E90Post

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > JB4.....One step closer to autotuning

01-25-2011, 04:06 PM   #1
rmdvrs
Second Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: 2008 335i coupe

JB4.....One step closer to autotuning

First I want to start out by saying that this is a review of the JB4 and in no way has any reference or comparison to any other tune. So if you are a fanboy of any other tune keep your opinions to yourself. I'm not trying to compare tuners against each other or start a tuner war.

That being said I have been running the JB4 for about 4-5 months now and this latest update is definitely worth a review. Not that the previous firmware versions weren't good. I have used every version of the JB since the JB3 first came out so I definitely know how it has come along. The JB3 was great but the JB4 is really turning out to be something excellent.

The biggest difference between the JB3 and the JB4 (other than the CAN integration and steering wheel controls) wasn't the power it made because the JB3 made as much. It's the consistency. The JB4 does all the great things that the JB3 does except it does it consistently regardless of outside variables. That is until I uploaded the latest firmware.

When Terry sent me the firmware I was hoping autotuning was ready. While the latest firmware isn't a full or final autotuning version, it does autotune a few variables. I will admit that I was a little disappointed because I was looking forward to the autotuning to be active but all that went away the second I drove the car.