E90Post
 


The Tire Rack
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > BQ Tuning 4bar TMAP Sensor Review



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-05-2016, 05:26 AM   #1
BQTuning
Banned
United_States
442
Rep
4,443
Posts

Drives: 2012 Z4 sDrive35i M Sport 6MT
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: bq@bqtuning.com

iTrader: (0)

BQ Tuning 4bar TMAP Sensor Review

This pertains only to those that are flash only tuned. I am assuming everyone knows where to get the 4bar TMAP sensor from as I am not going to mention it on this site .

Finally, I decided to get myself an upgraded TMAP sensor, but good thing I held off as long as I did from getting the N20 TMAP sensor as its more expensive than the Bosch 4bar TMAP sensor

Im on stock turbos still, and if your looking to hit 20 PSI, or more, get yourself an upgraded TMAP sensor. In fact, I personally would suggest doing it earlier from 18+ psi. I highly recommend the 4bar sensor, and then later if you decide to upgrade your turbos then your all set with this part.

Boost scaling, many of you are going to hear this a lot pertaining to boost and other stuff. An upgraded TMAP is very important for this especially on MHD

Now getting down to the nitty gritty. This is what to expect with the 4bar sensor when you get it unless the seller decides to be more kind and throw more stuff in the bag to save us a trip to the hardware store or tearing the garage apart.

ER Chargepipe
The hex screws from the TMAP will not work with the 4bar as the screws are too short. A longer screw, you only need one, comes with the sensor but it is not compatible with the ER Chargepipe, and I don't know about the other chargepipe makers

I heard the included screw is compatible with the c-Pe chargepipe TMAP housing. Other wise plan a head to start searching for a compatible screw for the TMAP sensor housing on your chargepipe.

Home Depot is your best friend, unless you got a bucket of bolts and screws to search through. I'm stressing this cause....its very frustrating looking for a damn screw that's holding you back from going out to play

The O-ring, plan to pick up a slightly fatter O ring also. It all depend on the chargepipe TMAP housing. The extra one that does come with 4bar TMAP sensor should do the job and fit snugged. I think mine was not snug enough so Im gonna have to get something a tiny bit more chubby to prevent a small boost leak as I think I got one now

You may want to also make yourself a small nicely cut piece of gasket to seat the TMAP on to prevent any type of leak as there is only a one screw support holding the TMAP sensor down.

Check Engine Light or CEL. If you are experiencing this after install. It means the TMAP settings in the map are wrong. More likely you will see the code 2ABD Intake pressure sensor, re-running.

I was able to resolve the issue and got the 4bar TMAP sensor calibrated correctly, running smoothly with absolutely no issues other than a possible small boost leak from one of the possible fixes above mentioned

These are the settings for the 4bar TMAP sensor for flash only applications.



External boost gauge verified

0.50v - 4.65v @ 4.65 Max voltage successful*

Last edited by BQTuning; 04-08-2016 at 05:28 PM..
Appreciate 0
      03-05-2016, 06:38 AM   #2
jtswole
First Lieutenant
40
Rep
394
Posts

Drives: 335i
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: FL

iTrader: (1)

Question. So when you dyno' your car at 490whp @25psi, you were on a stock sensor?
__________________
Cam only...
Appreciate 0
      03-05-2016, 07:00 AM   #3
OB
Lieutenant
Sweden
35
Rep
433
Posts

Drives: 335i wagon, Pure Stage 2+PI...
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Sweden

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Hi D!
Do u mind explaining the benefit with this sensor over the N20?
__________________
FBO 335i N54 WAGON
Pure Stage 2 Turbos
Port Injection
Stage 3 LPFP
E85...
Appreciate 0
      03-05-2016, 07:06 AM   #4
TGNY 335
Banned
195
Rep
372
Posts

Drives: 2007 335xi 6MT
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: US

iTrader: (0)

Iirc, for the 4bar you should be using the 3value custom map scaling table to set that up correctly.I could be mistaken.


Quote:
Originally Posted by OB View Post
Hi D!
Do u mind explaining the benefit with this sensor over the N20?

Price, and more resolution
Appreciate 0
      03-05-2016, 07:21 AM   #5
TGNY 335
Banned
195
Rep
372
Posts

Drives: 2007 335xi 6MT
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: US

iTrader: (0)

Also, which 4bar did you use? If it's the one from Terry BMS or identical from somewhere else the voltage is wrong also I believe. 4.65v I think was the max voltage on that sensor. But that's if it's the one from Terry
Appreciate 0
      03-05-2016, 10:49 AM   #6
BQTuning
Banned
United_States
442
Rep
4,443
Posts

Drives: 2012 Z4 sDrive35i M Sport 6MT
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: bq@bqtuning.com

iTrader: (0)

OP updated, screw issue only related to ER chargepipe that can be confirmed. I couldn't remember if I was using the the stock screws or the screws that came with the ER chargepipe.
Appreciate 0
      03-05-2016, 11:45 AM   #7
Mike@N54Tuning.com
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Canada
4131
Rep
107,076
Posts


Drives: 2007 335i, 2015 M3
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: N54tuning.com

iTrader: (89)

Quote:
Originally Posted by OB View Post
Hi D!
Do u mind explaining the benefit with this sensor over the N20?
4 BAR TMAP Sensor allows boost levels up to 43 PSI. I believe the 3.5 BAR was only up to 35/36.

Mike
Appreciate 0
      03-05-2016, 11:53 AM   #8
BQTuning
Banned
United_States
442
Rep
4,443
Posts

Drives: 2012 Z4 sDrive35i M Sport 6MT
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: bq@bqtuning.com

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jtswole View Post
Question. So when you dyno' your car at 490whp @25psi, you were on a stock sensor?
Yup, not recommended of course, was running an external boost gauge to monitor boost.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TGNY 335 View Post
Also, which 4bar did you use? If it's the one from Terry BMS or identical from somewhere else the voltage is wrong also I believe. 4.65v I think was the max voltage on that sensor. But that's if it's the one from Terry
It is from Mr T

Yes that is the circulating voltage settings, there is a min/max setting from what I understand v0.45/v4.65 and v0.50/v4.75 with max voltage set to v5.25 (different table) for both configurations. I might be wrong but so far so good. I took a log prior to receiving the 4 TMAP and boost is the same except for the leak and better resolution over the stock TMAP.

http://datazap.me/u/buraq/log-145697...21&zoom=60-139

Last edited by BQTuning; 03-05-2016 at 12:05 PM..
Appreciate 0
      03-05-2016, 12:15 PM   #9
V8bait
Lieutenant
402
Rep
579
Posts

Drives: e92 335i 6mt
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Houston

iTrader: (1)

First intelligent post I've seen from you, advocating upgraded TMAP sensors for once.

One correction though with any of these sensors you lose (not gain) resolution. You gain range in absolute pressure. The stock tmap has much more resolution for its pressure to voltage range, this is why there is a second tmap for vacuum, to provide better resolution when not in boost.

Also, if you use the voltage scaling table in MHD (not just the conversion table posted) you need to change a LOT of other tables. And setting the max voltage over 5v is useless the sensor just has a 5v reference and the only time you'd see that voltage is if the sensor was broken anyway, so setting it that high would only prevent you from knowing it's shorted (other than the obvious problems you'd get trying to drive).
Appreciate 3
JasW249.50

      03-05-2016, 12:36 PM   #10
BQTuning
Banned
United_States
442
Rep
4,443
Posts

Drives: 2012 Z4 sDrive35i M Sport 6MT
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: bq@bqtuning.com

iTrader: (0)

I went for the max settings last night, will try the low setting

v0.45/v4.65 with a v5.0 max voltage in the second table.

Ive tested with v4.85 max voltage in the second table with the lower conversion and it throws a CEL.
Appreciate 0
      03-06-2016, 11:29 AM   #11
3000GT MR
Major
3000GT MR's Avatar
United_States
258
Rep
1,395
Posts

Drives: 09 335i/3000gt vr4
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sav GA

iTrader: (6)

I'm not sure why you just wouldn't go with the n20. Besides being a little more expensive you get better resolution, better fitment, known proven values and plenty of head room
__________________
Have a single turbo and/or tired of burning up O2 sensors? Ask me about the new ADV O2 sensor retro kits!
335i 2010 e92 M-sport Mods: VM Top mount 6466, Aquamist HSF4 w/custom direct port. VRSF IC + Exhaust
335i 2009 e90 665RWHP VFF900 ST RIP .
Appreciate 3
      03-06-2016, 02:16 PM   #12
BQTuning
Banned
United_States
442
Rep
4,443
Posts

Drives: 2012 Z4 sDrive35i M Sport 6MT
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: bq@bqtuning.com

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3000GT MR View Post
I'm not sure why you just wouldn't go with the n20. Besides being a little more expensive you get better resolution, better fitment, known proven values and plenty of headroom
You have a valid point. For convenience, better resolution (V8bait corrected me above), better fitment then yes the N20 3.5bar sensor will be better but it will cost you more. Some people are deaf to this and only care about what is cheaper. The OP gives them heads up what to expect if they are going to go the cheaper route.

As for the resolution significant or insignificant difference between the 3.5 bar vs the 4 bar I will leave that to those who have a more refined grasp to explain it in more detail to be able to determine better choice cause I am sure more than half of the people buying sensors have no idea what people are talking about when sensor "resolution" is mentioned

We have this http://www.lionprecision.com/tech-li...esolution.html but I think it should be explained in more laymans term.
Appreciate 1
      03-06-2016, 02:21 PM   #13
Mike@N54Tuning.com
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Canada
4131
Rep
107,076
Posts


Drives: 2007 335i, 2015 M3
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: N54tuning.com

iTrader: (89)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BuraQ View Post
You have a valid point. For convenience, better resolution (V8bait corrected me above), better fitment then yes the N20 3.5bar sensor will be better but it will cost you more. Some people are deaf to this and only care about what is cheaper. The OP gives them heads up what to expect if they are going to go the cheaper route.

As for the resolution significant or insignificant difference between the 3.5 bar vs the 4 bar I will leave that to those who have a more refined grasp to explain it in more detail to be able to determine better choice cause I am sure more than half of the people buying sensors have no idea what people are talking about when sensor "resolution" is mentioned

We have this http://www.lionprecision.com/tech-li...esolution.html but I think it should be explained in more laymans term.
As has been mentioned many times the sensor resolution is fairly close between them. The 3.5bar is .5v to 4.5v (1.14v per bar) while the 4bar is .4v to 4.65v (1.06v per bar). The factory sensor is 1.6v per bar.

Mike
Appreciate 1
      03-06-2016, 06:32 PM   #14
BQTuning
Banned
United_States
442
Rep
4,443
Posts

Drives: 2012 Z4 sDrive35i M Sport 6MT
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: bq@bqtuning.com

iTrader: (0)

0.40v - 4.65v @ 4.85 Max voltage Fail
0.45v - 4.65v @ 4.85 Max voltage successful
0.50v - 4.65v @ 4.85 Max voltage successful

So which would be correct, 0.45v or 0.50v ? Ill drop max voltage to 4.75 but I think Ill keep it to 0.50v for start as it's further away from the problem of 0.40v and seems to be where all the previous TMAP sensors start from.

If anyone got a suggestion lmk

Last edited by BQTuning; 03-06-2016 at 06:40 PM..
Appreciate 0
      03-06-2016, 08:21 PM   #15
Mike@N54Tuning.com
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Canada
4131
Rep
107,076
Posts


Drives: 2007 335i, 2015 M3
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: N54tuning.com

iTrader: (89)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BuraQ View Post
0.40v - 4.65v @ 4.85 Max voltage Fail
0.45v - 4.65v @ 4.85 Max voltage successful
0.50v - 4.65v @ 4.85 Max voltage successful

So which would be correct, 0.45v or 0.50v ? Ill drop max voltage to 4.75 but I think Ill keep it to 0.50v for start as it's further away from the problem of 0.40v and seems to be where all the previous TMAP sensors start from.

If anyone got a suggestion lmk
You need to calibrate the sensor to your flash values as BMS did for the JB4 support. This involves connecting an external boost source to the sensor itself and then logging that against the flash interface at various boost levels as observed on an external gauge to ensure your calibration values match up.

Mike
Appreciate 1
      03-07-2016, 02:30 AM   #16
BQTuning
Banned
United_States
442
Rep
4,443
Posts

Drives: 2012 Z4 sDrive35i M Sport 6MT
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: bq@bqtuning.com

iTrader: (0)

0.40v - 4.65v @ 4.85 Max voltage Fail
0.45v - 4.65v @ 4.85 Max voltage successful
0.50v - 4.65v @ 4.85 Max voltage successful
0.50v - 4.65v @ 4.75 Max voltage successful

OP Updated with verified settings. Will try to get on dyno to verify boost if its right or needs to be calibrated correctly if needed.

Last edited by BQTuning; 03-07-2016 at 08:36 AM..
Appreciate 0
      03-08-2016, 01:00 AM   #17
jlcf22
Lieutenant
59
Rep
472
Posts

Drives: 335i09
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: bakersfield CA

iTrader: (0)

so whats the verdict on this? 4 or 3.5 bar? going to order one soon
Appreciate 0
      03-08-2016, 03:58 AM   #18
Indo Rider
Second Lieutenant
14
Rep
286
Posts

Drives: 135
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: United States

iTrader: (0)

This guy tunes people's cars for money?
Appreciate 1
      03-08-2016, 07:06 AM   #19
TGNY 335
Banned
195
Rep
372
Posts

Drives: 2007 335xi 6MT
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: US

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jlcf22 View Post
so whats the verdict on this? 4 or 3.5 bar? going to order one soon
If you're replacing it to actually utilize an upgraded sensors range. Then get the 4bar
Appreciate 0
      03-08-2016, 07:14 AM   #20
jippii ensio
Major
66
Rep
1,441
Posts

Drives: 335i
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: On the road

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TGNY 335 View Post
If you're replacing it to actually utilize an upgraded sensors range. Then get the 4bar
But people having the upgraded 3.5bar sensor are actually utilizing the upgrading sensor's range as well. I'd go with the 3.5bar sensor.
Appreciate 0
      03-08-2016, 07:15 AM   #21
Fast35i
Private First Class
United_States
13
Rep
168
Posts

Drives: 2016 f82 M4 , 2011 335is cou
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Bowie

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Indo Rider
This guy tunes people's cars for money?
Lol he does
Appreciate 0
      03-08-2016, 07:26 AM   #22
TGNY 335
Banned
195
Rep
372
Posts

Drives: 2007 335xi 6MT
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: US

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jippii ensio View Post
But people having the upgraded 3.5bar sensor are actually utilizing the upgrading sensor's range as well. I'd go with the 3.5bar sensor.
4bar is less money for more range with a negligible difference in resolution between the two upgraded sensors
Appreciate 0
Closed Thread

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:27 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST