E90Post
 


TNT Racewerks
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > NA Engine (non-turbo) / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications > Questions on Reprogramming to Stock Tune



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-23-2022, 06:36 PM   #1
unk045
Private
2
Rep
53
Posts

Drives: 2011 BMW 128i
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: LA

iTrader: (0)

Questions on Reprogramming to Stock Tune

Hey guys I'm in California and need to flash back to the stock tune for smog reasons. I currently have the modified tune for the 3 stage intake on my 128i. Sorry for posting here but I didn't get any responses on the 1addicts site. I have a few questions:

1) I checked bimmerlabs.com and there are 4 different stock tunes (attached a screenshot). Which of the 4 should I use?

2)With installing one of these stock tunes, will it reinstall the RSA that I previously deleted?

3) The last time I was installing the stock tune, it got stuck pretty early into the flashing process I believe and it bricked the car (not fun). I think the solution was changing to a different COM port or changing the latency but I can't remember for certain what ultimately fixed it. I know I should hook up to a battery charger. What else should I know or do programming/software wise to avoid bricking the car again?

Thank you guys in advance.
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      06-24-2022, 11:21 AM   #2
mct128i
New Member
13
Rep
18
Posts

Drives: 2011 BMW 128i, 2011 BMW 335i
Join Date: Aug 2021
Location: Long Beach, CA

iTrader: (0)

I was in your situation this time last year right when the new CA smog requirements came into effect. I made an attempt to reload a stock tune from Bimmerlabs but encountered some issues that resulted in a dead car. Not being very comfortable with this and being short on time, I hired a guy to remote into my computer and he was able to load one of the 4 files you see. I believe any of the 4 should work for this purpose.
Check out this post for more info: https://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1858713
Appreciate 1
whyzee125817.00
      06-24-2022, 02:40 PM   #3
unk045
Private
2
Rep
53
Posts

Drives: 2011 BMW 128i
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: LA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mct128i View Post
I was in your situation this time last year right when the new CA smog requirements came into effect. I made an attempt to reload a stock tune from Bimmerlabs but encountered some issues that resulted in a dead car. Not being very comfortable with this and being short on time, I hired a guy to remote into my computer and he was able to load one of the 4 files you see. I believe any of the 4 should work for this purpose.
Check out this post for more info: https://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1858713
Thanks for the reply. I saw your post but I didn't realize your car died in the process. Can you elaborate on what you mean when you say died?

Also, were you doing the flash in expert mode before switching to comfort mode?

Which of the 4 programs did you go with?
Appreciate 0
      Yesterday, 09:28 AM   #4
mct128i
New Member
13
Rep
18
Posts

Drives: 2011 BMW 128i, 2011 BMW 335i
Join Date: Aug 2021
Location: Long Beach, CA

iTrader: (0)

I made several attempts to load one of the stock tunes (I don't remember which one but I was told any of the 4 you list will work) and got error messages each time. I don't recall the actual text of the message but remember it included the word "fatal" which obviously isn't a good sign. At that point the car would not start so not being adept at programming or using INPA/WinKFP and having run out of time to get the smog test I engaged Top Gear Solutions who loaded the stock tune at the first attempt. I tried to follow the process the guy used but he worked fast and I simply don't remember all the steps - I think I was more concerned about getting the car to run at that point. Sorry I can't be of more help, I feel your pain and would really like to be able to get comfortable with the process myself so I'll follow along here and hopefully learn enough to try again. I'm still running the stock software which doesn't optimize the 3SIM...

On reflection I might have simply submitted the car for smog with the modified software just to see if the smog test really detects this - you might want to consider this too if you have plenty of time. In the event that you get a fail I'm not sure what the consequences are though - do you just load the stock software and then go for a retest (and pass) or do you have to jump through some hoops to explain the test fail?
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:20 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST