E90Post

The Tire Rack

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N57 / M57 Turbo Diesel Discussions - 335d > Mileage Correction Factor

02-15-2016, 08:21 PM   #1
QUIKDZL
First Lieutenant
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2010 335d

Mileage Correction Factor

This was my first post about a year ago, and as a noob, I didn't know how to post it without hijacking another thread. This information was valuable to me, so I thought I'd post it again properly. Maybe it'll help someone else. When I got my car, it was consistently reporting economy about 6.5% lower than actual, and this is how I fixed it. You can adjust what I call the on-board Mileage Correction Factor yourself using the BC Hidden Menus.

There are posts detailing all the menus, but the vast majority of it does not apply to our goal of adjusting the MCF, so I’ll simply give instructions for that.
• Car off, key out.
• Press and hold the trip odometer reset button (button) on the instrument panel.
• While holding said button depressed, insert keyfob into its slot, and then release button.

The display on your instrument panel where it normally displays the time, temperature, and miles accumulated (BMW calls this the BC) will display data in XX.YY format at the top and information below. The top line will read 01.00 indicating menu 1, submenu 0. The data below will read FGSTNR, German for vehicle chassis number. Below that on the bottom line will be the last seven digits of your VIN.
• Sum the last five digits of this number and write down the result. For example, if the number is XX24679, the correct sum is 2+4+6+7+9=28. This is your car’s unlock code.

Until you unlock the BC, only menus 01, 02, and 19 are available. We need to access menu 20. Pressing the button repeatedly will cycle between menus 02, 19, 01, etc.
• Press the button until BC displays menu 19.
• Pause for two seconds, BC will read 19.00