E90Post

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > 335 Quaife LSD initial observations

03-04-2007, 03:01 AM   #1
bmwmike
Lieutenant
Canada
Rep
Drives: 2007 335i Coupe - SOLD

335 Quaife LSD initial observations

I've been trying different stuff in safe areas with my car to see if the DTC/DSC electronics functions just like with the regular rear end. I'm not sure yet and have no conclusion. I need more testing and I’ve asked someone to verify the non-Quaife responses with their 335. However, the Quaife introduces some new abnormalities.

In all my comparisons I have left the DTC and DSC on. I’m no expert in this regard and the observations that I state are ones that stand out in my mind.

With the old setup I could push the car hard in the rain or in the snow and the rear end would swing out and stay out from a zero to 50 km/hr acceleration. With the new Quaife setup, the car will swing from side to side in the rain as the torque switches from side to side. I think the Quaife may cause a more unstable car in this situation, but i have no proof. With the regular rear end, the swing out is a gradual predictable thing and you can control its intensity. The darting with the Quaife is sudden and most likely causes unpredictable and unstable shifts of weight with each swing. I haven't had any real experience driving with an LSD since all my cars have been the one-wheel wonders. With the Quaife in the wet, if I apply full throttle it swings back and forth but not more than probably 10 degrees each way.

In the dry, in both instances of acceleration, the car stays straight. I have not noticed if the car accelerates faster with the Quaife in the dry - I doubt it or if it does it's immeasurable by me. It does accelerate faster in the wet and that is obvious.