E90Post

Extreme Powerhouse

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > General E90 Sedan / E91 Wagon / E92 Coupe / E93 Cabrio > N52 Reliability questions

08-06-2020, 05:28 PM   #1
Chark-attack
Rep
Drives: BMW 325xi

N52 Reliability questions

Howdy,

I'd be interested to know more about how to properly prolong the life of the N52 and my 06 e90 at large. It seems most everything I read is that the N52 is pretty damn reliable so long as X, Y and Z are addressed but anecdotally it seems like these engines are pretty maintenance heavy and it always feels as if something else is about to go wrong.

I've done a tremendous amount of work to mine since I purchased in December and always feel like the goalposts are being moved on me. Kind of like the whack a mole game with solving issues.

I work as a general tech so I have access to bays, lifts, scan tools, etc. BMW specific specialty tools we dont have an abundance of but we do work on some, primarily older or the recent out of warranty.

Work I have done to mine since January 1st (1500 miles at most that I've owned it)

Valve cover gasket
Oil filter housing gasket
Eccentric shaft sensor and gasket
Eccentric shaft actuator and seal
Starter
Crankshaft position sensor and o-rings
2x camshaft position sensors and seals
2x vanos solenoids and seals
Intake manifold gasket set
Serpentine belt
Belt tensioner
Idler pulley
Spark plugs
Ignition coils
Mass air flow sensor
Power distribution pack (top of battery)
Battery
Fuel pump
Front brake rotors
Front and rear brake pads
Upper radiator hose
Coolant flush
Oil change twice
10 piece front control arm kit (https://www.fcpeuro.com/products/bmw...2-e90caxdrive2)
ECU remanufactured
Transfer case module
2x Hood lift shocks
2x Trunk lift shocks
Brake pad wear sensor
Windshield washer pump
Window regulator

Current primary issues with mine: