E90Post
 


TNT Racewerks
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > ISTA-D help



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-21-2019, 04:05 PM   #1
JC70e90
Enlisted Member
United_States
2
Rep
32
Posts

Drives: Bmw 335i
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Mason Ohio

iTrader: (0)

ISTA-D help

I need to run the Vanos test on Ista-d to check my vanos system. So I'm trying to decide the best route to go.
I see where there's a one click option on eBay I will probably go that route since I'm not great with computers. Is this a good option? I think it cost $30. I currently only have Chromebooks so I will need to purchase a windows computer. I have a cheap obd2 to USB cable that works for mhd. Will it likely work with the ista as well? Is there any other hardware, or software I would need? Thanks
Appreciate 0
      06-22-2019, 05:15 AM   #2
socalcoding
Private First Class
28
Rep
155
Posts

Drives: BMW M3
Join Date: May 2019
Location: San Diego

iTrader: (0)

The kdcan you use for mhd will work fine with ista. I recommend installing the bimmergeeks version as it's simple to setup. Bimmergeeks.net/downloads
Appreciate 0
      06-24-2019, 01:14 PM   #3
JC70e90
Enlisted Member
United_States
2
Rep
32
Posts

Drives: Bmw 335i
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Mason Ohio

iTrader: (0)

Thanks!
Appreciate 0
      07-16-2019, 06:44 AM   #4
nashville_bill
New Member
9
Rep
18
Posts

Drives: BMW 330i 2006 e90
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Nashville, TN

iTrader: (0)

I need help getting ISTA to work.

I have downloaded and extracted the 4.13.11 ISTA files from the below link, but I've come to a problem running ISTAGUI.exe. I get an error box that just says Failed to start ISTA.

I would appreciate any help anyone could offer, that could get me back on track.

I've installed this on a Windows 7 Pro (64bit) laptop with 4 GB of Ram.
I wasn't able to load the older versions of NET Framework, as directed in the instructions, because Windows will not let you install older versions if you already have newer versions installed.

I think I may not have the correct files in the correct directories. Could someone help me with which files go in which directories?

Thanks in advance,

Bill

https://onedrive.live.com/?authkey=%...B5EF816337D794
Appreciate 0
      07-16-2019, 09:57 AM   #5
roadkillrob
Major General
United_States
568
Rep
5,091
Posts

Drives: 08 335i,19 X5 35i,14 C63 AMG
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston

iTrader: (15)

I just did this

https://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1220039

Just get the full version, free VM software and all set with ISTA works like a top if you don't want to go through all the pain of installing and getting it to work natively (also lets you keep updates and other things from breaking it as it is separate for your normal OS stuff.)
__________________
2019 X540i Phytonic Blue M-Sport
2008 E93 335i FBO
2014 Mercedes C63 507 Edition
Appreciate 1
      07-16-2019, 12:07 PM   #6
ctuna
Major General
919
Rep
9,270
Posts

Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

iTrader: (0)

The newer versions of netframework will work they just have to be
be more current than the minimum value. Also you need to have all
current versions of microsoft C++ redistributeables . Unless you have
an Apple computer there is no need for a Virtual machine it just slows
an already overtaxed computer down.
Also for ista d you need about 20 to 50 gigs of free disk space.
In most installs it requires that standard tools be set up first to run
a K/D can cable as far as I know.
The Bimmergeeks.net downloads are some of the easiest they are not
one button installs though.
We know that one works and what the problems are with the install
if any . If you do it right it will work.

And actually that install looks pretty convoluted to.
Both of them.

Last edited by ctuna; 07-16-2019 at 01:05 PM..
Appreciate 1
      07-18-2019, 08:14 AM   #7
nashville_bill
New Member
9
Rep
18
Posts

Drives: BMW 330i 2006 e90
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Nashville, TN

iTrader: (0)

ctuna,

Thanks for the response. I'll try the Bimmergeeks download and see what happens.

Bill
Appreciate 0
      07-19-2019, 10:08 AM   #8
nashville_bill
New Member
9
Rep
18
Posts

Drives: BMW 330i 2006 e90
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Nashville, TN

iTrader: (0)

I have downloaded, extracted, and installed ISTA-D per the installation instructions.

The only thing that didn't install is an older version of .Net Framework, because a newer version was already installed.

I can now open ISTAGUI.exe!

System Tools was previously installed and working, but now INPA doesn't recognize the K+DCAN cable. I deleted the cable from my computer and reinstalled it and the drivers, but it still isn't recognized by INPA. I made it COM 1. I guess this will be my next project.

This is a Dell Latitude D830 running Win 7 Pro 64 bit, with 4 GB of RAM and 363 GB of free disk space.

Thanks for your help.

Bill
Appreciate 0
      07-19-2019, 10:35 AM   #9
ctuna
Major General
919
Rep
9,270
Posts

Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

iTrader: (0)

If you use the Bimmegeeks download it specifically tells you to
install Standard Tools and get is working first.
Appreciate 0
      07-19-2019, 06:22 PM   #10
nashville_bill
New Member
9
Rep
18
Posts

Drives: BMW 330i 2006 e90
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Nashville, TN

iTrader: (0)

Mr. Tuna,

As I said, it was working before I installed the Bimmergeeks software.
"System Tools was previously installed and working, but now INPA doesn't recognize the K+DCAN cable."

Thanks,

Bill

Last edited by nashville_bill; 07-19-2019 at 06:24 PM.. Reason: Added information
Appreciate 0
      07-19-2019, 10:18 PM   #11
ctuna
Major General
919
Rep
9,270
Posts

Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

iTrader: (0)

Always check you com1 port settings before running diagnostics
or coding. Also when you set up Ista D you have to tell it which interface
settings to use the first time you run it .
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      07-20-2019, 11:28 AM   #12
nashville_bill
New Member
9
Rep
18
Posts

Drives: BMW 330i 2006 e90
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Nashville, TN

iTrader: (0)

I reinstalled INPA and everything works now. Thanks for all the help!

Bill
Appreciate 0
      07-20-2019, 01:26 PM   #13
ctuna
Major General
919
Rep
9,270
Posts

Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

iTrader: (0)

If you have trouble seeing all the Ista D screen resize your
screen resolution on the device you have for the Ista D
session.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:33 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST