E90Post
 


Extreme Power House
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > General E90 Sedan / E91 Wagon / E92 Coupe / E93 Cabrio > Change millage?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      09-23-2018, 08:47 AM   #1
OG Style
Private
0
Rep
71
Posts

Drives: 07 328I
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

Change millage?

I was looking at the Carfax for my car and I noticed that the car has about 5,000 miles less than reported. Is it possible for some one to change the millage there self or can only the dealer do it. I'm just trying to figure out why there is a difference.

Thanks
Appreciate 0
      09-23-2018, 09:21 AM   #2
BMW FQ
New Member
2
Rep
11
Posts

Drives: E60 N52B30
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Bonn, DE

iTrader: (0)

Hello OG Style,

i dont believe the dealer can do it, or just want to but if you google a bit and buy some Equipment its not hard to change the mileage. From china they cheap af and easy to use, so yeah. It's possible to do it.
Appreciate 0
      09-23-2018, 09:49 AM   #3
ckanderson
Private
11
Rep
73
Posts

Drives: 2013 335i Xdrive
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Nashville

iTrader: (0)

Can also be a lazy tech or service advisor. They don't always get it right. 5k less doesn't really increase the value much so I can't see why someone would waste the time
Appreciate 0
      09-23-2018, 09:59 AM   #4
BMW FQ
New Member
2
Rep
11
Posts

Drives: E60 N52B30
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Bonn, DE

iTrader: (0)

Yeah 5k doesnt seems to be so much. I bought one day a car which had 240k km which are like 150k miles and everything seems to be alright because there was no difference at the control units but when i wanted to register a new battery with inpa i saw that in the history of the IBS there were the last registration from almost 600k km which are like 370k miles. Dont know if the IBS got replaced from another car or this was just the original mileage but whatever the whole interior seems to look like it should be and i dont mind what was written in there. When people change the mileage from the control units they forgot about the one which arent "real" control units like this one and forgot that they have a memory, too. If you want you know you can check it there too.

I calculate (for here in europe where the distances are not as far as in the us) for every year the car was driving aroung like 6-9k miles as reference so when people have much less on their display i dont even have interest in it because it could be A: the car was just standing around and never driven or the mileage isnt original.
Appreciate 0
      09-23-2018, 10:33 AM   #5
LMB335IS
Sua Sponte
LMB335IS's Avatar
United_States
827
Rep
2,151
Posts

Drives: 2013 LMB 335is
Join Date: May 2008
Location: FOB FL

iTrader: (17)

Garage List
2013 BMW 335is  [4.42]
You can't change the mileage to be lower. You can erase the Eeprom in the KOMBI to zero or buy a cluster with less mileage but the car stores the mileage in other modules and that mileage is automatically transferred to the new/erased unit upon installation.
__________________

335is/DCT-M3 GTS software-M3 drivetrain-M3 GWS-KOMBI-DSC-SZL/MHD/BQ Tuning
Appreciate 0
      09-23-2018, 10:45 AM   #6
feuer
Major General
feuer's Avatar
United_States
2458
Rep
6,315
Posts

Drives: wife crazy!
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Chicago, IL

iTrader: (3)

Mileage can be changed to any value. With the right tools and know how you can have your name show there.
Appreciate 0
      09-23-2018, 10:51 AM   #7
Nickco43
Lieutenant
Nickco43's Avatar
332
Rep
557
Posts

Drives: 06 BMW 330i
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Philadelphia, PA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2006 BMW 330i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by feuer View Post
Mileage can be changed to any value. With the right tools and know how you can have your name show there.
You can do mileage corrections with the BMW multi tool.
Appreciate 1
feuer2457.50

      09-23-2018, 12:06 PM   #8
LMB335IS
Sua Sponte
LMB335IS's Avatar
United_States
827
Rep
2,151
Posts

Drives: 2013 LMB 335is
Join Date: May 2008
Location: FOB FL

iTrader: (17)

Garage List
2013 BMW 335is  [4.42]
Mileage can be changed to whatever you want, this is true. I have a programmer and the software and have virginized a few M3 clusters but if you don't address the mileage stored in the other modules it doesn't matter what you change it to, it will always default to the higher mileage. And doing that is a whole different level of complexity that 99.9% of individuals don't have the knowledge to accomplish not mention if it's cost effective or worth the possible fraud charges. It's BMW'S built in fraud prevention, yes, anything can be circumvented, but are these cars really worth enough anymore to take the risk?
__________________

335is/DCT-M3 GTS software-M3 drivetrain-M3 GWS-KOMBI-DSC-SZL/MHD/BQ Tuning
Appreciate 0
      09-23-2018, 12:19 PM   #9
BMW FQ
New Member
2
Rep
11
Posts

Drives: E60 N52B30
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Bonn, DE

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nickco43 View Post
You can do mileage corrections with the BMW multi tool.
Yeah as example this should work. I know like 10 or more different tools with which you can change mileage. Only with a few tools and most important knowledge of what you're doing..
Appreciate 0
      09-24-2018, 08:01 AM   #10
OG Style
Private
0
Rep
71
Posts

Drives: 07 328I
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

Is the millage info stored in the instrument cluster? I'm thinking the dealer might have replaced it with a used one and not had the tools to correct the millage. Is there anyway to tell if the cluster has been removed or changed. Thanks
Appreciate 0
      09-24-2018, 08:18 AM   #11
arhoads335i
Lieutenant
104
Rep
476
Posts

Drives: 2008 335i
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Hopewell/ NJ

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2008 BMW 128I  [0.00]
someone probably just miss read someones hand writing when changing the title or something
__________________
08 e90 335i MT Pure Stage 2 High flow (Better Daily)
08 128i 6-speed Montego Blue Metallic, AFE intake, 3IM, SS headers (Daily)
08 335i Pure stage 1 (SOLD)
Appreciate 0
      09-24-2018, 08:25 AM   #12
OG Style
Private
0
Rep
71
Posts

Drives: 07 328I
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

The current millage is lower than what the carfax had on it a year ago. There would have been to be multiple misreads.

06/01/17 - 164,436 (BMW maintenance inspection)
7/30/18 - 169,988 (Last dealer bought it. This is who I bought it from)
I bought it with 164,100 miles
Appreciate 0
      09-24-2018, 09:36 AM   #13
LMB335IS
Sua Sponte
LMB335IS's Avatar
United_States
827
Rep
2,151
Posts

Drives: 2013 LMB 335is
Join Date: May 2008
Location: FOB FL

iTrader: (17)

Garage List
2013 BMW 335is  [4.42]
Quote:
Originally Posted by OG Style View Post
Is the millage info stored in the instrument cluster? I'm thinking the dealer might have replaced it with a used one and not had the tools to correct the millage. Is there anyway to tell if the cluster has been removed or changed. Thanks
Mileage is stored in the CAS and KOMBI (cluster) along with the VIN. You can change the cluster with a used one but the VIN mismatch will make a tamper dot show on the cluster. To use a used cluster the cluster needs to be disassembled, the eeprom pulled from the board (not in all cases if a test clip works) dump pulled and edited in a hex Editor to erase the short VIN and mileage if it's a higher mileage cluster. Then install and default code to write the new VIN to it.
__________________

335is/DCT-M3 GTS software-M3 drivetrain-M3 GWS-KOMBI-DSC-SZL/MHD/BQ Tuning
Appreciate 0
      09-24-2018, 10:28 AM   #14
feuer
Major General
feuer's Avatar
United_States
2458
Rep
6,315
Posts

Drives: wife crazy!
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Chicago, IL

iTrader: (3)

Mileage is stored in other components too, like IBS and keyfob.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:46 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST