E90Post
 


Lease SwApp
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > ConnectedDrive / I-Drive / Navigation Related Discussion > CIC Retrofit



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-01-2018, 10:27 AM   #23
Will335i
The Engineer
United_States
5
Rep
298
Posts

Drives: AW 07' 335i
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: St. Louis MO

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2007 335i e92  [0.50]
Found a dash local for $250
If I get all the parts from ebay this week and the dash works out I may be able to start this swap on Friday.


Would I be able to update the amp before I do the swap? I wish there was a way to verify/update the firmware on the CIC as well before ever putting it in the car.
Appreciate 0
      08-01-2018, 01:03 PM   #24
Will335i
The Engineer
United_States
5
Rep
298
Posts

Drives: AW 07' 335i
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: St. Louis MO

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2007 335i e92  [0.50]
Dash was a bust. The car had be hit on the driver side and it pushed the door in and buckled the dash under the steering wheel.
Appreciate 0
      08-01-2018, 05:10 PM   #25
Terraphantm
Captain
180
Rep
630
Posts

Drives: E46 M3 Coupe
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: N/A

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Will335i View Post
Found a dash local for $250
If I get all the parts from ebay this week and the dash works out I may be able to start this swap on Friday.


Would I be able to update the amp before I do the swap? I wish there was a way to verify/update the firmware on the CIC as well before ever putting it in the car.
You can update the amp yourself. But you'll want either an ICOM or one of the Bimmergeeks cables to do it.
Appreciate 0
      08-02-2018, 09:09 AM   #26
Will335i
The Engineer
United_States
5
Rep
298
Posts

Drives: AW 07' 335i
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: St. Louis MO

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2007 335i e92  [0.50]
Sounds good.

I have a bit of concern about the CIC I picked up. I cannot find the part number for it listed on RealOEM. My concern is I got one from another market that will not end up being compatible. While not as critical but would still be upsetting is I dont think it has Sirius built in. PN is 65129198828
Appreciate 0
      08-02-2018, 09:22 PM   #27
Terraphantm
Captain
180
Rep
630
Posts

Drives: E46 M3 Coupe
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: N/A

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Will335i View Post
Sounds good.

I have a bit of concern about the CIC I picked up. I cannot find the part number for it listed on RealOEM. My concern is I got one from another market that will not end up being compatible. While not as critical but would still be upsetting is I dont think it has Sirius built in. PN is 65129198828
If you already have sirius, then you can keep using your external module. Just have to code the CIC to recognize that.

Bigger issue will probably be HD Radio - can't get that with the non-US units.

Might not matter regardless. From what I'm reading online, 65129198828 is an early production unit, but USA nonetheless. I don't think it has sirius built in, but again, you can use an external module just fine.
Appreciate 0
      08-03-2018, 09:56 AM   #28
Will335i
The Engineer
United_States
5
Rep
298
Posts

Drives: AW 07' 335i
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: St. Louis MO

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2007 335i e92  [0.50]
Sirius is not a deal breaker but would be a nice bonus. I will be putting in a combox because I really want bluetooth streaming in my car. I still find it odd that I can connect for phone calls but not music. My car came pre-wired for Sirius so if I end up adding it I dont think it will be that difficult.

So now I am just waiting on my K+DCAN cable and dash to show up.
Appreciate 0
      08-18-2018, 10:04 PM   #29
Will335i
The Engineer
United_States
5
Rep
298
Posts

Drives: AW 07' 335i
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: St. Louis MO

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2007 335i e92  [0.50]
Got everything pulled out of the car and prepping for the install of the CIC. I would have really liked to have had it all wrapped up today but I decided I wanted to ensure it was reversible so I am waiting on some pins so I can tap into the CIC quad lock for the controller instead of splicing the wires. I am also still trying to figure out how I want to route the gps extension cable as well.

I found these connectors while I was taking the center console out I assume they are for the smartphone prep but wanted to see if anyone can verify that. Thank you
Attached Images
  
Appreciate 0
      08-18-2018, 11:28 PM   #30
rote
Enlisted Member
rote's Avatar
0
Rep
45
Posts

Drives: E90 325i
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: CA

iTrader: (0)

Hi, I just completed mine 2 weeks ago. During my retrofit, noticed your and Nicko's retrofits. Also, see you've been a E90 poster for a few years and a later bloomer (like me) regarding the retrofit.

I didn't see this connector as I did not fully pull out my center console (pretty much followed Booster's guide) so can't say anything about it. As for the GPS cable, I did just like Booster did - connecting the blue Fakra (male, I recall) connector to the female blue Fakra (that was previously connected to the TCU in the trunk). (I got this cable https://www.ebay.com/itm/10-FT-fakra...72.m2749.l2649 ). However, because I didn't pull out the center console, the GPS cable is exposed for 4 inches (from the back of center console to rear seat). It's a lot of work, but once done, it's satisfying and rewarding. Car will feel a lot newer/better too

Last edited by rote; 08-18-2018 at 11:45 PM.
Appreciate 0
      09-03-2018, 10:15 AM   #31
Will335i
The Engineer
United_States
5
Rep
298
Posts

Drives: AW 07' 335i
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: St. Louis MO

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2007 335i e92  [0.50]
So I finally got around to completing the retrofit. I haven't messed with any coding or installed the combox but everything else appears to be working aside from the navigation not showing the correct location. I assume when I change the coding then the location will be corrected. I am going to install the combox once I know the iDrive is working flawlessly.
Appreciate 0
      09-06-2018, 10:04 AM   #32
Drifter2090
Captain
Drifter2090's Avatar
Canada
101
Rep
749
Posts

Drives: 2007 BMW 335i E92 6MT
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Ontario, Canada

iTrader: (1)

Damn I need to do this but my car didnt come with TCU or MULF, so I do I need to install those before starting the i-Drive retrofit?

07 coupe with no i drive btw
__________________
SG-Coral E92 335i 6MT / AG M359 / MHD Stage 2+ / HPF / BMS / Synapse / KW V2 / Akebono / DBV2 / Remus
2004 Diamond Graphite Infiniti G35 6MT Coupe
Appreciate 0
      09-06-2018, 11:27 AM   #33
Will335i
The Engineer
United_States
5
Rep
298
Posts

Drives: AW 07' 335i
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: St. Louis MO

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2007 335i e92  [0.50]
I am not sure how your car wouldn't have at least one or the other. Have you personally looked under the mat in the trunk? Do you have the base radio?

I really can't speak to the complexity of doing this retrofit without having the TCU and or MULF but I would assume that it will be more difficult and you might be better off going with one of the kits from Bimmerretrofit or an aftermarket unit like the AVIN. Good luck and sorry I am not more help.
Appreciate 0
      09-06-2018, 01:19 PM   #34
ptpending
Lieutenant Colonel
188
Rep
1,628
Posts

Drives: e91
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: vilnius

iTrader: (1)

no need to install all that if you do not have this
because in that case combox can be installed in drivers footwell
better to check options list using last 7 digits of the VIN to knew what you already have in car
__________________
E91 2006. Retrofits:High beam assistant, Individual Audio, Autodim mirrors, CIC, Combox(USB and Bluetooth), Electric Sport Seats, Light package, Front PDC, Heated Steering Wheel, Happy Robot, Climate Comfort Windscreen, Blackline rear lights.
Appreciate 0
      09-06-2018, 02:14 PM   #35
Will335i
The Engineer
United_States
5
Rep
298
Posts

Drives: AW 07' 335i
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: St. Louis MO

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2007 335i e92  [0.50]
I have a retrofit kit for installing the combox under the dash if you decide to go that route.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:18 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST