E90Post
 


Extreme Powerhouse
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > Mini R56 manual swap DME coding help



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      11-12-2018, 08:53 PM   #1
swat518
New Member
0
Rep
13
Posts

Drives: e90
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: nj

iTrader: (0)

Mini R56 manual swap DME coding help

Hello, Bimmer fans! I am a mini owner, and wish to get advice from you regarding coding DME.

I did a R56 manual swap, as far as I know, I might be the 1st one did this. There is one member from Mini forums helped me on the coding, but unfortunately cannot solve the issue. I want to come to BMW forum for the help.


This is what I experienced. pls skip it to the question part if you don't want to read it.
I kept all the original modules from the car, and successfully changed the manual setting in FRM, CAS, KOMBI via NCS expert. Errors left in DSC & DME missing TCM. All R56 owners experienced that DSC cannot be read or write in NCS expert for some reason, and I know the error goes away if DME is a manual setting because I connected a R55 manual DME. so my main focus is how to code DME as a manual car. Below is what I have tried but unsuccessfully.
1. Use INPA to reset adaptation, but not execute due to some software issue
2. Use ISTA+ to reset adaptation.
3. Use ISTA-P to reprogram all modules, the final report says measurement implemented successfully, aligned to the new VO (removed $205). DME and SZL changed to a new ZB#. But still has 3099-missing message EGS from DME.
4. Swapped R55 manual DME. DSC & DME errors disappeared, but of course car cannot start.
5. Swapped R55 manual DME+CAS+key, car can start, had new 5DE3 error - DSC control unit encoding error. Bc R55 has DSC, but my r56 has ASC. Later I put r56 setup back and reprogram with ISTA-P, no luck. my guess is DSC module is shot. also ISTA-P failed to program other modules to match R55 DME & CAS
5. Swapped R55 manual DME+CAS+FRM+JBE+SZL+KOMBI+key. car can start. had DSC encoding errro and ISTA-P still failed to program RAD & other 2 modules.

Here is my questions:
1. A friend's friend works in BMW as an electronic manager, he told me to change zb# in DME might solve the issue but never response how and why. ISTA-P did change DME zb# based on the new VO, so I really doubt if zb# really matters? Does zb# related to manual/auto? If matters, WinKfp has over 30 zb# for DME, how do I know which one should I use?

2.Did I miss anything to code DME?

Sorry for the long story. To be a guinea pig, need a lot of testing... I appreciate your advice!
Appreciate 0
      11-13-2018, 04:12 AM   #2
Sensible_
Lieutenant Colonel
347
Rep
1,981
Posts

Drives: 2008 E90
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London

iTrader: (1)

DME should has different ZB Number for manual and auto. But as you installed R55 manual DME it already has this....

Better way surely would be to have left R56 setup, flash DME with winkfp 6MT and then VO code CAS and FRM by removing auto code and adding manual code with NCSExpert. Then default code all modules.

No matter what you must code DSC / ASC.

What interface are you using? I never touched a mini but I believe you'll need an ICOM for DSC / ASC for r56. That or maybe the new DCAN firmware like Bimmer Geeks cable but I'm not sure to be honest.


Also in case it helps, did you reset DME transmission stored values with INPA? Coding with NCS won't clear these necessarily.

Choose engine DME -> F5 (status analog/digital) -> F1 (digital values) -> F5 (vehicle options)
If auto trans still displayed, -> F8 clear DME stored values.
Appreciate 0
      11-13-2018, 09:18 PM   #3
swat518
New Member
0
Rep
13
Posts

Drives: e90
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: nj

iTrader: (0)

Thanks Sensible!

I found a zb# from a manual car, but winkfp cannot update due to hardware number is not supported. I searched the list# that has supported hardware number, total 6 are available. 1 is the original # in auto r56, 1 is the # changed by ISTA-P. Not sure which # should be used. The DME has only 4 times to program, so I dont want to try 1 by 1.

CAS & FRM have been updated to manual setting via NCS Expert. DSC/ASC has encoding error, ISTA-P cannot code it, I remember it shows ‘global communication error’ when coding the DSC, but that message isn’t in the final report.

I use K-DCAN cable.

I have trouble to use INPA to update ‘engine’, the direction you list is not the same as what I have.

Last edited by swat518; 11-13-2018 at 10:34 PM.
Appreciate 0
      11-14-2018, 02:39 AM   #4
Sensible_
Lieutenant Colonel
347
Rep
1,981
Posts

Drives: 2008 E90
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by swat518 View Post
Thanks Sensible!

I found a zb# from a manual car, but winkfp cannot update due to hardware number is not supported. I searched the list# that has supported hardware number, total 6 are available. 1 is the original # in auto r56, 1 is the # changed by ISTA-P. Not sure which # should be used. The DME has only 4 times to program, so I dont want to try 1 by 1.

CAS & FRM have been updated to manual setting via NCS Expert. DSC/ASC has encoding error, ISTA-P cannot code it, I remember it shows 'global communication error' when coding the DSC, but that message isn't in the final report.

I use K-DCAN cable.

I have trouble to use INPA to update 'engine', the direction you list is not the same as what I have.
Well you can code your DSC/ASC R56 setup with NCS Expert and an ICOM. I'm 95% sure I've seen this done.

Re INPA you need to choose your engine script. Can you show a screenshot?

DDE6 for PSA EU4", "MEV17 for N12", and "MED17 for N14" etc

MEx17_2N.ipo for example. If you google INPA F series it's in that.

Also, why do you need to flash DME? You installed R55 setup with Manual flash anyway??? Or are you talking about your R56 setup?

In which case you need to look through the DAT files for your ECU family. For example MEV17.DAT.
Appreciate 0
      11-14-2018, 09:49 PM   #5
swat518
New Member
0
Rep
13
Posts

Drives: e90
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: nj

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sensible_ View Post
Well you can code your DSC/ASC R56 setup with NCS Expert and an ICOM. I'm 95% sure I've seen this done.

Re INPA you need to choose your engine script. Can you show a screenshot?

DDE6 for PSA EU4", "MEV17 for N12", and "MED17 for N14" etc

MEx17_2N.ipo for example. If you google INPA F series it's in that.

Also, why do you need to flash DME? You installed R55 setup with Manual flash anyway??? Or are you talking about your R56 setup?

In which case you need to look through the DAT files for your ECU family. For example MEV17.DAT.
I will do the research on ICOM for DSC coding. My priority is to get DME in manual setup.

INPA I have to choose MED17, then MEV17 for N12, see attached screenshot. Pic2 is after clicking F2-MEV17.2

I use R56 setup. ISTA-P not allow me to program modules to match r55 setup.

I checked the zb# in kmm_ATSH.txt under kmmData folder in datens. I donít know how to read it, but it looks like -205 means MT, and 205 means AT after comparing r56 original setup with the new setup. 214 is ASC & 210 is DSC. DME missing TCM error still exist............
DME - 7587440
MF33;-205&-KKAT;0609430-0703400,0612420-0708350,0708360-0703510,0612515-0706515

CAS - 9147203
MF33;;-0609515,0612510-0612511,0612515

FRM - 3452092
MF33|MF73;;-0703510,0612515-0706515,0708505-0708521

KOMBI - 9325815
MF33|MF73;-345;-0703510,0612515-0706515,0708505-0806510
MF33|MF73;-4UH;-0609325
MF33|MF73;;0609330-0609400
MF33|MF73|MF93|ML33|MM33|MM93;-345&-838;0809510-1006500

SZL - 3448434
MF33|MF73|ML33|MM33;521&-205&-210&-249&-522;0609330-0612511,0612515
MF33|MF73|ML33|MM33;521&-205&-210&-249;0708400,0708405
MF33|MF73|ML33|MM33;521&522&-205&-210&-249;0609330-0612511,0612515

DSC Ė 6785682
ME11|ME31|ME32|MF31|MF32|MF33;214;0609330-0703510,0612515-0706515,0708505-0803520
ME11|MF33;214&-210;-0609325,0806510
Attached Images
  
Appreciate 0
      11-16-2018, 04:37 AM   #6
Sensible_
Lieutenant Colonel
347
Rep
1,981
Posts

Drives: 2008 E90
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London

iTrader: (1)

I suggest you download BMW Intelhex2bin

http://media.encephalon.se/2012/10/B...ator-setup.exe

It will help you identify the correct files Any problem let me know.

By the way, be sure to code following modules to default with NCS:

CAS/FRM/KOMBI/DSC/DME
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      11-16-2018, 05:09 PM   #7
Sensible_
Lieutenant Colonel
347
Rep
1,981
Posts

Drives: 2008 E90
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London

iTrader: (1)

Also, you say in your opening post you used ISTA+ to reset adaptions. Did this include clearing the learned values? Forget the INPA way I said unless you want to download a better INPA version. Look for 'gelernte Varianten' Using DIS it was:

Select Service Functions <Select
> Drive <
Motor Electronics < Select
> Adjustment Programs <
> Delete adaptions <select
Test module> B1214_NG6AWZS <select and execute
After a short time query
> 3. Reset learned variants (codes) <select and execute

Must be similar in ISTA.
Appreciate 0
      11-18-2018, 01:11 PM   #8
swat518
New Member
0
Rep
13
Posts

Drives: e90
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: nj

iTrader: (0)

THe Intelhex2bin give me an error message - Cannot download the application. The application is missing required files.

Someone told me some DME can only be program 1 time at the factory, so if it store AT setup, it cannot be changed to MT by programming, only physically modify the circuit board would work.

I swapped R55 DME CAS & FRM. DME & FRM changed to R56 VIN through WinKfp. CAS cannot be changed and threw me 2089 errors. However ISTA-P reads CAS as a base, and considered I replaced all other modules, I didnt execute the measurement plan since most likely it will fail.

Since R55 DME & FRM store some functions R56 doesn't have, there are some error codes cannot be cleared. I am thinking of updating the zb# to match the group that R56 DME & FRM zb# are in. Since the update is not based on VO, not sure if that will work.

Right now the only error message on the cluster are ABS/Brake/DSC warning, they cannot be encoding, and pretty sure this error was messed up by myself & not related to the manual swap. either the module was shot or it can only be programmed once that I did it incorrectly. I will just live with it, the replacement of DSC module in R56 is a nightmare and it's not guaranteed can fix the issue.
Appreciate 0
      11-18-2018, 04:28 PM   #9
Sensible_
Lieutenant Colonel
347
Rep
1,981
Posts

Drives: 2008 E90
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London

iTrader: (1)

Well I don't know what else to say. Why should the process be different in R56 than all other BMW chassis?

The process should be simple:

1. Program DME with winkfp for MT. Use the program I gave you to find best zusb. It works perfect for me. Just download the other files. It's not difficult.

2. Remove VO code for AT transmission (205). FA write changes to CAS and FRM.

3. Expert mode code to default CAS/FRM/KOMBI/DME/DSC(ASC).

4. Reset learned values in DME if still get 'EGS missing' faults.

5. Steering and sensor and DSC/ASC calibration required with ISTA+.

Why do you need this R55 setup? I don't understand.

You seem to think coding DSC/ASC with NCS is impossible? I already tell you try with an ICOM. I don't believe in impossible. At least you must investigate why?
Appreciate 0
      11-18-2018, 07:33 PM   #10
swat518
New Member
0
Rep
13
Posts

Drives: e90
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: nj

iTrader: (0)

I really appreciate your guidance, but somehow I don't believe R5x shares the same process as BMW, I read a lot of manual swap threads from BMW forums and tried the process in R56. I could be wrong since just learned all these software from nothing about a month ago.

1. Program DME with winkfp for MT. Use the program I gave you to find best zusb. It works perfect for me. Just download the other files. It's not difficult.
--> I downloaded it and error message came up when I ran it. I am pretty sure the DME zb# has changed to MT through ISTA-P based on the new VO that removed 205. The group the new zb# falls into has -205. while the original group has 205.

2. Remove VO code for AT transmission (205). FA write changes to CAS and FRM.
--> This was the 1st step that I completed.

3. Expert mode code to default CAS/FRM/KOMBI/DME/DSC(ASC).
--> CAS/FRM/KOMBI were manually set to MT at the beginning. After ISTA-P reprogramed all modules, they remain MT setup.
--> R56 doesn't has DME in NCS Expert.
--> DSC cannot be read or code in NCS. I would try ICOM.

4. Reset learned values in DME if still get 'EGS missing' faults.
--> This has been done in ISTA+ to reset DME adaptation, not working.

5. Steering and sensor and DSC/ASC calibration required with ISTA+.
--> my R56 is 2007, it doesn't have steering angle sensor, I checked the physical wiring. It also doesn't have DSC sensor underneath the passenger seat.

Why do you need this R55 setup? I don't understand.
--> because I cannot make DME as MT setup. I did change the CAS vin today & checked in INPA. But somehow ISTA-P still read R55 vin.
Appreciate 0
      11-18-2018, 10:45 PM   #11
Levanime
Levanime's Avatar
United_States
134
Rep
711
Posts

Drives: E92 335
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Atlanta

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 BMW 335  [0.00]
PM me, I will try to help you
Appreciate 0
      11-19-2018, 02:54 AM   #12
Sensible_
Lieutenant Colonel
347
Rep
1,981
Posts

Drives: 2008 E90
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London

iTrader: (1)

1. Ok
2. Ok
3. R56 does have DME in NCS Expert! Like all other BMW 4cyl benzin it will show as 4BMOT. It must be there or something is wrong in your setup.
I spoke to a good friend who confirmed to me coding DSC is possible in NCSExpert. He is using ICOM Next but should be working for other ICOMS.

4. Adaptions are different from the learned values.
5. Ok
6. You changed VIN? Probably only in UIF? Not actual VIN I guess?

I would forget R55 and just concentrate on R56. Hopefully Levanime can help you. Please update us on public forum to help others though
Appreciate 0
      11-19-2018, 07:49 PM   #13
swat518
New Member
0
Rep
13
Posts

Drives: e90
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: nj

iTrader: (0)

I didn't know 4BMOT is DME. I read from both R55 & R56. What should I update in 4BMOT?
- R55 4BMOT below, read via NCS dummy, don't see anything related to MT setup.
OELWARTUNGSINTERVALL_MEX
wert_01
IGR_CODIERUNG
nicht_aktiv
MSA_CODIERUNG
nicht_aktiv
KL_15-ANSTEUERUNG
wert_01
KGEH_CODIERUNG
wert_01
-R56 4BMOT has a blank file. is it normal?

Regarding the VIN change, UIF shows VIN is changed. so there is not just 1 place to restore VIN in each module?

I will absolutely share my whole experience and have a full write-up for R56 manual swap once everything is figured out hopefully.
Appreciate 0
      11-19-2018, 09:13 PM   #14
swat518
New Member
0
Rep
13
Posts

Drives: e90
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: nj

iTrader: (0)

Levanime just remote control to change DME to MT setup in a min!!!!!!!! Took me a month and can't figure out the problem..... Big thanks to Levanime!!!!
Appreciate 0
      11-19-2018, 09:54 PM   #15
Sensible_
Lieutenant Colonel
347
Rep
1,981
Posts

Drives: 2008 E90
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by swat518 View Post
Levanime just remote control to change DME to MT setup in a min!!!!!!!! Took me a month and can't figure out the problem..... Big thanks to Levanime!!!!
Care to share...
Appreciate 0
      11-19-2018, 11:28 PM   #16
swat518
New Member
0
Rep
13
Posts

Drives: e90
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: nj

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sensible_ View Post
Care to share...
Don't know how he did it. Quote Levanime 'it's magic' lol
Appreciate 0
      11-20-2018, 01:58 AM   #17
Sensible_
Lieutenant Colonel
347
Rep
1,981
Posts

Drives: 2008 E90
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by swat518 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sensible_ View Post
Care to share...
Don't know how he did it. Quote Levanime 'it's magic' lol
You don't know how?

Weren't you watching?

Levanime

Can you share this 'magic'? It's a probably useful to help someone in the future...
Appreciate 0
      11-20-2018, 08:56 AM   #18
swat518
New Member
0
Rep
13
Posts

Drives: e90
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: nj

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sensible_ View Post
You don't know how?

Weren't you watching?

Levanime

Can you share this 'magic'? It's a probably useful to help someone in the future...
He did it very fast, I cannot follow. I only know the couple places he checked, not sure how he did it. Also I appreciate his help and respect his work, I don't want to do anything if make him feels uncomfortable.
Appreciate 0
      11-20-2018, 10:43 AM   #19
Levanime
Levanime's Avatar
United_States
134
Rep
711
Posts

Drives: E92 335
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Atlanta

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 BMW 335  [0.00]
you are welcome,

swat518 would not see it as i did not do it on his computer.
Let's call - how I did it and what I did - commercial secret although I did it for free.

I've learned a LOT on this forum, particularly from Sensible_
I hope I shared lots of info on other threads too,
Just cant share this specific one.

Sensible_ I will always help you with whatever I can whenever you need it mate, just PM me or contact me on my website.
Appreciate 0
      11-20-2018, 07:29 PM   #20
swat518
New Member
0
Rep
13
Posts

Drives: e90
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: nj

iTrader: (0)

Hi Levanime, there is one thing that I was always wondering, same as the other people that helped me. Does DME zb# differentiate MT/AT setup?
Appreciate 0
      11-20-2018, 10:51 PM   #21
Levanime
Levanime's Avatar
United_States
134
Rep
711
Posts

Drives: E92 335
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Atlanta

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 BMW 335  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by swat518 View Post
Hi Levanime, there is one thing that I was always wondering, same as the other people that helped me. Does DME zb# differentiate MT/AT setup?
I would need to check kmm data for minis
if you find zb only with option -205 then yes
Appreciate 0
      11-21-2018, 10:25 AM   #22
swat518
New Member
0
Rep
13
Posts

Drives: e90
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: nj

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Levanime View Post
I would need to check kmm data for minis
if you find zb only with option -205 then yes
That's what I thought. Thanks!!
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:44 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST