E90Post
 


Extreme Powerhouse
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90/E92/E93 Marketplace (For Sale / Trade / Wanted) > SPONSORS Classifieds/Groupbuys/Specials Area > Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Parts > xHP Flashtool - Flash your automatic trans! Official thread



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-30-2017, 01:59 PM   #441
GripAndRip
First Lieutenant
United_States
78
Rep
398
Posts

Drives: 2011 E90 335xi Auto
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Denver

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by natedog7700 View Post
Nope, not anymore. There is a lot of confusion on this and i hope another tuner can chime in and clear it up.
I've been told nope as well. Would really like to have this cleared up so that I can feel comfortable putting stage 3 on my car. I want to make sure my ECU and the TCU are communicating properly and in safe manner, but I also really want to make sure I get the most out of the TCU and ECU flashes working together. We need more information on this.
__________________
2011 LCI E90 335xi Auto
|Wedge Performance Tune|Dinan Free Flow Exhaust|VRSF CP|K&N Drop-in|
FuTuRe - VRSF 7" FMIC - VRSF DP - Upgraded Oil Cooler
Appreciate 0
      03-30-2017, 02:35 PM   #442
natedog7700
Captain
natedog7700's Avatar
402
Rep
744
Posts

Drives: 07 335i RB's 625whp
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: milwaukee wi

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by GripAndRip View Post
I've been told nope as well. Would really like to have this cleared up so that I can feel comfortable putting stage 3 on my car. I want to make sure my ECU and the TCU are communicating properly and in safe manner, but I also really want to make sure I get the most out of the TCU and ECU flashes working together. We need more information on this.
Here is what Ken from MHD said,


"According to them the NM output for torque actual should be @ the same as what your making. Far cry from MT settings in MHD. Found out they spoke with Justin at Twisted so thus the wrong information. He's a nice guy."

I asked if my DME flash needs to be changed (is it tricking the dme still for torque output) and he said this.

"There is no trickery about it. Torque actual is not something that is calculated by the car, it's a table I manipulate to ensure torque actual is smooth and doesn't tapper at high rpm. Stock settings you would get a torque spike and then it would drop to almost nothing. The spike again post shift."
So I fix the tables to work with today's load actual as BMW tuned it for 110 load.
Appreciate 1
      03-30-2017, 02:53 PM   #443
YasF80_SLO
Captain
YasF80_SLO's Avatar
United_States
219
Rep
654
Posts

Drives: F80
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: San Luis Obispo

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2015 BMW M3  [0.00]
2018 Nissan Versa S  [0.00]
Im getting an error on my car, when I hook it up and try to connect it, Message is: "Sorry, We could not identify your vehicle" I can see the licenses store, but did anyone over RBT-Tuning update the app to support n55/n54 models??

I have a Production Date: 2013-05-01 N55 E92 2013

I connect it through the USB, Allow the APP to connect, and have the ignition switched ON, but the engine OFF.
Appreciate 0
      03-30-2017, 02:54 PM   #444
YasF80_SLO
Captain
YasF80_SLO's Avatar
United_States
219
Rep
654
Posts

Drives: F80
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: San Luis Obispo

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2015 BMW M3  [0.00]
2018 Nissan Versa S  [0.00]
Screenshot Here:
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      03-30-2017, 02:56 PM   #445
natedog7700
Captain
natedog7700's Avatar
402
Rep
744
Posts

Drives: 07 335i RB's 625whp
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: milwaukee wi

iTrader: (0)

Im getting a backup error.

After 100% completion of the back up, it says "handlecodingbackup failed - no data"
Appreciate 0
      03-30-2017, 02:59 PM   #446
E92xiSS
Private
E92xiSS's Avatar
United_States
0
Rep
65
Posts

Drives: 08 Montego 335xi Coupe
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: NYC

iTrader: (0)

wow..these maps need to be more simplified. i see 335i xdrive coupe and also 335xi coupe. i mean "are e90 & e92 maps actually any different?" how about rwd from awd models?
Appreciate 0
      03-30-2017, 03:00 PM   #447
YasF80_SLO
Captain
YasF80_SLO's Avatar
United_States
219
Rep
654
Posts

Drives: F80
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: San Luis Obispo

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2015 BMW M3  [0.00]
2018 Nissan Versa S  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by E92xiSS View Post
wow..these maps need to be more simplified. i see 335i xdrive coupe and also 335xi coupe. and are e90 & e92 maps actually any different? how about from rwd from awd models?
If you connect your car, it should list the MAPS that are Supported for your SPECIFIC Car, Also they each say if they are for AWD or RWD, USA or EU, LHD or RHD, N54 or n55.
Appreciate 0
      03-30-2017, 03:00 PM   #448
RBT-Tuning
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
RBT-Tuning's Avatar
Austria
696
Rep
750
Posts


Drives: 335i F31 xDrive
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Austria

iTrader: (0)

I might add to that:

ECU Tuners have done their Job for years on the N54 platform and have dealt with a fixed TCU unit from their perspective. It was either stock, or flashed with the Alpina flash. This changes now.

As there's a great variance of Tunes out there, it will take Tuners some time to understand how to deal with xHP and the new possibilitys it offers. There was a public beta discussion in another Forum and one of the Tuners already dug into this topic a lot.

From our point of view, there are 2 things on the wish list:

- Prefer a rather linear throttle setup, which let's you work with the trans over the pedal. Massive boost on very low throttle distorts the setup and makes driving unpleasant. This ist not special to xHP, that was always the case. The reasons is that a lot of the maps (e.g. Shiftmaps) use the pedal position as a primary input. Not TQ, it's really only the pedal. So having loads of TQ on very little throttle makes the transmission behave other then it should behave.

- The reported TQ on CAN isn't just a fun figure to pull up and down, it's the primary input for line pressure for the transmission. On Stage 1 cars this does not matter that much, but as people are expecting greater torque capacity from the flash, we hav to make sure, there are the prerequesites there. If you're running 500 lbft, but you'r reporting only 350 on the CAN bus, the transmission will run with less line pressure then it should and it will start to slip. This starts long, before it's even noticeable to the driver. In our tests underreported TQ led to around 200 rpm slip at the TCC in a Stage 1 car. This is unnoticed by the driver, but leads to premature wear.

To be clear: No tuner has to change anything on his tune mandatory, because of xHP. If you were running your setup before with the Alpina flash and you have been pleased with it, then install xHP and give it a go. Your trans won't suffer more or less from that, as It was the case before. But if you wan't to make full use of the benefits the flash has, you might want to talk to your tuner. But this is nothing that has to happen instant, or is a prerequesite for using xHP.
Appreciate 0
      03-30-2017, 03:02 PM   #449
YasF80_SLO
Captain
YasF80_SLO's Avatar
United_States
219
Rep
654
Posts

Drives: F80
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: San Luis Obispo

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2015 BMW M3  [0.00]
2018 Nissan Versa S  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by RBT-Tuning View Post
I might add to that:

ECU Tuners have done their Job for years on the N54 platform and have dealt with a fixed TCU unit from their perspective. It was either stock, or flashed with the Alpina flash. This changes now.

As there's a great variance of Tunes out there, it will take Tuners some time to understand how to deal with xHP and the new possibilitys it offers. There was a public beta discussion in another Forum and one of the Tuners already dug into this topic a lot.

From our point of view, there are 2 things on the wish list:

- Prefer a rather linear throttle setup, which let's you work with the trans over the pedal. Massive boost on very low throttle distorts the setup and makes driving unpleasant. This ist not special to xHP, that was always the case. The reasons is that a lot of the maps (e.g. Shiftmaps) use the pedal position as a primary input. Not TQ, it's really only the pedal. So having loads of TQ on very little throttle makes the transmission behave other then it should behave.

- The reported TQ on CAN isn't just a fun figure to pull up and down, it's the primary input for line pressure for the transmission. On Stage 1 cars this does not matter that much, but as people are expecting greater torque capacity from the flash, we hav to make sure, there are the prerequesites there. If you're running 500 lbft, but you'r reporting only 350 on the CAN bus, the transmission will run with less line pressure then it should and it will start to slip. This starts long, before it's even noticeable to the driver. In our tests underreported TQ led to around 200 rpm slip at the TCC in a Stage 1 car. This is unnoticed by the driver, but leads to premature wear.

To be clear: No tuner has to change anything on his tune mandatory, because of xHP. If you were running your setup before with the Alpina flash and you have been pleased with it, then install xHP and give it a go. Your trans won't suffer more or less from that, as It was the case before. But if you wan't to make full use of the benefits the flash has, you might want to talk to your tuner. But this is nothing that has to happen instant, or is a prerequesite for using xHP.
What about the flashing issues above? any word on those?
Appreciate 0
      03-30-2017, 03:03 PM   #450
E92xiSS
Private
E92xiSS's Avatar
United_States
0
Rep
65
Posts

Drives: 08 Montego 335xi Coupe
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: NYC

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2013_E92 View Post
If you connect your car, it should list the MAPS that are Supported for your SPECIFIC Car, Also they each say if they are for AWD or RWD, USA or EU, LHD or RHD, N54 or n55.
thanks for letting me know.

Last edited by E92xiSS; 03-30-2017 at 04:41 PM..
Appreciate 0
      03-30-2017, 03:05 PM   #451
RBT-Tuning
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
RBT-Tuning's Avatar
Austria
696
Rep
750
Posts


Drives: 335i F31 xDrive
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Austria

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2013_E92 View Post
Im getting an error on my car, when I hook it up and try to connect it, Message is: "Sorry, We could not identify your vehicle" I can see the licenses store, but did anyone over RBT-Tuning update the app to support n55/n54 models??

I have a Production Date: 2013-05-01 N55 E92 2013

I connect it through the USB, Allow the APP to connect, and have the ignition switched ON, but the engine OFF.
The app can't talk to your CAS. Looks like there is no communication at all. You can shoot me your logfile to office -at- rbttuning -dot- com

Quote:
Originally Posted by natedog7700 View Post
Im getting a backup error.

After 100% completion of the back up, it says "handlecodingbackup failed - no data"
This is a already known "bug". xHP reads your TCU coding and then stores it at the end of the backup. But on TCU's that are not coded, it complains about the file beeing empty. If you retrieve your error codes, you will prolly see one "not coded" Error on the TCU. The quickfix is to code your TCU with NCS Expert, the longer fix is to wait a few days until we have the next app version out.
Appreciate 0
      03-30-2017, 03:10 PM   #452
YasF80_SLO
Captain
YasF80_SLO's Avatar
United_States
219
Rep
654
Posts

Drives: F80
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: San Luis Obispo

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2015 BMW M3  [0.00]
2018 Nissan Versa S  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by RBT-Tuning View Post
The app can't talk to your CAS. Looks like there is no communication at all. You can shoot me your logfile to office -at- rbttuning -dot- com



This is a already known "bug". xHP reads your TCU coding and then stores it at the end of the backup. But on TCU's that are not coded, it complains about the file beeing empty. If you retrieve your error codes, you will prolly see one "not coded" Error on the TCU. The quickfix is to code your TCU with NCS Expert, the longer fix is to wait a few days until we have the next app version out.

How / where do i get the log files from?
Appreciate 0
      03-30-2017, 03:16 PM   #453
natedog7700
Captain
natedog7700's Avatar
402
Rep
744
Posts

Drives: 07 335i RB's 625whp
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: milwaukee wi

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by RBT-Tuning View Post
The app can't talk to your CAS. Looks like there is no communication at all. You can shoot me your logfile to office -at- rbttuning -dot- com



This is a already known "bug". xHP reads your TCU coding and then stores it at the end of the backup. But on TCU's that are not coded, it complains about the file beeing empty. If you retrieve your error codes, you will prolly see one "not coded" Error on the TCU. The quickfix is to code your TCU with NCS Expert, the longer fix is to wait a few days until we have the next app version out.
Ohh well thats unfortunate! I guess ill wait a few more days here.... like 3 days? Lol

Last edited by natedog7700; 03-30-2017 at 03:48 PM..
Appreciate 0
      03-30-2017, 03:17 PM   #454
ANMVQ
Lieutenant
ANMVQ's Avatar
105
Rep
483
Posts

Drives: 2011 335XI Sedan
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Work :)

iTrader: (0)

About the TQ and actual values. Will Xhp help us that are seeing throttle closures because we are hitting the TQ limit?
__________________
2011 335XI
Appreciate 0
      03-30-2017, 03:33 PM   #455
GripAndRip
First Lieutenant
United_States
78
Rep
398
Posts

Drives: 2011 E90 335xi Auto
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Denver

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by ANMVQ View Post
About the TQ and actual values. Will Xhp help us that are seeing throttle closures because we are hitting the TQ limit?
It says Stage 3 removes/adapts torque limits so if hitting the torque ceiling is an issue, my guess is yes it would fix it. I'll leave it to RBT-Tuning for the confirmation.
__________________
2011 LCI E90 335xi Auto
|Wedge Performance Tune|Dinan Free Flow Exhaust|VRSF CP|K&N Drop-in|
FuTuRe - VRSF 7" FMIC - VRSF DP - Upgraded Oil Cooler
Appreciate 0
      03-30-2017, 03:44 PM   #456
PurePressure
Private
United_States
13
Rep
68
Posts

Drives: 2011 E90 335i X msport 6AT
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Salt Lake

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Another XHP Communication error

Same problem as "2013_E92"


Late 2011 build date,E90 N55 Xdrive Msport

Last edited by PurePressure; 03-30-2017 at 05:11 PM.. Reason: Update info
Appreciate 0
      03-30-2017, 03:52 PM   #457
YasF80_SLO
Captain
YasF80_SLO's Avatar
United_States
219
Rep
654
Posts

Drives: F80
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: San Luis Obispo

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2015 BMW M3  [0.00]
2018 Nissan Versa S  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by PurePressure View Post
Same problem as "2013_E92"


Late 2011 build date,E90 N55 msport..
Phew glad im not the only one, hope they get a fix for it soon. Fingers crossed!
Appreciate 0
      03-30-2017, 04:33 PM   #458
IllSic_Design
Lieutenant Colonel
IllSic_Design's Avatar
United_States
1028
Rep
1,805
Posts

Drives: 09 E92 335i
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Northern California

iTrader: (1)

Did a backup of my alpina flash this morning, everything went as planned. Didn't get to flash stage 3 map as I had to hurry and get to work as I was running late from the backup lol. I'm going to hopefully go flash it and test it on my lunch break in a few hours.
Appreciate 0
      03-30-2017, 04:41 PM   #459
E92xiSS
Private
E92xiSS's Avatar
United_States
0
Rep
65
Posts

Drives: 08 Montego 335xi Coupe
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: NYC

iTrader: (0)

so those of us who are running MHD tune, we should just stick with stock AT map? not MT or Alpina option?
Appreciate 0
      03-30-2017, 04:52 PM   #460
YasF80_SLO
Captain
YasF80_SLO's Avatar
United_States
219
Rep
654
Posts

Drives: F80
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: San Luis Obispo

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2015 BMW M3  [0.00]
2018 Nissan Versa S  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by IllSic_Design View Post
Did a backup of my alpina flash this morning, everything went as planned. Didn't get to flash stage 3 map as I had to hurry and get to work as I was running late from the backup lol. I'm going to hopefully go flash it and test it on my lunch break in a few hours.
Nice,

Please post some videos of it in action, mainly in M mode
Appreciate 0
      03-30-2017, 07:12 PM   #461
bahn
Lieutenant
United_States
333
Rep
595
Posts

Drives: 2007 E92 335i 6MT
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Iowa

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by RBT-Tuning View Post
The app can't talk to your CAS. Looks like there is no communication at all. You can shoot me your logfile to office -at- rbttuning -dot- com



This is a already known "bug". xHP reads your TCU coding and then stores it at the end of the backup. But on TCU's that are not coded, it complains about the file beeing empty. If you retrieve your error codes, you will prolly see one "not coded" Error on the TCU. The quickfix is to code your TCU with NCS Expert, the longer fix is to wait a few days until we have the next app version out.
Got the same error. What do we need to code in NCS Expert?
Appreciate 0
      03-30-2017, 07:51 PM   #462
natedog7700
Captain
natedog7700's Avatar
402
Rep
744
Posts

Drives: 07 335i RB's 625whp
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: milwaukee wi

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bahn View Post
Got the same error. What do we need to code in NCS Expert?
Yeah i know right! Hopefully it gets updated soon.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:54 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST