E90Post

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > E90 Logic 7 Tweeter Question

06-19-2009, 11:37 AM   #1
norcal330
Private
Rep
Drives: 2006 330i

E90 Logic 7 Tweeter Question

Yes, I'm a noob, so please take it easy on me....

I've looked through the threads and I'm still trying to find a definitive answer to help with a potential tweeter upgrade.

I know that the specs show a 2-ohm impedance for the Logic7 speakers. However, there are only 2 wires going to each mid/tweet pair. So doesn't this mean that the mid/tweet combo's are wired in parallel? If this is the case, than aren't these speakers both 4-ohm impedance. this would make it much easier to drop in some decent 4-ohm tweeters...

Has anyone actually upgraded their tweeters only? I know some have upgraded to Morel/Focal, but they also upgraded the amp as well. I'm not looking to tear apart my car, just get better tweeters. I've already done the SWS-8 subwoofer upgrade with a small amp, but now the crappy tweeters stand out even more.

Last edited by norcal330; 06-19-2009 at 02:03 PM..
Appreciate 0
      06-19-2009, 07:28 PM   #2
kaigoss69
Brigadier General
United_States
Rep
Drives: '08 335i

From what I remember seeing is that the tweeter is wired in parallel to the mid and there is an in-line capacitor between the mid and the tweeter which acts as an x-over. If you just replace the tweeters, they will undoubtedly play at a different volume level compared to the OEM tweeters due to a difference in sensitivity and/or impedance. Don't do it!
Appreciate 0
      06-20-2009, 12:14 AM   #3
VP Electricity
Brigadier General
United_States
Rep
Drives: F34 xDrive

Impedance is a function of frequency. Without explaining it in more detail, a two-way speaker with a crossover doesn't really parallel the way that two drivers without a crossover and playing the same frequencies do.

Lot of info on this on forums like DIYMA.
Appreciate 0