E90Post

The Tire Rack

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > Mechanical Maintenance: Break-in / Oil & Fluids / Servicing / Warranty > Newish battery drain - faulty door lock?

03-03-2016, 09:31 AM   #1
Three_thirty_I
Lieutenant Colonel
South Africa
Rep
Drives: '05 E90 330i Manual

Garage List
Newish battery drain - faulty door lock?

So this is an annoying one. I have been battling with a dying battery issue for a bit more than 2 years now, and last year I got fed-up with the battery barely being able to last a week between drives. Refer to this thread to see more about that: Less than 2 year old battery dying?!

In summary though, 2 and half years ago I noticed that the car's original battery was slowly getting weak and especially during the winter months. I invested in a good Ctek charger to see if I could keep it going and recondition it, but ultimately it being 8 years old needed to be replaced. So I fitted a new BMW OEM battery of the same capacity and had it registered etc. But this new battery didn't seem as eager as I would have expected and soon I started having problems where the battery would be completely drained to the point where the car had to be opened with the key manually (not good for the lock). When this happened a week after a good drive, I decided it was time to have the car properly tested for parasitic draw, charge rate, and of the battery itself. It was found that the battery did have a dead cell, so it was discharging itself. There was no parasitic draw and the charge rate was fine, so luckily I was able to get the BMW dealer to replace the 2 year old battery. But some months later, the car was sitting for a week and with a dead battery. Admittedly there are times where the car does not get driven a lot, but this is also the case with the other vehicles that I own, so if they are fine then this should be fine too, especially for a week when the others can and do often last 2, 3 weeks of standing.