciate 0
      01-07-2014, 10:32 PM   #3
scflaw
Captain
Rep
Drives: M135I, Macan S, G26 i4M50

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trashken View Post
I tookl mine to BMW HK for inspection for my first time and was a big waste of time as they failed my car and I had to spend another day to retest after fixing those minor "issues". The next year I just paid my mechanic $1k and had him do it for me.
Yea, good advice. I just did the same, gave it to the mechanic and had him do some maintenance on the car too. Didn't want to bother dealing with the guys at inspection.
Appreciate 0
      02-06-2015, 07:56 PM   #4
lusfort
Registered
Rep
Drives: E93

New to driving in HK

Good Morning guys,

I've recently just bought a late model 2007 335 Cabrio for what I thought was a steal,

Been driving it around the last few days and it is has really started to grow on me. Apart from the rattle from the rear tray that i finally managed to stop, and some ratttle from the hardtop. Performance has been wonderful.