E90Post
 


TNT Racewerks
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > NA Engine (non-turbo) / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications > I cloned my MSV70 DME



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-14-2015, 09:40 PM   #243
rjahl
Major
rjahl's Avatar
488
Rep
1,405
Posts

Drives: Z4 35is
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Tampa

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2012 Z4 35is  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by hassmaschine View Post
I'm just curious what the 0da looks like in comparison to the full dump. I think I can convert it but I was wondering if you had one already done.
I finally cleaned these up. These are only a few ODA file conversions for the E85 but it's a good way to compare the differences between variants. All of these use the same S7577968.OPA, the ODA files look like a 100% transfer into the DME. The OPA files are a bit more complicated.
Attached Files
File Type: zip SI and I ODA files.zip (330.3 KB, 56 views)
Appreciate 0
      02-17-2015, 02:13 PM   #244
_Ryan_
Captain
No_Country
49
Rep
750
Posts

Drives: E87 130i
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Melbourne, AU

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2005 BMW 130i  [2.62]
Quote:
Originally Posted by hassmaschine View Post
I've mostly been working on a disassembly. Still trying to figure out the right memory layout. I've been stuck figuring out where the references to the parameters are, because i think i have the layout wrong.

I did start working on a 130i xdf. I'm not really comfortable posting it yet because it's still incomplete and there may be errors. The plan is to have msv70/80 xdfs for the common program versions.
Great. Out of curiosity, have you come across the XDF for the OFT?
Appreciate 0
      02-17-2015, 02:18 PM   #245
hassmaschine
Major General
United_States
2271
Rep
5,192
Posts

Drives: "NBO" 330i
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: earth

iTrader: (0)

no, I don't think they ever released it. I'm guessing it would be mostly useless anyway, the one I've been working on has pretty much everything already.
Appreciate 0
      02-18-2015, 11:07 AM   #246
rjahl
Major
rjahl's Avatar
488
Rep
1,405
Posts

Drives: Z4 35is
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Tampa

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2012 Z4 35is  [0.00]
I found a definition file/map for the MSV70. It's a little old so the maps don't align 100% with my current versions but they are easy to fix. The number of maps is mind boggling, over 8,000. Lots to look at.
Appreciate 0
      02-18-2015, 12:21 PM   #247
mecbain
Lieutenant
72
Rep
546
Posts

Drives: e90 330i
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Montreal, Canada

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by hassmaschine View Post
no, I don't think they ever released it. I'm guessing it would be mostly useless anyway, the one I've been working on has pretty much everything already.
I can confirm that, my car feels much stronger with your tune than the OFT one... This is for the 330i, not sure for the other n52/N51's.
Appreciate 0
      02-18-2015, 12:25 PM   #248
hassmaschine
Major General
United_States
2271
Rep
5,192
Posts

Drives: "NBO" 330i
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: earth

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjahl View Post
I found a definition file/map for the MSV70. It's a little old so the maps don't align 100% with my current versions but they are easy to fix. The number of maps is mind boggling, over 8,000. Lots to look at.
is that the ols? its still pretty useful. I'm using tunerpro though.

most the 8000+ parameters & maps aren't of interest though. There must be 1000 of them for debounce control alone, lol. plus all of the controls for the alternator.
Appreciate 0
      02-18-2015, 12:26 PM   #249
hassmaschine
Major General
United_States
2271
Rep
5,192
Posts

Drives: "NBO" 330i
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: earth

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mecbain View Post
I can confirm that, my car feels much stronger with your tune than the OFT one... This is for the 330i, not sure for the other n52/N51's.
I have a slightly better one now, but I'd like to dyno it to see. since I already have a 3 stage/330, I don't think there's too much improvement to be had over stock without any mods. but I'm pretty satisfied with what I have, enough that I don't really feel like doing anything else to it.
Appreciate 0
      02-18-2015, 12:38 PM   #250
rjahl
Major
rjahl's Avatar
488
Rep
1,405
Posts

Drives: Z4 35is
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Tampa

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2012 Z4 35is  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by hassmaschine View Post
is that the ols? its still pretty useful. I'm using tunerpro though.

most the 8000+ parameters & maps aren't of interest though. There must be 1000 of them for debounce control alone, lol. plus all of the controls for the alternator.
Yes, it's an ols version and yes it's easy to see that most of the information is useless to us. Still an interesting read. I'll probably update the interesting maps to the current program locations and export them for study. These cars certainly make you brush up on your German.
Appreciate 0
      02-26-2015, 09:50 AM   #251
rjahl
Major
rjahl's Avatar
488
Rep
1,405
Posts

Drives: Z4 35is
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Tampa

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2012 Z4 35is  [0.00]
Hass,

I going to take this a little further but with a Back up DME.

Do I need to open both the original DME and the back up? or can I use an ODB data dump from the original DME for BDM programming on the back up back up DME?

This way I would only need to add the BDM socket on the back up unit.
Appreciate 0
      02-26-2015, 11:06 AM   #252
hassmaschine
Major General
United_States
2271
Rep
5,192
Posts

Drives: "NBO" 330i
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: earth

iTrader: (0)

You have to use bdm, its the only way to copy the 4kb ISN chip. Without the ISN you can't start it with the new DME.
Appreciate 0
      03-03-2015, 06:44 PM   #253
xxxjecxxx
Banned
xxxjecxxx's Avatar
United_States
221
Rep
967
Posts

Drives: F30 335i M sport
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Orlando, FL

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2013 BMW 335i  [0.00]
2006 BMW 325i  [0.00]
Hey hassmaschine ,

I have a DME that will not control the throttle valve. I opened it and could not find anything. Tested every pin in the harness for continuity from throttle harness to DME. Replaced the throttle with two separate ones (used) and both cause same errors. Long story short, I think I've partially damaged my DME. I purchased a used one today and would like to try and clone it.

I have the new DME, i've ordered the headers, do you mind sending me a PM with the name of the software I need to use to just clone? I'm not looking to change any parameters, just get my car back on the road
Appreciate 0
      03-03-2015, 07:25 PM   #254
hassmaschine
Major General
United_States
2271
Rep
5,192
Posts

Drives: "NBO" 330i
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: earth

iTrader: (0)

you need BDM hardware that can read and write MPC5xx flash. I use CMD Flash.

you have to copy the 4kb chip which includes the ISN data, plus the rest of the flash memory (2560kb)
Appreciate 1
      03-03-2015, 11:27 PM   #255
xxxjecxxx
Banned
xxxjecxxx's Avatar
United_States
221
Rep
967
Posts

Drives: F30 335i M sport
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Orlando, FL

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2013 BMW 335i  [0.00]
2006 BMW 325i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by hassmaschine View Post
you need BDM hardware that can read and write MPC5xx flash. I use CMD Flash.

you have to copy the 4kb chip which includes the ISN data, plus the rest of the flash memory (2560kb)
Thank you! Have everything ordered
Appreciate 0
      03-04-2015, 09:55 AM   #256
hassmaschine
Major General
United_States
2271
Rep
5,192
Posts

Drives: "NBO" 330i
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: earth

iTrader: (0)

good luck!

with CMD flash you can "read full memory" or something like that. it creates a compressed file that's about 500kb in size, this actually includes all of the internal memory (you can extract each file from it using the software). you can then use that same file to write to your new DME. you can also do each chip separately (internal flash, external flash, 4kb ISN).

also, once you have hardware like this.. I don't see how you can resist modifying the tune. The first things I did was increase the rev limit and tweak the Valvetronic maps, and tried to sharpen up the rev limiter a bit. I only had the car for about a month at that point, lol.
Appreciate 1
      03-05-2015, 09:15 AM   #257
xxxjecxxx
Banned
xxxjecxxx's Avatar
United_States
221
Rep
967
Posts

Drives: F30 335i M sport
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Orlando, FL

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2013 BMW 335i  [0.00]
2006 BMW 325i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by hassmaschine View Post
good luck!

with CMD flash you can "read full memory" or something like that. it creates a compressed file that's about 500kb in size, this actually includes all of the internal memory (you can extract each file from it using the software). you can then use that same file to write to your new DME. you can also do each chip separately (internal flash, external flash, 4kb ISN).

also, once you have hardware like this.. I don't see how you can resist modifying the tune. The first things I did was increase the rev limit and tweak the Valvetronic maps, and tried to sharpen up the rev limiter a bit. I only had the car for about a month at that point, lol.
I think if I can get the car running, that will surely follow. The used DMEs seem to be super cheap on eBay. I purchased mine for $80 with expedited shipping. I guess it's because everyone is under the impression that they can't be used in another car or re-programmed by BMW to work in another car.

I'm sure you've seen my DIY about coding back in 2009. Back then I learned how to use NCS Expert and INPA since I NEEDED to program a used FRM module to my car. After I got it to work, I started discovering all the other options and it was all fair game from there

Hopefully I can do the same with the DME. I really appreciate your help.
Appreciate 0
      03-06-2015, 09:21 AM   #258
xxxjecxxx
Banned
xxxjecxxx's Avatar
United_States
221
Rep
967
Posts

Drives: F30 335i M sport
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Orlando, FL

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2013 BMW 335i  [0.00]
2006 BMW 325i  [0.00]
The XDF file is a map of what all the address ranges and hex values are for? If so, I understand there is not one for every car out there but does anyone have one I can use for the MSV70?

Is there a decompiler compatible with the motorola chip? If so, it will turn it into machine language or a higher level language?

Feels like I'm catching up fast but the farther I go, the more questions I have lol
Appreciate 0
      03-06-2015, 09:52 AM   #259
hassmaschine
Major General
United_States
2271
Rep
5,192
Posts

Drives: "NBO" 330i
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: earth

iTrader: (0)

You can disassemble the binary with IDA Pro. It's not straight forward though.

I made my own xdf but I'm hesitant to release it publically. I haven't had time to work on it for a few weeks. I might do a partial release, i just think if i post the whole thing the big tuners will steal what I've found.
Appreciate 1
      03-06-2015, 07:47 PM   #260
xxxjecxxx
Banned
xxxjecxxx's Avatar
United_States
221
Rep
967
Posts

Drives: F30 335i M sport
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Orlando, FL

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2013 BMW 335i  [0.00]
2006 BMW 325i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by hassmaschine View Post
You can disassemble the binary with IDA Pro. It's not straight forward though.

I made my own xdf but I'm hesitant to release it publically. I haven't had time to work on it for a few weeks. I might do a partial release, i just think if i post the whole thing the big tuners will steal what I've found.
I understand. I'll do what I can
Appreciate 0
      04-13-2015, 09:13 PM   #261
rjahl
Major
rjahl's Avatar
488
Rep
1,405
Posts

Drives: Z4 35is
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Tampa

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2012 Z4 35is  [0.00]
I finnally got my DME clone working. $62.00 insurance policy from Ebay. Now I'm free to start exploring again.
Appreciate 0
      04-14-2015, 09:42 AM   #262
hassmaschine
Major General
United_States
2271
Rep
5,192
Posts

Drives: "NBO" 330i
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: earth

iTrader: (0)

Still haven't done anything on this since the start of the year. Now that I'm working only 40 hours a week I have a class I'm teaching that sucks up my free time. lol, such is life.

I did hook up my bench test again and pulled a bunch of data using Tool32. I have a list of about 200 parameters I want to look into and add to my XDF when I get back to it, and then there's finishing off my disassembly.

I've put probably 7,000 miles on my tune without any issues though. car runs strong - wish I had limited slip so I could put some of that power to use..
Appreciate 0
      04-14-2015, 09:49 AM   #263
Taskmaster
Major General
Taskmaster's Avatar
Japan
2159
Rep
8,814
Posts

Drives: M235i 6MT / E92 328 Msport 6MT
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Florida

iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by xxxjecxxx View Post
I think if I can get the car running, that will surely follow. The used DMEs seem to be super cheap on eBay. I purchased mine for $80 with expedited shipping. I guess it's because everyone is under the impression that they can't be used in another car or re-programmed by BMW to work in another car.

I'm sure you've seen my DIY about coding back in 2009. Back then I learned how to use NCS Expert and INPA since I NEEDED to program a used FRM module to my car. After I got it to work, I started discovering all the other options and it was all fair game from there

Hopefully I can do the same with the DME. I really appreciate your help.
You have a working copy INPA? I have it on my windows 8.1 comp and I can't get it to work without throwing errors.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      04-14-2015, 09:53 AM   #264
hassmaschine
Major General
United_States
2271
Rep
5,192
Posts

Drives: "NBO" 330i
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: earth

iTrader: (0)

yes but I have it on an IBM T30 laptop running WindowsXP. You can get it all to work on a newer machine it's just more of a pain.

I've been through three T30's the last 10 years, all of them from Ebay. The first one lasted about 8 years and cost me $100. The newest one I picked up for $10 and it's literally like brand new. Must have been left in a box somewhere and never turned on. Put in the same HDD from the last one and was back in business - the previous one was $25 and lasted me about 2 years before it just wouldn't turn on anymore. :|
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:10 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST