home
Technical Sections Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust / Bolt-ons / Tuning

06-20-2021, 04:35 PM   #1
Der_Wolf
Lieutenant
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2021 G82 Comp

Sequential mode instructions for an idiot?

Alrighty boys, I have a rather embarrassing question to ask. I don't really know much about manual transmissions, and as a result, I don't ever put my car into sequential mode.

Now that my break-in service is done, I want to drive the car in high rpm ranges for more joy. I typically just put everything in D3/sport+ and have fun that way, but I am ready to become an adult and learn the ins and outs of sequential. I can already hear the 6MT guys ready to beat my ass after reading "ins and outs of sequential". Sorry.

Yesterday, I accidently had my car in S3 instead of D3, and at one point my car starting jerking really hard (this must be what it feels like to own a Sybian). I quickly realized wtf was happening and hit the upshift paddle twice quickly to make sure my engine didn't explode and then put the car back into D3. Do you think I caused any damage? I do not want to damage or wreck anything. I am asking for any videos/reading materials you guys may have so I can properly enjoy this car in a safe manner.

My mom told me I wasn't allowed any more Tostino's pizza rolls until I let my balls drop and learn how to drive the car in sequential like Michael Schumacher. In fact, when she had friends over last night and I came upstairs from the basement to get more mountain dew, she told her friend that I was an exchange student she was looking after . This is unacceptable, and something must be done. Thank you for holding my hand and making my mommy proud.

///M
Appreciate 1
      06-20-2021, 04:56 PM   #2
TrentMeister
Colonel
Rep
Drives: g82 comp

I feel like ///AVM would do a very nice job of explaining this in good detail.
Appreciate 2
Der_Wolf888.00
///AVM2529.50
      06-20-2021, 07:00 PM   #3
///AVM
Banned
United_States
Rep
Drives: G80 M3C

Quote: