Tirerack
Use the following links to go directly to useful tirerack winter items: Tirerack Winter Tires. Gary's Winter Tire FAQ.
Using the links directly supports E90Post with tirerack sales commision!

E90Post

The Tire Rack

PLEASE HELP SUPPORT E90POST BY DOING YOUR TIRERACK SHOPPING FROM THIS BANNER, THANKS!

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > Wheels and Tires Forum Sponsored by The Tire Rack > Cannot take off wheel studs

Wheels and Tires forum Sponsored by The Tire Rack
Please help to directly support e90post by doing your tirerack shopping from the above link. For every sale made through the link, e90post gets sponsor support to keep the site alive. Disclaimer

07-24-2015, 09:51 AM   #1
dannyhagh
Registered
Rep
Drives: 2009 335xi

Cannot take off wheel studs

Hello this is my first post as i am brand new to this website and in need of help. I probably sound like a complete newb but i am unable to take my tires off. My tires have studs instead of lug nuts and i have tried multiple things from the bmw tool to the four way tool even to an actual electric power gun and the studs have not budged. I dont think they are rusted as its a fairly new car (2009 335xi). Somebody told me i need to take the weight off the wheel and do it but i am afraid because i only have the bmw jack and dont want the car crashing down if it moves. I have looked at other threads as well but none have to do with taking studs off but are about rusted lug nuts or tire being stuck on. If anybody has any tips that would be great. Thanks!
Appreciate 0
      07-24-2015, 10:07 AM   #2
shadow191
Lieutenant Colonel
Rep
Drives: 2017 Volvo XC90 R-Design

You may just need more leverage. I'd try a breaker bar or "cheater pipe" or something similar to get more leverage. I'd leave the wheels on the ground until you have broken the studs free, that's not causing your problem. Sometimes these things just seize, especially if they haven't been off in a while.