Tirerack
Use the following links to go directly to useful tirerack winter items: Tirerack Winter Tires. Gary's Winter Tire FAQ.
Using the links directly supports E90Post with tirerack sales commision!

  E90Post
 


The Tire Rack

   PLEASE HELP SUPPORT E90POST BY DOING YOUR TIRERACK SHOPPING FROM THIS BANNER, THANKS!
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > Wheels and Tires Forum Sponsored by The Tire Rack > Can I run with no TPMS at the track?



Wheels and Tires forum Sponsored by The Tire Rack
Please help to directly support e90post by doing your tirerack shopping from the above link. For every sale made through the link, e90post gets sponsor support to keep the site alive. Disclaimer

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      09-21-2019, 01:23 PM   #1
BryanH
New Member
2
Rep
16
Posts

Drives: 2011 328i Sedan (6MT), MR2T
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Central California

iTrader: (0)

Can I run with no TPMS at the track?

2011 328i sedan with Sport package. TPMS system is working and happy. My searches haven't yielded an answer to this question:

If I go to an autocross and change to wheels with no TPMS sensors, and I have my TPMS-equipped wheels in the paddock area that I return to from time to time, will the car allow me to drive at the limit for the entire day? Or might it force some level of traction control or stability control on?

Thanks!

Last edited by BryanH; 09-21-2019 at 02:20 PM..
Appreciate 0
      09-22-2019, 11:14 AM   #2
weehe126
Colonel
567
Rep
2,153
Posts

Drives: 2011 335i
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: San Antonio

iTrader: (1)

You will just get a tpms warning light.
Appreciate 0
      09-25-2019, 01:53 PM   #3
BryanH
New Member
2
Rep
16
Posts

Drives: 2011 328i Sedan (6MT), MR2T
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Central California

iTrader: (0)

Thank you!
Appreciate 0
      10-10-2019, 06:16 PM   #4
nzero
New Member
2
Rep
17
Posts

Drives: 2008 328xi M-Sport
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Canada

iTrader: (0)

on my 2008 328xi with sport package, there is no TPMS inside the rims. I just did a rim swap yesterday. the car does alert when tire pressure is low/high
Appreciate 0
      Today, 08:56 AM   #5
langsbr
Second Lieutenant
176
Rep
235
Posts

Drives: 335i
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: SC

iTrader: (0)

You could disable tpms and enable abs sensor based ftm (flat tire monitor) like European models have. That's what I did. It makes tpms battery issues a thing of the past as well. The only reason US has tpms is because of arbitrary regulation that says it must measure pressure and not just tell you if one is low.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:42 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST