E90Post
 


Bimmer Retrofit
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N57 / M57 Turbo Diesel Discussions - 335d > Extended BMW 335d PIDs for Torque



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      10-15-2015, 08:56 AM   #45
DWR
Banned
728
Rep
1,663
Posts

Drives: 2009 335d
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Maine

iTrader: (0)

I want to let everyone know that the H20/Meth Target PID is not a conservative number. It is based on relatively dry air and having margin on AFR.

The intent was to 1) help folks size their systems correctly. That's why it is not conservative. It is easier to tweak down with the controller, than jump up with a nozzle. And 2) to facilitate an understanding of H20/Meth injection.
Appreciate 0
      10-15-2015, 10:24 AM   #46
Whitbread
Banned
140
Rep
325
Posts

Drives: 335D
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Gaylord, MI

iTrader: (0)

So here's a question, did I select the wrong setting somewhere or did you not change the units to our evil imperial system for the CACT and EGT pre DOC?

Appreciate 0
      10-15-2015, 11:33 AM   #47
DWR
Banned
728
Rep
1,663
Posts

Drives: 2009 335d
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Maine

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Whitbread View Post
So here's a question, did I select the wrong setting somewhere or did you not change the units to our evil imperial system for the CACT and EGT pre DOC?
It is set up for imperial units, psi, F, etc.
In Torque's settings, under "Units" you can configure.
Appreciate 0
      10-15-2015, 11:48 AM   #48
DWR
Banned
728
Rep
1,663
Posts

Drives: 2009 335d
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Maine

iTrader: (0)

Based on feedback, I've returned exhaust pressure to its previous form to match up with Testo output. DPF and Turbo Drive Pressure also follow suit. It is a very small adjustment, for the "tuning scientists". See attachment.
Attached Files
File Type: txt BMW 335d.csv.txt (1.6 KB, 406 views)
Appreciate 0
      10-15-2015, 11:48 AM   #49
mob17
Major General
mob17's Avatar
United Kingdom
322
Rep
5,621
Posts

Drives: E92 335D
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: East Midlands, UK

iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DWR View Post
It is set up for imperial units, psi, F, etc.
In Torque's settings, under "Units" you can configure.
I cant view EGT parameters in torque but can with BMWhat. Will using your pids let me view these additional parameters? Also, is there a danger it might brick my ecu as my car is a UK one?
Appreciate 0
      10-15-2015, 11:57 AM   #50
DWR
Banned
728
Rep
1,663
Posts

Drives: 2009 335d
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Maine

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mob17 View Post
I cant view EGT parameters in torque but can with BMWhat. Will using your pids let me view these additional parameters? Also, is there a danger it might brick my ecu as my car is a UK one?
Works just like BMWhat. No problem.
Appreciate 0
      10-19-2015, 01:10 AM   #51
135i_vs_
Captain
135i_vs_'s Avatar
United_States
47
Rep
678
Posts

Drives: M5, 135i, 335d, F10 550xi
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: CT

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DWR View Post
Based on feedback, I've returned exhaust pressure to its previous form to match up with Testo output. DPF and Turbo Drive Pressure also follow suit. It is a very small adjustment, for the "tuning scientists". See attachment.
DWR, awesome job! Thanks!
The file from this post did not show any PIDs for me. However, the file in your very first post works. Not sure if it's the file or my app.
Appreciate 0
      10-19-2015, 10:27 AM   #52
Whitbread
Banned
140
Rep
325
Posts

Drives: 335D
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Gaylord, MI

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DWR View Post
It is set up for imperial units, psi, F, etc.
In Torque's settings, under "Units" you can configure.
Ah, well that's just too damn simple. Never messed with torque before so I'm still learning the basics LOL. I've been spoiled data logging on vw/audi stuff with VCDS (similar to bav-tech).
Appreciate 0
      10-19-2015, 12:16 PM   #53
DWR
Banned
728
Rep
1,663
Posts

Drives: 2009 335d
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Maine

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Whitbread View Post
Ah, well that's just too damn simple. Never messed with torque before so I'm still learning the basics LOL. I've been spoiled data logging on vw/audi stuff with VCDS (similar to bav-tech).
I hate to say it but the VW guys are just plain ahead of us. I am most jealous of the pressure sensing glow plugs - could really dial in water/meth will that. Wish someone would try to modify one of our glow plugs.
Appreciate 0
      10-19-2015, 01:20 PM   #54
iaknown
Banned
388
Rep
1,061
Posts

Drives: 335D
Join Date: May 2013
Location: NJ

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DWR View Post
I hate to say it but the VW guys are just plain ahead of us. I am most jealous of the pressure sensing glow plugs - could really dial in water/meth will that. Wish someone would try to modify one of our glow plugs.
Where did we leave off with this? Let's find the closest candidate in length and make it happen....
Appreciate 0
      10-19-2015, 02:26 PM   #55
DWR
Banned
728
Rep
1,663
Posts

Drives: 2009 335d
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Maine

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by iaknown View Post
Where did we leave off with this? Let's find the closest candidate in length and make it happen....
We have 2 options.
Adapt a VW PSG to the 335d. There are 5 variants, none of which will fit without some sort of adapter/modification.
Second option is to fit a pressure sensor to one of our plugs. Optrand makes a small affordable sensor that could be inserted into the body of a glow plug. I don't know the details of how either would be done, as I am in no position to make it happen.
Then there is instrumentation, which is pretty straight forward. Simple voltage signal, but need a very fast data logger. A PC oscilloscope would probably be most useful from a tuning perspective. I can take care of that part of the project.

We can start a new thread if others are interested in this. So far,I think it is just you and me.
Appreciate 0
      10-27-2015, 12:33 PM   #56
DWR
Banned
728
Rep
1,663
Posts

Drives: 2009 335d
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Maine

iTrader: (0)

Using the DPF differential Pressure PID for alphabet soupers

For those of you who have deleted the DPF and have no use for the differential presure sensor - think again:

Connect it to the "dirty" and "clean" side of the air filter and you have an electronic Filter Minder

Connect it to the "dirty" side of the air filter and atmosphere and measure the "ram air" effect with speed.

In the future, I maybe creating a pressure differential MAF PID, for those of you who are getting a clipped signal from the stock MAF due to increased boost and intake modifications.

Not sure what the working pressure limit is. It may be able to measure pressure drop across an intercooler, or other fun things.

Any other creative ideas?
Appreciate 0
      10-27-2015, 06:16 PM   #57
TDIwyse
Colonel
559
Rep
2,469
Posts

Drives: 2011 335d
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: MidWest

iTrader: (0)

You can also use that sensor to measure how clogged your SCR is :-)

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showpo...7&postcount=60
__________________
2011 335d 11.68 @ 125.71 mph 1/4 mile NHRA certified track
Ram Cummins with lots-o-mods
Appreciate 0
      11-01-2015, 09:01 PM   #58
TDIwyse
Colonel
559
Rep
2,469
Posts

Drives: 2011 335d
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: MidWest

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DWR View Post
For those of you who have deleted the DPF and have no use for the differential presure sensor - think again:
Indeed.

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showpo...4&postcount=55
__________________
2011 335d 11.68 @ 125.71 mph 1/4 mile NHRA certified track
Ram Cummins with lots-o-mods
Appreciate 0
      11-04-2015, 05:28 PM   #59
mob17
Major General
mob17's Avatar
United Kingdom
322
Rep
5,621
Posts

Drives: E92 335D
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: East Midlands, UK

iTrader: (5)

Used the pids today in post #36, but only 3 of them were green. My car is a euro 03/2008 335d. I got drive pressure as one of the 3 greens but it stayed zero. The one i really wanted was the boost pressure, but for some reason it didnt pick it up on my car

I might try some of the other files.
Appreciate 0
      11-05-2015, 12:00 AM   #60
DWR
Banned
728
Rep
1,663
Posts

Drives: 2009 335d
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Maine

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mob17 View Post
Used the pids today in post #36, but only 3 of them were green. My car is a euro 03/2008 335d. I got drive pressure as one of the 3 greens but it stayed zero. The one i really wanted was the boost pressure, but for some reason it didnt pick it up on my car
The reason is that the ECU in your vehicle is different than the US 335d ECU.
Here are the IDs and descriptions available for your ECU:
ID Description
0x0001 Anzahl bestätigter DTCs und MIL Status
0x0004 berechneter Lastwert
0x0005 Kühlmitteltemperatur (Sensorwert vor der Korrektur)
0x000B Ladedruck (Sensorwert vor der Korrektur)
0x000C Motordrehzahl - Rohwert vor der Korrektur für OBD Tester
0x000D Fahrzeuggeschwindigkeit
0x000F Ansauglufttemperatur
0x0010 Luftmasse von HFM
0x0011 Ausgangstastverhältnis - Drosselklappe (vor der Korrektur)
0x001C OBD Zulassung des Fahrzeugs
0x001D Location of oxygen sensors
0x001F Betriebsdauer seit letztem Motorstart
0x0021 gefahrene Wegstrecke im Zustand MIL ON
0x0023 Raildruck (linearisiert)
0x0024 Lambdasensor Signal - Equivalence Ratio Bank 1 - Sensor 1 0
0x010E Lambdasensor Signal - Oxygen Sensor Voltage Bank 1 - Sensor 1
0x002C Ausgangstastverhältnis - Abgasrückführregelventil
0x002D Abgasrückführregler - Regelabweichung
0x0030 Anzahl der Warm-ups seit Löschen der DTCs
0x0031 gefahrene Strecke seit letztem Löschen der Fehlercodes
0x0033 Umgebungsdruck (Sensorwert vor der Korrektur)
0x003C Catalyst Temperature Bank 1, Sensor 1
0x003E Catalyst Temperature Bank 1, Sensor 2
0x0041 monitor status since last engine shut off
0x0042 Batteriespannung (Sensorwert vor der Korrektur)
0x0045 Tastverhältnis - Drosselklappe
0x0046 Umgebungstemperatur
0x0049 Pedalwertgeber - ungefiltertes Signal
0x004A Pedalwertgeber - Rohspannung von Sensor 2
0x004C Solltastverhältnis - Drosselklappe

You may modify the custom PID for Boost by changing the ID. Find "170" in the Boost PID and change it to "10B". "1" designates the OBD Mode and "0B" is the ID, as in the list above.
Appreciate 0
      11-05-2015, 03:57 AM   #61
mob17
Major General
mob17's Avatar
United Kingdom
322
Rep
5,621
Posts

Drives: E92 335D
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: East Midlands, UK

iTrader: (5)

Thanks DWR i will give that a go tonight

Is that the full list of available IDs for my ECU? Is there an ID available on my ECU to monitor EGTs and oil temp?
Appreciate 0
      11-05-2015, 10:27 AM   #62
iaknown
Banned
388
Rep
1,061
Posts

Drives: 335D
Join Date: May 2013
Location: NJ

iTrader: (1)

Awesome work on the PID's DWR. Now I just need some time to play with them!
Appreciate 0
      11-05-2015, 10:59 AM   #63
GaryE30
COAL FED
72
Rep
305
Posts

Drives: 335d, M3, X5
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Easley, SC

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DWR View Post
We have 2 options.
Adapt a VW PSG to the 335d. There are 5 variants, none of which will fit without some sort of adapter/modification.
Second option is to fit a pressure sensor to one of our plugs. Optrand makes a small affordable sensor that could be inserted into the body of a glow plug. I don't know the details of how either would be done, as I am in no position to make it happen.
Then there is instrumentation, which is pretty straight forward. Simple voltage signal, but need a very fast data logger. A PC oscilloscope would probably be most useful from a tuning perspective. I can take care of that part of the project.

We can start a new thread if others are interested in this. So far,I think it is just you and me.
Let's start a thread. Looking at Optrand's site, they have the ability to insert a pressure sensor into a glow plug, but it renders the glow plug non-functional. This would be fine if you were simply wanting to use it for monitoring/mapping, but wouldn't be something I'd want to keep in.

It would be interesting to see if we can adapt a sensor that will allow the plug to remain functional.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      11-06-2015, 06:14 AM   #64
mob17
Major General
mob17's Avatar
United Kingdom
322
Rep
5,621
Posts

Drives: E92 335D
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: East Midlands, UK

iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DWR View Post
You may modify the custom PID for Boost by changing the ID. Find "170" in the Boost PID and change it to "10B". "1" designates the OBD Mode and "0B" is the ID, as in the list above.
Hey i modified the value and it worked in torque. However i think theres something different via my results and tdi. The boost was showing 14.6-8 at idle, which makes me believe it was including atmospheric pressure. Also it maxed out at 37 psi, which isnt correct as i was only half throttle, and could feel the car boosting more when the boost was already showing 37 psi.

Do you think it may be my MAP sensor?
Appreciate 0
      11-06-2015, 10:09 AM   #65
DWR
Banned
728
Rep
1,663
Posts

Drives: 2009 335d
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Maine

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mob17 View Post
Hey i modified the value and it worked in torque. However i think theres something different via my results and tdi. The boost was showing 14.6-8 at idle, which makes me believe it was including atmospheric pressure. Also it maxed out at 37 psi, which isnt correct as i was only half throttle, and could feel the car boosting more when the boost was already showing 37 psi.

Do you think it may be my MAP sensor?
To be honest, I really am not well versed in the European vehicles. I did some research to find your PIDs, but without having the vehicle ... any PID can be "calibrated" by changing the formula portion of the PID definition. You are probably right about the gauge being absolute pressure, but I cannot say that for sure. Please verify your ECU is a D73N57B0. Sorry, I can't be more helpful.
Appreciate 0
      11-10-2015, 12:59 AM   #66
bono
New Member
2
Rep
15
Posts

Drives: BMW X5d
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: CA

iTrader: (0)

Hi Guys!

I hope you can help me. I am using BAFX adapter and Torque Pro app on my BMW X5 35d (2011). I purchase this combo primarily to have access to transmission temp. Other owner of 50i reported that he can access the temp. There are two "Methods" available in the app for the trans temp, but both are not working for me... The app states "no data".

Please could you help to get the information on the transmission temp?

Thanks!
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:34 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST