E90Post
 


TNT Racewerks
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > ConnectedDrive / I-Drive / Navigation Related Discussion > ~DIY: $130 Rear View Camera with OEM integration (vendors will hate me)~



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-22-2019, 11:14 PM   #991
Bmw330
Second Lieutenant
12
Rep
211
Posts

Drives: Bmw 330d
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Uk

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by derbo View Post
Did you test the camera separately? I tested the camera against my TV with a 12V source and it verified the camera was working.
What’s the best/easiest way to do that?

Last edited by Bmw330; 05-23-2019 at 01:50 AM..
Appreciate 0
      05-22-2019, 11:35 PM   #992
derbo
Keeper of Blinky Lights
derbo's Avatar
United_States
964
Rep
1,126
Posts

Drives: Beluga Whale
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Bay Area, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bmw330 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by derbo View Post
Did you test the camera separately? I tested the camera against my TV with a 12V source and it verified the camera was working.
What’s the best way to do that?
Power it with 12v to the red and ground it and test the yellow RCA to something that accepts it. I used my living room TV
__________________
Appreciate 0
      05-23-2019, 01:54 AM   #993
Bmw330
Second Lieutenant
12
Rep
211
Posts

Drives: Bmw 330d
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Uk

iTrader: (0)

So the tv should show the camera image?
Appreciate 0
      05-24-2019, 12:00 AM   #994
derbo
Keeper of Blinky Lights
derbo's Avatar
United_States
964
Rep
1,126
Posts

Drives: Beluga Whale
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Bay Area, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bmw330 View Post
So the tv should show the camera image?
It should. I saw it on mine.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      05-27-2019, 08:28 PM   #995
Zap
Private First Class
United_States
6
Rep
145
Posts

Drives: 2009 BMW M3 Convertible (JZB)
Join Date: May 2013
Location: West Bend, WI

iTrader: (0)

I'm looking to do this retrofit, but want to use the better emulator with the dynamic lines. Is Carsystems the emulator of choice, in that case? I posted a WTB in case someone has one floating around and emailed them, too, but they only take MoneyGram or Western Union for payment.

Has anyone else ordered direct in the past from them or has anyone had issues ordering direct? Thanks!
__________________
F30 (2017 340xi): 6MT Mineral Grey - CWP, DAP+, Lighting, M Sport, Tech, Track, M Rockers, MPPSK CF
E93 (2009 M3): 6MT Jerez Black - Ext Leather, CWP, Prem, Tech, Rear PDC, Premium Sound
M3 Retrofits [Alarm (with door sensors), FLA Mirror (Automatic High Beams), Dynamic RVC]
Past (6MT) 2007 E92 SG - 2007 E92 MB - 2014 F30 335xi EB II
Appreciate 0
      06-05-2019, 01:14 PM   #996
yuyuyuyu
Captain
51
Rep
874
Posts

Drives: 2008 E90 335i
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: NJ

iTrader: (3)

If anyone is looking for the plug and play emulator (with the quad lock harness), PM me. Went with another option as it won't work with my configuration (6MT and no PDC).
Appreciate 0
      06-07-2019, 09:17 PM   #997
TeinBMW
Lieutenant Colonel
104
Rep
1,976
Posts

Drives: 2011 335xi Msport, Conv, Tech
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Calgary

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2011 BMW 335xi  [3.50]
Can some please repost their trace file for their cic? I have a 2011 lci cic e92 and I think I may have turned off a setting whine coding as my bluetooth is stuck on "please wait" and my radio has no audio.

Anyone may no what is causing this?

Thanks!
__________________
|11 335XI N55 | M SPORT | VRSF CP | BMW PE | BMS INSTAKE | VRSF 7" IC | MHD STAGE 2+ | ER CP |
Appreciate 0
      06-08-2019, 12:34 AM   #998
derbo
Keeper of Blinky Lights
derbo's Avatar
United_States
964
Rep
1,126
Posts

Drives: Beluga Whale
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Bay Area, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TeinBMW View Post
Can some please repost their trace file for their cic? I have a 2011 lci cic e92 and I think I may have turned off a setting whine coding as my bluetooth is stuck on "please wait" and my radio has no audio.

Anyone may no what is causing this?

Thanks!
Did you use an extension harness? Did you move over the MOST fiber cables?
__________________
Appreciate 0
      06-08-2019, 12:55 AM   #999
TeinBMW
Lieutenant Colonel
104
Rep
1,976
Posts

Drives: 2011 335xi Msport, Conv, Tech
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Calgary

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2011 BMW 335xi  [3.50]
Quote:
Originally Posted by derbo View Post
Did you use an extension harness? Did you move over the MOST fiber cables?
I used the quadlock harness. I dont think I moved over the fiber cables. Do you have a picture?
__________________
|11 335XI N55 | M SPORT | VRSF CP | BMW PE | BMS INSTAKE | VRSF 7" IC | MHD STAGE 2+ | ER CP |
Appreciate 0
      06-08-2019, 01:15 AM   #1000
TeinBMW
Lieutenant Colonel
104
Rep
1,976
Posts

Drives: 2011 335xi Msport, Conv, Tech
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Calgary

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2011 BMW 335xi  [3.50]
Quote:
Originally Posted by derbo View Post
Did you use an extension harness? Did you move over the MOST fiber cables?
Everything else works on my car. Even the backup camera works like a charm. The only issue that I am noticing is the volume not working on my radio and my bluetooth is showing "Please wait". I do not recall moving over the fiber cables. Where were they attached to? Do they get attached to the quadlock harness?

Thanks man!
__________________
|11 335XI N55 | M SPORT | VRSF CP | BMW PE | BMS INSTAKE | VRSF 7" IC | MHD STAGE 2+ | ER CP |
Appreciate 0
      06-08-2019, 07:31 AM   #1001
derbo
Keeper of Blinky Lights
derbo's Avatar
United_States
964
Rep
1,126
Posts

Drives: Beluga Whale
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Bay Area, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TeinBMW View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by derbo View Post
Did you use an extension harness? Did you move over the MOST fiber cables?
Everything else works on my car. Even the backup camera works like a charm. The only issue that I am noticing is the volume not working on my radio and my bluetooth is showing "Please wait". I do not recall moving over the fiber cables. Where were they attached to? Do they get attached to the quadlock harness?

Thanks man!
If you look in the first post, there a green wire and black ribbed wire that needs to connect to the lock on the unit. You just need to unclip it from the original harness and move it over.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      06-08-2019, 03:32 PM   #1002
TeinBMW
Lieutenant Colonel
104
Rep
1,976
Posts

Drives: 2011 335xi Msport, Conv, Tech
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Calgary

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2011 BMW 335xi  [3.50]
Quote:
Originally Posted by derbo View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by TeinBMW View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by derbo View Post
Did you use an extension harness? Did you move over the MOST fiber cables?
Everything else works on my car. Even the backup camera works like a charm. The only issue that I am noticing is the volume not working on my radio and my bluetooth is showing "Please wait". I do not recall moving over the fiber cables. Where were they attached to? Do they get attached to the quadlock harness?

Thanks man!
If you look in the first post, there a green wire and black ribbed wire that needs to connect to the lock on the unit. You just need to unclip it from the original harness and move it over.
Sweet! got everything to work! Thank you
__________________
|11 335XI N55 | M SPORT | VRSF CP | BMW PE | BMS INSTAKE | VRSF 7" IC | MHD STAGE 2+ | ER CP |
Appreciate 0
      06-08-2019, 10:29 PM   #1003
Jagtem
Private
Jagtem's Avatar
United_States
21
Rep
70
Posts

Drives: 2006 330i / 2004 F150 /2009 R1
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: San Diego

iTrader: (0)

Hey guys, sorry if this has been covered already, but this thread is massive and I haven't read all 46+ pages yet. Will this work on a 2006 with first gen CCC? I don't even know if backup camera was an option in '06... the screen is certainly very lo-def so I don't know if it would work...?
Appreciate 0
      06-21-2019, 05:04 PM   #1004
dextersl
Enlisted Member
dextersl's Avatar
9
Rep
31
Posts

Drives: 2011 335d MSport Le-Mans Blue
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: East Coast

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by danaite View Post
if your emulator doesn't provide any power you must pick a source that is powered only on Reverse mode. so the reverse light is the easiest way to do this. aussuming it's providing enough current when it's lighted up


yes and no. your rca female adaptor goes directly on the quadlock at the back of your CIC unit. with or without quadlock harness extension. as you see 1st img RCA is plugged on MALE original harness and 2nd img RCA is pugged on MALE after market harness

https://www.e90post.com/forums/attac...1&d=1522754273 (img oversized)

can you post some pics of these two screens you get.
and can you send me your FSW_PSW.TRC from CIC just to compare with mine
hey danaite,
I in post #945 you mentioned that you had success using the Plug and Play harness you ordered from Aliexpress.

You also mentioned the following:
"little welding on +12v (yellow wire not white as everyone) from emulator"

But in your 2nd picture in post#962, the picture of the PnP harness shows a white wire coming out of your emulator connection which I am assuming is the +12v power source for the camera.


So in post#945 did you mean that you extended the length of the +12v white wire by welding/soldering a yellow wire to it or was your +12V wire actually all yellow?

Just want to confirm that the one you have is the same one still listed on Aliexpress link which shows a white +12V wire.

Thanks!
Appreciate 0
      06-21-2019, 06:15 PM   #1005
dextersl
Enlisted Member
dextersl's Avatar
9
Rep
31
Posts

Drives: 2011 335d MSport Le-Mans Blue
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: East Coast

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by derbo View Post
Here are the pics of the emulator with different wires.
Ok, after looking through the thread again I now realize that was not a picture of danaite's actual PnP adapter.

My understanding is that the emulators with the 5 wires are the ones that will supposedly work like the one in the second picture of derbo's post#960.


derbo, is the picture of the second emulator the one you actually used?

danaite, did your PnP emulator have 5 wires like the one in derbo's second picture?
Appreciate 0
      06-22-2019, 11:20 AM   #1006
derbo
Keeper of Blinky Lights
derbo's Avatar
United_States
964
Rep
1,126
Posts

Drives: Beluga Whale
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Bay Area, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dextersl View Post
Ok, after looking through the thread again I now realize that was not a picture of danaite's actual PnP adapter.

My understanding is that the emulators with the 5 wires are the ones that will supposedly work like the one in the second picture of derbo's post#960.


derbo, is the picture of the second emulator the one you actually used?

danaite, did your PnP emulator have 5 wires like the one in derbo's second picture?

Yes. The 2nd pic is what worked. The first PnP I had did not work. I am led to believe it is different because it is a CIC emulator + RVC vs RVC only.
__________________
Appreciate 1
      06-22-2019, 08:14 PM   #1007
dextersl
Enlisted Member
dextersl's Avatar
9
Rep
31
Posts

Drives: 2011 335d MSport Le-Mans Blue
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: East Coast

iTrader: (0)

Thanks for the response derbo!

Funny thing is, I was not even looking into this until I started reading through the " JoyeAuto Apple CarPlay/Android Auto Retrofit" thread and figured if I am going take everything apart, why not add the Reverse Camera too while I am in there. And go figure, you were working on both efforts as well!

I originally wanted to have the dynamic lines as well with my setup, but I am not willing to pay the premium for the emulator's that provide that. Thought about getting one of those cameras with it built in but it is not the same as the oem look, so would rather go no lines at all if I can't get the oem look.

Thanks again. Hopefully when I get all my parts, it will go as smooth as it did with the final setup of your brothers car. ( by the way, I have a 335 diesel like your bro too!
Appreciate 0
      06-24-2019, 09:08 AM   #1008
HB E90
Private First Class
HB E90's Avatar
22
Rep
146
Posts

Drives: 2010 E90 335i Space Gray
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: So Cal

iTrader: (0)

subd.
__________________
2010 E90 SG 335i Sport, Premium, Nav. MHD E30, VRSF CP and FMIC, Apex EC-7's and Michelin PS4S, Cree 6000k H8 LED Angel eyes
2011 Toyota Tacoma DC TRDOR 4x4 lifted and armored
2014 Acura MDX SHAWD wifes
Appreciate 0
      07-23-2019, 09:12 PM   #1009
Zap
Private First Class
United_States
6
Rep
145
Posts

Drives: 2009 BMW M3 Convertible (JZB)
Join Date: May 2013
Location: West Bend, WI

iTrader: (0)

Ok, so I had originally asked about wire routing for the E93, but there is a Bimmertech video that answered all my questions, and I was right about the route used for the cable.

I could use details as to how securely the new handle/camera assembly is supposed to fit into the trunk lid. There appear to be a number of areas molded into the plastic that look like they would snap into the housing and secure it, but they don't all seem to snap in, especially the small ones facing the front. Generally speaking is this normal for the new handle or is mine possibly defective? I feel like it took more effort to remove the OEM handle than the new one, which I can pop out without using a screwdriver if I pull on it.

Thanks for any info you might be able to provide!
__________________
F30 (2017 340xi): 6MT Mineral Grey - CWP, DAP+, Lighting, M Sport, Tech, Track, M Rockers, MPPSK CF
E93 (2009 M3): 6MT Jerez Black - Ext Leather, CWP, Prem, Tech, Rear PDC, Premium Sound
M3 Retrofits [Alarm (with door sensors), FLA Mirror (Automatic High Beams), Dynamic RVC]
Past (6MT) 2007 E92 SG - 2007 E92 MB - 2014 F30 335xi EB II
Appreciate 0
      07-24-2019, 08:31 PM   #1010
niteshadesc2
Rank Novice BMW owner.
0
Rep
1
Posts

Drives: 2009 328xi w/ CIC 6spd Manual
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Kingston Ontario Canada

iTrader: (0)

I am a new owner of a pre-owned 2009 E90 BMW 328xi with CIC and a manual transmission. I do not have PDC.

I would like to retrofit a Backup camera, and I am not opposed to spending some modest money to get one, but the bimmertech emulator units are just simply outrageously priced, leaving me with the DIY option.

I have read much of this massive thread, and It appears some people say they have completed this job on a manual transmission car, and others say they completed it without PDC. But has anyone completed it with both a manual without PDC?

If so, what emulator did you use?
Thanks, Niteshade
Appreciate 0
      07-29-2019, 03:19 PM   #1011
brettcp
First Lieutenant
United_States
91
Rep
316
Posts

Drives: 2012 E93 M3
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: So Cal

iTrader: (2)

Is there any way to have the brightness/contrast settings saved ? It seems that they reset to default values (0% brightness, 50% contrast) every time you start up the car.

If not, can the default values be changed via coding? Thanks!
Appreciate 0
      07-30-2019, 12:35 AM   #1012
vespa
Second Lieutenant
141
Rep
290
Posts

Drives: 2011 335i
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Thousand Oaks

iTrader: (0)

Just use the Carsystems emulator if you want contrast or lines or stickshift or whatever.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
reverse camera

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:30 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST