E90Post

The Tire Rack

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > VANOS Solenoid Question

01-25-2015, 12:34 PM   #1
Izero
Private First Class
Rep
Drives: 2008 BMW 335Xi - Alpine White

VANOS Solenoid Question

So I just got my BMW about 3 weeks ago and about the 3rd day I owned it, it got a half-CEL w/ P0015 code. I just had the BMW dealer replace the VANOS solenoids and they said the pending code went away...

My question is, how concerned should I be about there being damage to the camshaft bearing ledge(s)? And/Or any of the other components in there?

I only ask because the car only came with a 60 day or 2000mile warranty and I don't want to be out a significant amount of $ out of pocket if there is still an issue after the solenoids got replaced.

I'm an engineer with significant experience with all kinds of cars, engines, etc... so if I should be keeping an eye out for anything in particular let me know.
Appreciate 0
      01-25-2015, 01:40 PM   #2
wiskerbisskit
Private
Rep
Drives: 2010 335i M-sport.

Make sure the oil has been changed regularly. Solenoids are typically faulty because of sludge from my experience. But, it's an electrical component and they do go out from time to time.
Appreciate 0
      01-26-2015, 07:05 AM   #3
Izero
Private First Class
Rep

Quote:
Originally Posted by wiskerbisskit View Post
Make sure the oil has been changed regularly. Solenoids are typically faulty because of sludge from my experience. But, it's an electrical component and they do go out from time to time.
CarFax showed pretty regular oil changes... the dealer changed the oil as well when they did the VANOS solenoids.... so I guess I'll just keep an eye out.

I still get long crank times on the first start of every day, and the colder it is the longer the crank time is.... not sure if that has anything to do with anything....