E90Post
 


BPM
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > MSD80 to MSD81 DME Questions



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-12-2018, 02:35 PM   #1
Cyrix2k
New Member
5
Rep
12
Posts

Drives: 2008 335i 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Frederick, MD

iTrader: (0)

MSD80 to MSD81 DME Questions

I recently purchased a 9/07 build 2008 335i not knowing the early '08s received the MSD80 DMEs. I'd like to switch to the newer MSD81 so that I don't have deal with the MSD80 mosfet problems (have a set on the way just in case). How does this affect emissions readiness? I've read that used MSD81s cannot have their VINs updated. Here in Maryland, we use an OBD-II emissions test that also pulls the VIN. Will this emissions test reflect the used DME's VIN or does another module (junction box?) report the VIN instead. Any help is most appreciated!
Appreciate 0
      03-12-2018, 04:59 PM   #2
feuer
Major General
feuer's Avatar
United_States
2856
Rep
6,798
Posts

Drives: wife crazy!
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Chicago, IL

iTrader: (4)

I have 4/2008 335i with swapped msd81 linked via INS and still showing donor VIN and build date. No issues with emission testing in IL. I think that they scan the bar code on the door pillar for the VIN as OBD doesn't give that info. Maybe in your state would be different but I doubt it.
Appreciate 0
      03-12-2018, 05:45 PM   #3
Cyrix2k
New Member
5
Rep
12
Posts

Drives: 2008 335i 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Frederick, MD

iTrader: (0)

Thanks for chiming in. I have two options for the test: 1) 24 hour kiosk that is completely automated via OBD-II. This is my preferred method. 2) Traditional station test. They still plug an OBD-II scanner in, but this test includes a visual inspection.

If I'm reading the OBD-II spec correctly, mode 9, PID 1 provides the VIN. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/OBD-II_PIDs Some of the official literature I've found states "Once communication is established, the VEIP test equipment queries the appropriate ECUs. Monitor readiness, MIL status, active codes (if MIL is “ON”) and VIN are among the data requested and examined during the test." I have no idea what happens if the VIN doesn't match. Voluntary testing exists where the test is run but the results don't count. I'm really curious what would happen...
Appreciate 0
      03-13-2018, 11:14 AM   #4
JuniorB
Captain
155
Rep
971
Posts

Drives: 07 e60 525 3si and nitrous
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Rhode Island

iTrader: (0)

This is also my concern when I swap my n52 with a n54. Swapping over to msv80 from msv70, that it's going to read the donor car vin. Here in RI, it's obd plug in. I've seen in other treads that the ecu can be re written with your existing vin.
Appreciate 1
denobd17.00

      07-15-2018, 11:14 AM   #5
Rollintwinturbo
Registered
0
Rep
2
Posts

Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Palm Springs

iTrader: (0)

Hey I got a 07 335i with the msd80 my mosfets went out so I ended up buying a msd81 people say you can’t just swap that you have to get it coded or the car won’t start is this true
Appreciate 0
      07-15-2018, 09:54 PM   #6
langsbr
Second Lieutenant
154
Rep
219
Posts

Drives: 335i
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: SC

iTrader: (0)

Not sure if it will do it, but I think the new Bimmergeeks ProTool app should let you change the VIN. I wish it could do ISN writes, but that takes too much money out of the Autohex pockets.

Rollintwinturbo - you need it more than coded. You will need to send your existing keys and CAS module along with the MSD81 to the programmer (or just the CAS and keys if getting the DME from them). They will marry the new DME to the CAS so the car will run. Most of the websites charge in the $4 - 500 range for this service, but I've found some on ebay that will do it for $200.

Another thing to note is that MHD is tied to VIN. I believe you can email Martial and they will transfer your license to the new DME if needed.
Appreciate 0
      07-15-2018, 10:04 PM   #7
Rollintwinturbo
Registered
0
Rep
2
Posts

Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Palm Springs

iTrader: (0)

I got the msd81 off a friends wrecked car and it came with the cas and two keys he said long as I use the same cas the came with it the car would run
Appreciate 0
      07-16-2018, 08:32 AM   #8
Boland01
Lieutenant
United_States
108
Rep
434
Posts

Drives: 2010 535ix, 2008, 2007 335i
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Magnolia, TX

iTrader: (0)

On our 2007 the MSD80 gave up the ghost. The BMW dealer replaced it with a MSD81. Bad news it wasn't cheap though.
Appreciate 0
      07-24-2018, 11:45 AM   #9
catcher22
Captain
270
Rep
912
Posts

Drives: 2008 335xi Coupe
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Virginia

iTrader: (2)

Just replace the MOSFETs on your MSD80. It's quicker, cheaper, will provide the exact same result (a working DME) and a lot less headache IMO.

You keep your VIN, your keys (CAS), no coding, and get your emissions done on time.
Appreciate 0
      07-24-2018, 08:14 PM   #10
langsbr
Second Lieutenant
154
Rep
219
Posts

Drives: 335i
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: SC

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by catcher22 View Post
Just replace the MOSFETs on your MSD80. It's quicker, cheaper, will provide the exact same result (a working DME) and a lot less headache IMO.

You keep your VIN, your keys (CAS), no coding, and get your emissions done on time.
Plus, MSD80 does map writes faster (which is weird since its K-line instead of DCAN.)
Appreciate 0
      12-28-2018, 10:59 AM   #11
bimmertt
Lieutenant Colonel
bimmertt's Avatar
58
Rep
1,775
Posts

Drives: 2007 e92 335i
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Earth

iTrader: (7)

Can anyone confirm that the VIN can be updated using coding software like BimmerGeeks ProTools? If it can be updated, will it work seamlessly with MHD or will I still have an issue there? If the VIN issue can be addressed, upgrading to MSD81 seems easier. I don't even know where I'd begin to look for someone to replace MOSFETs and I'd run the risk of this happening again in the future. Wasn't fun being stranded this morning.
Appreciate 0
      12-28-2018, 11:46 AM   #12
torrque
First Lieutenant
torrque's Avatar
80
Rep
362
Posts

Drives: 335xi sedan
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Newton, MA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
you cannot change the VIN on the DME, don't fool yourself. Once you swap the DME, your MHD software is no longer working, as it's burned on the VIN. I did the same thing, and I had to speak to MHD and send them screenshots of my new vin, so they did a refund on the old vin, and I bought again MHD for the new vin.

It's complicated, and I would only do it if DME is faulty or suspected faulty, like in my case.
__________________
2008 BMW 335xi sedan 6sp manual - MHD stage 1, Helix stepped core intercooler
2016 Shelby GT350 Track Pack - Stock.
2001 VW Golf GTI VR6 - Giac stage 1
Appreciate 0
      12-28-2018, 12:44 PM   #13
IllSic_Design
Major
IllSic_Design's Avatar
United_States
482
Rep
1,001
Posts

Drives: 09 E92 335i
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Northern California

iTrader: (1)

I have a guy that I do maintenance work for that just had his MSD80 on his 07 swapped to a MSD81 as his mosfets went out and the guys who did the replacement fried his MSD80. Anyways I don't believe he had to renew his MHD maps or anything as far as I know, I will ask him about it and see what they did when they switched him to MSd81.
Appreciate 0
      12-28-2018, 12:47 PM   #14
bimmertt
Lieutenant Colonel
bimmertt's Avatar
58
Rep
1,775
Posts

Drives: 2007 e92 335i
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Earth

iTrader: (7)

I'm definitely seeing conflicting information out there. Maybe vendors are doing the programming differently.
Appreciate 0
      12-28-2018, 12:57 PM   #15
IllSic_Design
Major
IllSic_Design's Avatar
United_States
482
Rep
1,001
Posts

Drives: 09 E92 335i
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Northern California

iTrader: (1)

Ok yeah I confirmed with my buddy that he bought a brand new MSD81, which has no problems being written with a new Vin of course.
Appreciate 0
      12-28-2018, 01:04 PM   #16
nissubaru
First Lieutenant
72
Rep
328
Posts

Drives: 09 335i MSport + 1990 300ZX TT
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Philadelphia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by torrque View Post
you cannot change the VIN on the DME, don't fool yourself. Once you swap the DME, your MHD software is no longer working, as it's burned on the VIN. I did the same thing, and I had to speak to MHD and send them screenshots of my new vin, so they did a refund on the old vin, and I bought again MHD for the new vin.

It's complicated, and I would only do it if DME is faulty or suspected faulty, like in my case.
I wonder if MHD would unlock all the shit for my car that's been paid for but under a different Google Play account. Previous owner bought everything and included it with a tablet. However I switched out the Play account and then all the MHD shit was locked again. Probably not considering he set up the VIN lock and Play account lock as two separate functions.
Appreciate 0
      12-28-2018, 01:14 PM   #17
Cyrix2k
New Member
5
Rep
12
Posts

Drives: 2008 335i 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Frederick, MD

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by nissubaru View Post
I wonder if MHD would unlock all the shit for my car that's been paid for but under a different Google Play account. Previous owner bought everything and included it with a tablet. However I switched out the Play account and then all the MHD shit was locked again. Probably not considering he set up the VIN lock and Play account lock as two separate functions.
On newer MHD versions it should read both the DME and CAS VINs, the latter of which remains the same. I've been developing an app as well and am currently reading the CAS VIN for licensing. The bigger issue for me is that my state emissions inspection reads the DME VIN which won't match on a used DME (although I have one vendor on ebay that claims they can change the VIN. Smells like bull to me).
Appreciate 0
      12-28-2018, 02:36 PM   #18
nissubaru
First Lieutenant
72
Rep
328
Posts

Drives: 09 335i MSport + 1990 300ZX TT
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Philadelphia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cyrix2k View Post
On newer MHD versions it should read both the DME and CAS VINs, the latter of which remains the same. I've been developing an app as well and am currently reading the CAS VIN for licensing. The bigger issue for me is that my state emissions inspection reads the DME VIN which won't match on a used DME (although I have one vendor on ebay that claims they can change the VIN. Smells like bull to me).
I think it's BimmerGeeks or someone on here who does remote coding. I would hit them up to see what they say about changing the VIN. I've only checked the coding on my battery and registered it to my vehicle so I'm a bit of a noob in this area. It looks doable though based on a quick Google search.

Although like another poster mentioned, you might be better off just replacing the MOSFETS as needed and sticking with MSD80
Appreciate 0
      12-28-2018, 04:48 PM   #19
JuniorB
Captain
155
Rep
971
Posts

Drives: 07 e60 525 3si and nitrous
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Rhode Island

iTrader: (0)

There has to be certain software for certain people to rewrite a vin. I would hope for security reasons it couldn't be done. That's some gone in 60 sec.shit!
Appreciate 0
      12-28-2018, 04:49 PM   #20
JuniorB
Captain
155
Rep
971
Posts

Drives: 07 e60 525 3si and nitrous
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Rhode Island

iTrader: (0)

Then again I've heard it's easier to tune the msv80 than the 81. There are a few vendors that can do this.
Appreciate 0
      12-28-2018, 05:11 PM   #21
Cyrix2k
New Member
5
Rep
12
Posts

Drives: 2008 335i 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Frederick, MD

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by nissubaru View Post
I think it's BimmerGeeks or someone on here who does remote coding. I would hit them up to see what they say about changing the VIN. I've only checked the coding on my battery and registered it to my vehicle so I'm a bit of a noob in this area. It looks doable though based on a quick Google search.

Although like another poster mentioned, you might be better off just replacing the MOSFETS as needed and sticking with MSD80
Quote:
Originally Posted by JuniorB View Post
There has to be certain software for certain people to rewrite a vin. I would hope for security reasons it couldn't be done. That's some gone in 60 sec.shit!
The VIN is in a one time programmable area of the DME that no one has managed to blank out to my knowledge (I did a lot of research after making the initial post). Like you said, it's done for security reasons. It was possible to change the VIN on older DMEs though (I actually have a different DME installed in my e39 right now with a correct VIN and ISN).

Also, this is purely academic for me right now. My DME is currently fine, I wanted to replace it because I'm worried about the MOSFETs dying and leaving me stranded. I do have have a bag of 20 new MOSFETs ready to go though
Appreciate 0
      12-29-2018, 04:46 PM   #22
torrque
First Lieutenant
torrque's Avatar
80
Rep
362
Posts

Drives: 335xi sedan
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Newton, MA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Changing the CAS and DME once they are paired together is a 20 minute affair... an MSD81 is just as easy to program, and is worry free. The CAS has to be programmed to the new DME, so they can talk to each other (they use an encryption key for security purposes), and the car won't start unless they are paired. You can keep your cas and keys if you program it to the new DME... Guy from the N54 board does this for a living and it's not expensive either, he did mine I highly recommend it.

If you have MHD running on the MSD80 DME, I would just let it go and run with it. My other 335i I had 3 years ago ran like a champ with the old DME and Jb4, never had a problem with the DME...
__________________
2008 BMW 335xi sedan 6sp manual - MHD stage 1, Helix stepped core intercooler
2016 Shelby GT350 Track Pack - Stock.
2001 VW Golf GTI VR6 - Giac stage 1
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:43 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST