Bimmerpost for Android has just been updated to version 4.3.55 with a host of bug fixes. Try it out!

  E90Post
 


 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > Suspension | Brakes | Chassis > I got my front brakes replaced 2000 miles ago, now it says its 19000 miles past due.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      09-28-2013, 09:04 AM   #1
BMWUltimateDriv3r
First Lieutenant
35
Rep
324
Posts

Drives: '08 328xi
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NY

iTrader: (0)

I got my front brakes replaced 2000 miles ago, now it says its 19000 miles past due.

I tried the interval reset thing, but it's not working. What else can I do?
Appreciate 0
      09-28-2013, 09:28 AM   #2
Efthreeoh
Lieutenant General
United_States
3409
Rep
10,493
Posts

Drives: E90 & Z4 Coupe
Join Date: May 2012
Location: MARLAND

iTrader: (0)

Who did the work?
Appreciate 0
      09-28-2013, 09:45 AM   #3
BMWUltimateDriv3r
First Lieutenant
35
Rep
324
Posts

Drives: '08 328xi
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NY

iTrader: (0)

An indy.
Appreciate 0
      09-28-2013, 09:54 AM   #4
Dark_Knight_335
Came to the N55 Darkside
Dark_Knight_335's Avatar
United_States
976
Rep
12,741
Posts

Drives: 2011 335 E93 M-Sport
Join Date: May 2010
Location: NY/NJ

iTrader: (28)

They probably forgot the sensors -the sensors are pretty critical man.
Do they specialize in BMW and imports?
Appreciate 0
      09-28-2013, 02:25 PM   #5
gds52
Colonel
gds52's Avatar
321
Rep
2,167
Posts

Drives: BMW Z4M Coupe, BMW 328i E93 Co
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: NJ

iTrader: (0)

I think Sensors only throw the code/car on lift sign.
In this case, it may be computer reset
Appreciate 0
      09-28-2013, 04:37 PM   #6
VTECaddict
Where'd my VTEC go?
VTECaddict's Avatar
United_States
447
Rep
6,069
Posts

Drives: 06 330i 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Seattle, WA

iTrader: (4)

Are you sure you're resetting the front and not the back?
__________________
AW/Terra | ZSP | ZPP | ZCW | iDrive | CA
Mods: BC BR coilovers | Blacklines | M-tech rear | dual exhaust | M3 steering wheel | BMW SSK | ZHP shift knob | High-kick CF spoiler | NBT Retrofit
M3 front control arms | M3 rear guide rods | Manzo rear toe and camber links | Monroe rear shock mounts | Varrstoen ES1 19x9.5+20 Front, 19x11+25 rear
Appreciate 0
      09-28-2013, 04:55 PM   #7
ssmith96
Banned
United_States
-7
Rep
1,038
Posts

Drives: 07 328xi
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Long Island, NY

iTrader: (2)

Send a message via AIM to ssmith96
Probably the sensor, its a cheap part and should take any good mechanic maybe 7~ minutes to replace
Appreciate 0
      09-28-2013, 05:03 PM   #8
BMWUltimateDriv3r
First Lieutenant
35
Rep
324
Posts

Drives: '08 328xi
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NY

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by VTECaddict View Post
Are you sure you're resetting the front and not the back?
Positive.
Appreciate 0
      09-29-2013, 10:12 PM   #9
SP3333D
First Lieutenant
SP3333D's Avatar
United_States
23
Rep
339
Posts

Drives: E90
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Detroit

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2007 BMW 328xi  [5.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by gds52 View Post
I think Sensors only throw the code/car on lift sign.
In this case, it may be computer reset
I had a dealer install a bad sensor once and it did this. They told me that the car throws an error and defaults to a crazy overdue number like that. They swapped out the sensors and all was well.
Appreciate 0
      09-29-2013, 10:38 PM   #10
gds52
Colonel
gds52's Avatar
321
Rep
2,167
Posts

Drives: BMW Z4M Coupe, BMW 328i E93 Co
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: NJ

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by SP3333D View Post
I had a dealer install a bad sensor once and it did this. They told me that the car throws an error and defaults to a crazy overdue number like that. They swapped out the sensors and all was well.
ah...k...so i was thinking wrong
Appreciate 0
      09-30-2013, 12:34 AM   #11
Wrecker335d
OEF Vet
Wrecker335d's Avatar
United_States
310
Rep
1,311
Posts

Drives: unfiltered diesel
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Long Island, NY

iTrader: (4)

Do you have iDrive? It could also be a system glitch. I had this happen to me a while ago. I was 353k mi over due on my brakes lol. The dealership just resets the computer. Took a few hours to complete.
__________________
Mods: BPC Stage 3, Meth Injection, BDP downpipe, Wagner intercooler, Koni Yellow/Swift Springs, M3 Control Arms/Strut Bar, MB Quartz Kit/Alpine Amp
Best 1/4mi: 12.24s @ 113.88Mi/h
Dyno: 350whp
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:00 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST