E90Post

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > DIY Guides > Simple fix for P1424 (2D06) P0172 (2A2E) P0175 (2A2F) code combination

09-13-2016, 11:52 PM   #1
PhaseP
Colonel
Rep
Drives: 325XI

Simple fix for P1424 (2D06) P0172 (2A2E) P0175 (2A2F) code combination

This is a post of sharing my experience with a difficult to diagnose stubborn "system too rich" and occasional "Mass or Volume Air flow too high" codes being thrown with SES light and idle and some drivelability problems. After long trial and error and some testing and research I am confident I found the root cause and wanted to share since I saw other old posts with same problems with no conclusions to solutions from other people.

Some disclaimers: I am not a trained mechanic. What I am writing here is my own experience and I can't give any guarantees what I describe and explain is correct information or the right and safe way to work or do to a car. If you decide to use what I describe here, use your own judgement, safety, consult BMW shop manuals or trained mechanics. I am only sharing my experience with no claim that what I describe here is safe or correct way of working on the car.

Summary for TLDR people: MAF sensor connector was not making solid good connection due to too may connect disconnect cycles over 10 year service the life of the car and also due to what I believe too thin connector pins on the MAF sensor side for the connector pins used.

To start the long story, I have a first year (2006) US N52 (325XI) with a certain MAF sensor part number: 13627520519. Yours may be using different part number MAF. For instance 328 N52's are using different part number MAF even though the MAF from outside looks very much same physically and could be prone to same problem.

These were the symptoms I was having:

- Fault Code thrown: 2A2E Mixture too rich (OBD version: P0172 System too rich bank 1 )